Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Summer Learning

There has been some learning going on around here lately. Mom taught me the word, “Roll over.” It’s something like, “Down.” But more squiggly and flippy and thumpy and spinny. At first, Mom grabbed as many of my little legs as she could and twisted them like spaghetti till she got me upside down. Then I learned to tuck my back legs under and make myself turn to stone, so she couldn’t roll me. tucked under Eventually, she learned to show me a treat which made me melt into submission. That is called Learning. Plus Bribery. Mom said, “Whatever works.” and “By the time you learn this, you’ll be too fat to do it.” and “I need a break.” Then she made a s’more and didn’t share it with me. smore Mom will be learning around here, too. She joined Summer School! badge She’ll be studying online with two amazing teachers, a talented group of guest teachers, and a Facebook group filled with classmates. In Summer School, she’ll think up new characters. Then, she’ll grab their little legs and twist them like spaghetti till they squiggle, flip, thump, and spin. squiggle Then she’ll make a story about them. The bribery won’t work, so she’ll have to read a lot of posts, talk to herself, pay attention to her teachers, and be inspired. After that, she’ll probably make a s’more and not share it with me.

Seriously??!

Seriously??!

Comments on: "Summer Learning" (69)

  1. I love seeing videos of our blogging pals. You’re very clever Cupcake. X

  2. Wow Cupcake! Impressive…..good job Mom!

  3. Oh Cupcake..our stupid computer is playing up with videos..i must sin tist and bend it and get this video sorted,.it will not take bribes either! so happy mum is going to have fun learning with Summer School…we will be back to watch when the computer is trained!! we will bring treats ok 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. Computers can be trouble sometimes. Maybe give it a spankin’ or some bacon. Both of those sound the same to me.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Oh Cupcake it is off to the puter doctor..beyond our scope of understanding now! sheesh..i won’t waste good bacon on it hahaaha 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xxx

  4. Cupcake that’s the neatest little roll over I EVER EVER saw! Good girl! I do hope you got a big fat treat (like maybe a s’more??) after that. I think you’re ever so smart. Mom now wants a s’more or two and I hope she never tries to make me roll over!

    Hugs and kisses, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. I am neat when I roll over. Except for the little pile of my furs that are left behind on the floor…. It shows how hard I have worked.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. fredrieka said:

    I just learned to shake hands, it is fun to get treats

    • Good job, F. Soon it’ll be – Shake hands. Sit up. Beg. Sit down. Roll. Dance. Find it. Bring it. Fetch it. This learning stuff never ends.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • fredrieka said:

        got all of it. Including when momwithoutpaws gives me a treat in a plastic bowl she asks me to hand it to her I do it. I do not dance that is next. oh I know leave it I had to learn that before I was registered.

  6. Bravo! Cupcake! maybe every new character who fits in her story could be a bribery for your mom?

  7. You roll over very neatly, Cupcake! It’s something I’m not very good at and I’m only encouraged to do it outdoors. They say something about my legs being dangerous and not looking where I’m going!

    • Ha! You have much more leg power than I do, C. If Mom tries to make me roll when I’m close to anything, I just turn to stone and refuse till she clears everything away.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. That video is very cool Cupcake.. such a good girl. I mean that is one smooth roll over! Too funny about your Mom needing a break from teaching you the roll over. Hope your Mom enjoys summer school!

  9. Cupcake, I don’t get to tell you very often how much I love, love, LOVE your posts! If I could get my cat, Tommy, to roll over I bet we both could make a bunch of money but all he does is lie around and push me out of my recliner so he can claim the warm spot…;~)

    Great post!

    Take care,

    Donna

    P.S. I’m taking the same summer school class as your Mom…

    • Ha! Tommy has the right idea, D. The warm spot is the best spot! I hope you and Mom have fun at Summer School. Don’t let anybody beat her up and steal her lunch money.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Frankie and Ernie said:

    You did a GRRRRREAT Roll Over, Cupcake.

  11. You rolled with grace! Must have been a good bribe. Eko usually looks like a beached whale and lands like a clap of thunder, so we may have to show him this video and work on his form.

  12. Clever trick Cupcake,and even more so for scoring extra treats,xx Speedy

  13. Your sitting up and begging like that and she won’t share?!?! For shame! I wouldn’t let her have any of my cookies if I were you. All’s fair…
    But still – good luck to mom with her new adventure. ❤️

  14. Sometimes it pays to be guinea-pigs, C, as whee rarely can be bothered to learn!
    The Pigs xx

  15. Wow, Cupcake! I’m so impressed with your “Roll over.” Even with healthy doses of bribery, that’s one that I simply refuse to do. Maybe if my mommy’s voice was as sweet as your mom’s voice I’d consider it . . . maybe. 😉

    • Thanks, Miss HL. Mom talks sweet to me because if she doesn’t, I get scared and switch my ears back and try to hide. It’s more of the bribery, I think…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Aren’t you a brilliant girl cupcake! Good luck to Mom too!

  17. Cupcake, here is a lesson you can teach your mom…it goes along the lines of “sharing is caring”. Please tell your mom that we hope she enjoys summer school and learns lots.
    Wally & Sammy

  18. That’s fantastic Cupcake. One word of advice. This is something that I do repeatedly with my mom so you can’t tell her okay. We know that us anipals catch on the first time. The deal is to act like you don’t. That way you get more treats to help you ‘catch on’. That’s our secret okay. What mom? Okay I’ll try that trick again – winks. XOXO – Bacon

    • Yes, B. You know it! That’s pretty much why Mom has been teaching me to roll over for 4 years. I have 4 years worth of treats in my belly. And she’s STILL working on fetching. 4 years and counting!

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Cupcake, that roll was super impressive! I don’t know how you learned so well. And hey, why don’t we get any s’mores?! Summer School sounds like a lot of fun.

  20. You are so clever Cupcake!

  21. YAY! For you Cupcake!!!! You are my hero!

    Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  22. Awwww, Cupcake, if you saw me swim, I think you would feel the same admiration as I do when watching your roll-over – I learned it just 3 years ago! It’s not a playful puppy-roll, it’s a mature, refined, deliberate, serious adult-roll!

  23. Good luck on the s’more, C! 🙂

  24. Not sharing S’mores is just plain rude. Our BAD Mommy went gave Lady O’Meara hotdogs, she never gives US hotdogs.

  25. Cupcake you are so giving 🙂

  26. WHAT!!! seriously? you did not get any of that pawsome s’mores???

  27. Cupcake we love your picture on the header. You’re life-sized, that it looks like you’re in the room with us now…makes petting you even easier 😀 You’re such a talent…that was a purrfect summer roll and the best sit up I’ve ever seen. To bad you didn’t get any piece of s’mores for that nor your irresistible face…but there’s always tomorrow 😉 Good luck at Summer school for your mom, hope there’s a learning-how-to-share-class included 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Sunday 🙂

    • Thanks, Little B. You’re the first to mention my header. It’s new. I also hope Mom learns to share. She always worries about me getting fat. Why doesn’t she worry about HERSELF getting fat!?

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Awwww Cupcake! You are just the most adorable and cutest ever! Please tell mom I absolutely LOVE the photo of you on the top of the page. It’s stunning! As for the video, I just wanted to grab you and hug and kiss you. Well done on rolling over. Let’s not tell mom that you’ve known how to do that forever. You just didn’t want her to know that. Did you? It’s more fun to get treats that way. 😆

    Now that wasn’t nice of mom, was it? It’s okay. You can come and visit me and I will share my s’more with you. If that’s okay with mom. I promise I won’t give you too much. 😀

    Sounds like mom is going to have lots of fun in her ‘summer school’. I wish her all of the best. She is such a great writer and it’s always fun to visit her blog and read all the stories. 😀

    You take care, have fun and lots of hugs to you and mom. ♥

    • Thanks, S. And you’re RIGHT! Mom tried to roll me for 4 years, but I didn’t let it happen till she busted out the treats. I’m no dope! Mom is having lots of fun at Summer School. I am waiting for her to learn about sharing. So far, all she shares are crumbs. CRUMBS! I bet at your house, I’d get my own marshmallow…. #dreamcometrue

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

      • hahahahah! Good for you Cupcake. Yes, you doggie kids are so clever and know just how to train us humans. LOL!

        I am sure she and yes, I noticed the ‘crumb sharing’ but it’s okay. We’ll be patient and see what happens next.

        No crumbs here for sure Cupcake. You can have your own marshmallow for sure! 😆

        ♥ Lots of Hugs and Love ♥

  29. I just love that top pic of you cupcake! ❤

  30. It is all about the treats Cupcake. Everything in life is about the treats. And if you make it seem really hard they pull out the really good treats. I hope your Mom gets some good treats at summer school.

  31. […] still learning to be well-behaved – with continuous effort. Mom says I am not as “responsive” in […]

  32. […] Mom brought me to PetSmart, last week, I turned to stone from fear in the parking lot. She was SO committed to getting me inside, that even when the traffic […]

  33. […] still help Mom type, but instead of making my usual story of QQQQQQQ with my ear, I type DDDDDDFFFFFCCCCCVVVVV […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.