Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Commitment means staying loyal to what you said you were going to do,

long after the mood you said it in has left you.

~Orebela Gbenga~

Mom ambitiously told herself that she would submit 10 stories this month.

10

That seemed like a good idea at the time. She revised and listed and revised and researched and revised and submitted and revised and revised. There are 6 days left in the month, and Mom still has three of her selected stories hiding in her computer. She’s getting tuckered out, but we’re hoping her commitment will take her to the finish line.

finish ahead

I’ve been tuckered out on occasion…

bed blob

Indoors…

tired inside

Outdoors…

street nap 92

 

In the car

tired car dog

When I work…

wheel chair paws up

Even early in the morning…

sleepy

When you start getting worn down, you must dig deep, keep your eye on the prize, and follow through.

VA thinker

When Mom brought me to PetSmart, last week, I turned to stone from fear in the parking lot. She was SO committed to getting me inside, that even when the traffic started backing up waiting for me to move, and people started calling out of their car windows, she got me inside.

cars

Of course, she had to pick me up and carry me, but desperate times call for desperate measures. She said the word, “Embarrassing” which means she was happy to help. And the word, “Screwball” which means I was very brave. And the word, “Why do I take you anywhere” which she says every single day.

petsmart bone aisle

Even when I wear my new PetSmart dress, I get tuckered out.

gingham nap

…probably from playing with my new PetSmart toy.

Secret Life of Pets

Mom promised to take me back to PetSmart when hell freezes over. Yay! Wait. What??

cars2

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (77)

  1. Cupcake I hope you haven’t to wait too long for that special hell-freezing day LOL I wait for that day too, then we will go back to the ice cafe :o)

    • I hope that, too, E. I can’t wait till hell freezes. It feels really hot today, so maybe tomorrow….

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Zooperson said:

    Oh, Cupcake ,you are a riot. Thanks for telling us what “embarrassed” means cuz I’ve heard it directed at me on more than one occasion, and I totally misunderstood what it meant. Now I know and feel so much better. Cool toy. Lady Caroline

    • I bet you thought embarrassing was bad, LC. But it turns out it’s really OK. Moms like it when we’re embarrassing.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Zooperson said:

    Cupcake, you are a riot! Thanks for explaining what embarrassed means cuz I have had that word directed at me on more than one occasion, and I totally misunderstood what it meant. I feel so much better now. Cool toy. Lady Caroline

  4. When is this hell freezing over day, because that is when I go back to the seaside ???
    PS your new Petsmart toy looks very surprised at having it’s photo taken LOL

    • Don’t worry. That guy will get used to it. Mom takes LOTS of pictures around here. Maybe hell will freeze over tomorrow…. Paws crossed.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. hannahandlucy said:

    Your new Petsmart toy looks very much like you Cupcake.

  6. Cupcake just give your Mom a push on those three trapped stories in her computer and I bet she shoots them out ASAP to meet her deadline! As for your new toy – looks like you are besties already……..and you know, when we have our humans wrapped around our paws like WE do (yes WE), hell freezes over all the time – – – we get taken places and have fun and stop traffic and given treats even though hell has frozen! So don’t worry about it…… 🙂

    Love, Sammy

    • Great advice, S. I will stare at Mom extra hard when she’s working. Staring is my best way to help her. I hope she doesn’t call me a weirdo, like she usually does when I’m “helping.”

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. fredrieka said:

    PetSmart is so big and you are so small. Cupcake I understand your fear. I wish I would have been there to give you backup

    • I wish you were there, too, F. There were lots of strange smells coming out of that place. Plus I heard BIRDS! And I saw a picture of an alligator! *gulp*

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Love the quote! 🙂

  9. LOL, Mom is so funny. There’s going to be a lot of activity going on “when he freezes over”. I’m pretty certain my ‘to do’ list has a few things scheduled on that day too 😀 xo B

    • Ha! You’re waiting for hell to freeze over right along with the rest of us, Boomdee. It feels too hot for anything to freeze today, so maybe tomorrow….

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. I think that darn PetSmart toy is an absolute RIOT! I love that thing! And you too.
    Mom should maybe make a little change in her writing rules. She could possibly, for these next few days, do a morning hour and an afternoon hour. Then it’s like having 12 days. Wait. What? Math?
    Go for it, mom. (Love you too)❤️

    • Thanks, G. That guy is Max from Secret Life of Pets. Mom thinks he looks a little like me. 2? 6? 12? Gah! Mom started off the week not even having time to do one hour today. She’s hoping to catch up tomorrow. Thanks for sending love for us and my toy. We are sending it right back at ya! xoxo

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Your dress and toy are darling! Mama calls our PetSmart PetStoopid because she finds it to be smelly and dark, and they sell animals. We shop at a locally owned pet supply store. Maybe your Mom can find a better store to take you shopping, where people won’t be so rude. Xxxxx Skyler

    • Thanks, S. Sometimes Mom brings me to the neighborhood pet supply store, when we can get a close parking spot. If we park down the block, then we have to pass a gas station and I’m not mentioning any names, but one of us has to be carried because of being afraid of a pile of tires.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. You and the PetSmart toy are too cute! Hell has at least cooled down in MissouREE… good thing, it was giving me a big cranky. Enough with the heat! Your new dress is perfect for summer!

    • Thanks, Pix. So far, cooling down is not in the cards around here. I hope I get to wear my summer dress soon…

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Oh, Cupcake, your mom’s brainbox seems to be a little bit tuckered out due to the heroic efforts to satisfy her ambitions with the 10 stories. I’m sure that she meant with that hell-melting saying that “As far as I have found the three stories in my ‘puter, we will visit PetSmart again.” Or even earlier. You might sniff out a SmartScrewdriver with the help of which she could find the hiding stories quicker in that diabolic device.

    • Thanks, K. Mom will dive into that computer and get those stories moving. Nothing will ever get published sitting on the dining room table. That’s for sure. In her “brainbox,” Mom knows that. Now she just has to get things going.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. You are a pawsome master of Doglish, Cupcake. Way to go! Paws crossed that your mom completes her 10 stories. We are woofing for her to successfully cross the finish line. 🙂

    • Thanks M and S. My paws are crossed too. If Mom gets everything done in time, I will be happy. We will be back on the road again having fun adventures.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Oh dear Cupcake – I wish u lived closer 2 me cuz I love goin’2 Petsmart. I don’t git out much so when I due git 2 go anywhere then I love it. An’b-sidez, with Petsmart, all I gotta due iz r’member what iz in that store an’mom hazta slow me down gittin’in there – all that yummy stuffz an’the toyz like that cutie one u gotz an’the purty dressez like the one u gotz. I know mom wantz 2 git me a purty dress (butt now it iz 2 hot here 2 due much of anything butt nap an’stay home).

    My mom shood put that quote on MY blog – she’z alwayz promisin’2 help me git around more so I can vizit my furrendz more an’leeve ccmmentz so they know I wuz there. May-b me an’u cood sumhow git both of our mom’z 2 werk on stayin’true 2 their commitment.
    Anywho – c u around…..
    Lady Shasta of Beaglebratz Manor

    • OMGoodness, Lady S. You need to start getting out for some adventures. Both our moms need to step up their game. They are a couple of slackers. Mom says it can’t stay hot forever, so soon I will wear my new dress. Maybe by then you’ll have one, too! Also, maybe, hell will freeze over soon…

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. You deserve to be lazy with the heat, Cupcake. Your mom will finish her 10 — if we all support her she can’t fail! By the way, you are all decked out in matching outfits, but your mom told me she wears mismatched socks. Umh!

    • Ha! Thanks, P. Mom definitely matches me up better than she matches herself. She’s the only human I know who dresses randomly on purpose.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Very cute post!
    Linda

    You look good in a dress, Cupcake! Boomer

    • Thanks, L and B. Sometimes my dresses make me look like a sausage. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I love sausage. This one doesn’t. Whew!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. I hope she makes her deadline! And I love your dress. I just tried on the human equivalent.

  19. MOL… I thought there was a congestion because of your famous entrance, Cupcake, but then we saw the heat moment…MOL… You better stay cool, my furriend, this weather is to hot for our… image 😀 Cool Pawkisses for a not-so-hot Day 🙂 ❤
    Btw I think all dresses suit you much 😉

    • Ha! Thank you, Little B. I do try to keep cool. I don’t quite have multiple naps down like you do, but I’m not a kitty after all….

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Cupcake, I bet you will used to going to Pet Smart and might even get to like it a little bit. It is kind of scary at first. We love your new toy. Looks like a great toy and a friend. We just hope it cools off everywhere and soon.

    • As soon as hell freezes over, I plan to start getting used to PetSmart, M. I will go back and look at the bones and pig ears again, soon. Maybe this time I will be able to walk in with no “help.”

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Katie Isabella said:

    OH Cupcake…yer killin’ us here! Of course YOU are just repeating what your mom said but still, your mom nailed it. Just nailed it. MY mom, go figure why, is laughing pretty loud here at your “report” of your outing just moments after she got up. That happens a lot when we come over here to your place and she reads me your bloggie. (We both love it here).

    You look like a whole gag o’ treats in that gorgeous new dress. I think that should be the one you reach for most often. I believe it’s a favorite of mine already. *I* would look cute in a dress probably, but mom is afraid of the spaghetti I would make of her arms and hands of she tried to dress me. 💗

    • OMG, KI. I cannot believe you would make spaghetti out of your mom’s arms. YOU?? Never! Maybe she could give you some nip to chill you down before she tries to dress you… When I was first adopted, I used to eat my clothes. I was adopted in the dead of a COLD winter, but I ate 2 or 3 coats before I understood that I wasn’t in balmy Georgia anymore.

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. I do love inspirational quotes, so simple but true. They do embarrass me since I have a hard trying to follow them sometimes.

  23. Hi Cupcake, please tell your mom how much I appreciated the quote. Keep being committed to sharing her work.
    Hugs, from Indy, Tracy’s fur baby. ❤

    • Thanks T and I. So happy the quote resonated. Sometimes the best intentions lose their urgency…. That happens around here a lot!

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Tell Mom good luck on getting her work done!

    As for the new dress, looking good. But that’s pretty much a constant, right? You’re always looking good!

  25. Oh you two!! I laughed out loud!! Charley is the opposite at Pet Smart, she will run to the door, followed by me tripping and cursing …and once inside, she is the sweetest, politest, cutest dog you can imagine because she knows….she will get the treats for it from the mesmerized shop girls. Who said that dogs cannot fool anyone..scientists eat your heart out! Cupcake, excellent dress again!!! Xoxoxo Johanna

    • I think tripping and cursing is a rule at PetSmart. Mom did it, too! Charley is as smart as she looks, and clearly knows how to work the room – even when the room is HUGE!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  26. We love your posts Cupcake because you and your mom always seem to have a very important message tucked into the posts. Thanks we like these messages and we love you in your dress. MOL

    Shoko and Kali

    • Thanks, K and S. Good detective work. Secret, important messages are always somewhere to be found. Once you find them, following them gets easier.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Oh Cupcake! It must have been quite a journey. So glad that Mom was there to carry you & that you’ll be back at PetSmart as soon as hell freezes over. Hope she bought enough treats & toys to tide you over till then!

    • Well, P, Mom did buy a bag of kibbles, but I didn’t see any treats! OMG. I hope hell can hurry up and freeze over before the 8,000 bags and boxes of treats we already have run out! Thanks for the reminder/warning.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Your new dress is lovely and we also have that toy. It is Pierre’s new favorite! I’m sure that your mom had a great time taking you to the store. ☺

    • Thanks, M. I think Mom had a great time too. That’s why she’s dying to go back as soon as hell freezes over!

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. Great quote and post, C! Good luck with everything you set out to do! 🙂

  30. Sometimes when we’re stuck on something, putting it down and doing something different will help. That might not help mom with only a few days left in the month, but I can tell when I’ve been working hard on something that I can’t always see what needs to be done to get out of that rut.

    Either way, I think mom still did a great job this month.

    • That’s exactly what she did, J. She read picture books from the library during her writing time, and took me for a few walks and then went crazy and got everything done that she wanted to do – and MORE!

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. This is your elected Purrime Ministerettes. Hell no ain’t gonna freeze over, ever. So whenever those hoomans makes you empty promises, you tells them this against PM law. Non-PM-law-abiding citizens shall be subject to cruel and unusual punishment such as doodies next to bed 3AM. Or you just hides them mobile phone. We think that even worse.

    • Great suggestions, S and J. I’m not sure how to get a hold of Mom’s cell phone. It’s never out of her hand!

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay yoo no wot they say wen yoo gotta sleep yoo gotta sleep!!! or sumthing like that!!! ha ha ok bye

  33. I love your new toy…I think it looks a little like you (except you’re much more beautiful). We had a giggle at seeing you lying out in the parking lot! 🙂

  34. Hello Cupcake. It’s very nice to meet you. Thank you for your kind words on our doggie blog last Saturday during our time of loss.

    But you look like a fun doggie! We enjoyed your post and will come visit again soon. Please feel free to visit us too during some happier times to come. Chester, ghostwriter, Dad, and Angel Joey

    • Thanks, C. I am happy you think I am fun. Fun is good. I will definitely visit you again. Happy times are my favorite kind of times.

      Love and licks,
      C

  35. Hello Cupcake! I hope your mum got all her work done and met her deadline. I’m glad to hear that you were helping by staring at her. They love it when we help with things. I also like your policy of laying down in the street and then being carried. I’m going to ask to be carried from now on. I’m 36kg but I can’t see that being a problem.
    Monty 🐾

    • Great plan, M. Mom googled 36kg. It’s a LOT heavier than me. It’s like FOUR of me! I hope your mom is pretty strong.

      Love and licks,
      C

  36. Schöner Eintrag. Freundliche Grüße, Wolfgang

  37. Oh Cupcake you make us laugh 🙂 Hope your Mom got her stories submitted!

  38. Cupcake, our little Brownie would never want to go into any store! She never really has. We live too far from town to take her anywhere except the vet. Although through the years she has gone with us to nice places that allow dogs, like parks, etc. But she hates being on a leash. She is 14 now and sleeps almost all the time. 🙂

  39. […] finished her most recent story. She wrote it and wrote it, revised it like crazy, sent it to her critique group, and then revised it like crazy all over again. Now it’s finished. I’m pretty sure it’s […]

  40. […] Keep off the bed after it’s […]

Leave a Reply

