Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Characters

Mom writes about characters – human, animal, bug, and imaginary characters. Usually they’re silly or funny or goofy. Sometimes, she tells me that I’m a character. That’s a good thing, right…? Everything Mom’s characters do and say helps us get to know them. We also learn about characters by their body language, gestures, speech patterns, and how they look.

How I look helps people learn about me, too. My face speaks volumes. There’s my happy face,

tulips

my other happy face,

park bench

and my face at the vet waiting for my rabies shot. Go figure…

vet

My favorite way of showing my personality is by the things I wear. People ask how I feel about dressing up. Whenever Mom dresses me, I get very excited because I know that something fun is going to happen. Sometimes, we’re going to work at the VA

usa

or the library.

books and chair

Sometimes, we’re getting company. And sometimes, she’s just going to take pictures of me and give me lots of treats.

crown

This week, I was featured on a blog called Dear Bliary. If you visit there, you will see a lot of my best looks, and also a couple of looks from Mom’s old dog named Smoki (who lives inside me). You can get to know more about both of us in just one click!

Bliary

Comments on: "Characters" (56)

  1. Oh you look great under the crown!! great photos cupcake!

  2. Mom says it’s our ears that tell her how we are doing. If we lie them flat (which she calls “donkey ears”) then she knows we are not happy.

    We just love your crown Miss Cupcake – go big or go home is what we say *BOL*

    Wally & Sammy

  3. Cupcake, your expression is remarkable, you are really a princess and Smoki was a lovely dog too. Pawkiss, Little Binky 🙂

  4. Great to see all the costumes together but I loved your comment, thinking you’d best get a job 😀

  5. Oh what lovely outfits you have Cupcake….do you have your very own closet or fashion armoire where everything hangs up nice on hangars or maybe a “costume trunk” ?? Mom and I think you are the purrrrrfect fashionista!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  6. You are a TRUE character, Cupcake – of the best kind!

  7. Wow, Smoki looks like a member of our pack! There’s a definite resemblance to our Bella in there. Speaking of characters. I live in a house full of them. xox

    • Thanks, BR2B. Before I was rescued, I had 3 puppies that looked EXACTLY like Smoki. When Mom saw them in my ID photo, she thought it was a sign. Maybe it was….

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. I don’t like being dressed up but it is great that you do!

    • There are lots of dogs that don’t like dressing up, D. When I was little, I used to eat my clothes. That was before I knew what they meant.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. .hmmm …. normally I don’t like the dress-up thingy – even a bandana is too much… but for treats or a funny event – I should try it :o) I like your other happy face :o) …now I will visit the blog with your best books…

  10. You have better style than I do!

  11. I think that being a character is a good thing, Cupcake!
    I’ve just been to look at your photos on Dear Bliary – you have some great outfits!

  12. I love visiting you Cupcake. I never know what to expect –you really are quite a character. Has Mom written about you? After all she did call you a character.

    • Yes, Pat! Mom has written a couple of books about me. So far – nothing. She still works on them and submits them, though, so I’m hopeful….

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Oh, Cupcake, you are such a sweet, happy pup! Even when you’re waiting for those pokey, prickly shots! And that it so cool that you got your very on feature on Dear Bliary; I am going to check it out now 🙂

    • Thanks, R. The vet also poked and prodded other unmentionable parts of me, but I stood like a stone statue and waited for it to be over. Then there were kisses all around!

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. You look like a character to me! It’s funny, Elka doesn’t mind shots at the vet either.

  15. I wrote a comment yesterday and I think I forgot to hit the ‘post’ button. Duh and Ugh! Thanks for the pingback, Cupcake. You were viewed a bunch of times and loved by all surprise! No wonder your name is Cupcake. So so sweeeeeeet!

  16. Oh, Cupcake, I think you are a whole dramatis personae in one little body. I love all of your faces!

  17. Any way you look at it, your face is adorable, Cupcake!

  18. You are a character Cupcake – a very lovely character! 🙂

  19. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake,

    You look like a princess with your Tiara on! I like to portray my character with my bows, the often have flames on them or the word rebel, cos I think it’s funny! Only problem is most people don’t notice and instead they think I’m a girl cos I’m wearing a bow! Doh!

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Thanks, S. Making a statement with your bow is a fun idea! I thought they were just to keep your furs in order. I’ll take a closer look from now on!

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. You should do a weekly feature on a character of one of us furball bloggers 🙂

  21. You know what I see Cupcake? I see one happy dog…All your looks show me you’re a dog that loves life and that’s beautiful

  22. You looked so cute in all those outfits Cupcake, congratulations on being featured on another blog!! I sometimes wish Delilah liked to get dressed up. 🙂

  23. We think you are so cute and beautiful! Dad says he should recruit Ginger to help dognap you for a day….. we would have lots of fun! 🙂 But, he knows your mom would be sad so he wont… but he says if he ever meets you you are going to get lots of loving! 🙂

  24. you look so regal in that crown Cuppycake!

  25. Your St. Patricks day picture is breath taking!!!!!

  26. […] Every single day, when she started working on it, she gave it a new title, made a list of new characters, decided on a new theme, and gave them new goals to accomplish, new problems to solve, and […]

  27. […] teachers, and a Facebook group filled with classmates. In Summer School, she’ll think up new characters. Then, she’ll grab their little legs and twist them like spaghetti till they squiggle, flip, […]

  28. […] is an issue in some of Mom’s stories, too. Her characters are sometimes called “slight” because they aren’t doing enough. Things are […]

  29. […] and gets them to do a little work while they’re reading. They will also feel closer to the characters in the story and more invested in the plot. Sometimes I need to SHOW Mom that she has put my food […]

Leave a Reply

