Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Continuous effort – not strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential.

Winston Churchill

Mom shows continuous effort in her writing. I guess writing for a little while each day is continuous effort…

writing2

Just when she thinks she’s getting better, somebody tells her the word, “Too easy.” and “Not enough conflict.” and “Theย solution came too fast.” She’s using her continuous effort to listen and change the way her stories end. And to unlock her potential. Life needs to be tougher for Mom’s characters.

Not so with me. Life is tough enough for this doggie! Exhibit A – My PupJoy subscription box came the other day.ย Right on my birthday!

birthday box

It was filled with toys, treats, and surprises. I looked closely…

joybox2

and I sniffed and sniffed,

joybox

but the box remained closed up tight.

joybox3

When Mom saw my helpless-hopeless-hapless-face, she got the box open and gave me the goodies. That guy, Winston has the right idea. I didn’t need any strength or intelligence at all to get that done.

martian

Martian toy!

I’m still learning to be well-behaved – with continuous effort. Momย says I am not as “responsive” in my new harness as I am with my Martingale collar.

harness

I think responsive is overrated. Look how cute I look!

Adorable? Yup.

Adorable? Yup.

No strength or intelligence needed here.

Watch me walk nicely, like a good girl, right next to Mom. Continuous effort…. Potential unlocked!

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (61)

  1. Totally adorable … and I’d never noticed the cute patch on top of your right ear either. Makes you even cuter! I love Winston. He said some of my favourite things. I’d have liked to have dinner with him. x

  2. Sonel's World said:

    Absolutely and totally adorable Cupcake! Happy belated Birthday to you as well! It was so sweet of Mum to help you out with the package. What a lucky girl you are! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I think responsive is overrated as well. You are looking soooo good and Mum took the most beautiful shots of you as well. I loved the video. Tell Mum she can be glad she is not walking with Russell. He sure can learn a lot from you. ๐Ÿ˜†

    • Thanks, S! I learned about walking at obedience school. Before that, Mom was convinced I was trying to kill her with all my zigging and zagging. I wish Russell could walk with us for practice.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Sonel's World said:

        Ha! Russell would definitely teach them about obedience. They will obey him and not the other way around. ๐Ÿ˜†

        I wish so too. I think the 2 of you would have lots of fun and Mum and I would just laugh and laugh. ๐Ÿ˜†

  3. We have an entire list of things that are overrated! Spa days…TOTALLY overrated! Diets…OVERRATED! We could go on forever.
    We hope you had a pawsome Birthday!
    BIG licks,
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W and S. I SOOOO agree about diets. Around here, treat restriction – my worst nightmare – happens every time I gain a pound. Ugh.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Happy birthday, Cupcake. We think spa days are really overrated. Lady Caroline

  5. Oh Cupcake I hope you have a SUPER FABULOUS birthday!!!! That Pupbox alien toy is fun – I hope he doesn’t try to take you back to his planet because WE WANT YOU HERE! I thought your video walking just proves that you are an excellent walking partner – right close to Mom and not trying to sneak in a street nap along the way! GOOD GIRL……

    Love, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. I must admit there are times when I walk nicely for a while, stop short, fall on the ground like I was shot, and try to get in a street nap before Mom gets impatient waiting for me or worried that I’m burning myself on the hot ground. Sometimes she bribes me with doggie ice cream. My kind of bribe.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. I agree with Mr. Winston, only with continuous effort we will get our star on that walk of fame…no matter if we are smart or strong or big or small… it is THE key :o)… btw: is that the alien what came with the ufo to my back yard last night?

  7. sometimes you have to speak up to get what you want, or give the right look on your face like I do when I brood over something.. Happy Birthday cupcake, are you getting a pupcake?

    • Thanks, F. I didn’t get a pupcake, but Mom put a slice of ham on my dog food and gave me some watermelon for lunch and a doggie ice cream after dinner.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Oh Cupcake, you really are so darn cute. And you are really good at walking along with the Mom. We love your harness and those look like cute toys.

  9. You are the good eat girl ever. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿถ
    Mom is a hard worker. Her continuous efforts are always paying off. Hugs to you both.

  10. Better to look good than be well behaved! Wait…no, forget that. I like the nice walking much better. Penny and I could learn a thing or two.

  11. She is totally adorable and just the smartest little girl!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  12. Reblogged this on Meghan aka FireBonnet Lite and commented:
    Cupcake exhibits continuous effort in such a charming way!

  13. I was a little worried there at the beginning Cupcake when I saw that big hat you had to wear, but you succeeded!!!! Happy birthday pretty girl. And yes you look VERY pretty in pink. xoxoxo Meghan

    • Thanks, M. Pink is my favorite color. Even with my tiny head, I think I pulled it off wearing that giant party hat. I am a party animal!

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. Cupcake, you are beyond adorable! Continuous effort is a day to day ebb and flow process. Keep eating that elephant one story at a time! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Cupcake, keep encouraging your mum to keep at it…writing that is. I already can see she encourages you with new treats and a new lease. You were very well behaved on your video. And again, I hope you had a terrific birthday. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, T. Mom works hard to keep me in line. When people say I’m a good girl, Mom says the word, “She has her moments.” I think that’s a good thing… Right…?

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. We hope you had a terrific birthday, Cupcake. That box of treats helped, we bet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Wow, a Pupjoy box and arriving on your birthday. What luck and a big fat Happy irthday my friend.

    Hugs,

    Shoko

  18. I enjoyed your videohhh Cupcake! Loved seeing you walk. I am pretty sure I heard your tiny toenails hitting the pavement…. maybe it was the jingle of your leash. I always think it is fun to see the videohhh of people and Cupcakes I know on the blogs!

    • Thanks, Pix! That probably was the sound of my toenails, but don’t tell Mom. She’ll take me to Petco for a trim! Gah! We also love seeing videos of our cyberfriends!

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Yay! Pupjoy! ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. You were walking beautifully, Cupcake!
    I hope you enjoyed your birthday and had fun with the contents of that box.

  21. You are adorable and very well behaved walking next to Mom. Keep up the good work!! And happy belated birthday!

    • Thanks, J. Mom says I have my moments. I’m not sure if she means good moments or bad moments. I think I have a little of both…

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. Congrats on your birthday, dear little girl and manymanymnay more!! Great quote too. xo Johanna

  23. You look super cute in your harness! It’s funny… I think my story characters tend to have too much tragedy!

    • Lucky you. Taking away some of the tragedy seems easier than trying to add in more. Mom is too easy on her characters… I wish some of you could rub off on her.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. You are so adorable! Hope you had a super happy birthday! ๐Ÿ˜€

  25. Happy Birthday, dear Cupcake. That must have been a big surprise on your birthday, having a visit from Mars. I have heard they only come to special doggies like you. Your video made us smile, you’re such a good girl. Extra Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    • Thanks, Little B. That Martian was a big surprise. I didn’t even know they only come to earth for special doggies! I guess I should be careful of biting his face off…. …to be polite.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Great quotation – and really, good behavior is overrated. Or so Choppy would have me believe…

  27. AHHHH, she is adorable!!

  28. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, those little feets moving along with the speed of light! Your mom isn;t that fast fr you but you are applying effort to keep up for certain. I got to thinking about editors and critiques. Too fast, to slow, to soon, all of that! How totally discouraging! Seriously.

  29. Look at those widdle legs just moving like the wind, GO Cupcake! LOL, that was the most fun. You are certainly a good walker. I’m also crushing on your ears! When they wiggle, I giggle xo B

  30. […] When I learn a new trick, I never get it right the first time. I start out clueless. […]

  31. […] pretend a lot. Mom deals with pretend characters every time she sits at the computer. Characters can be tough to pin down. Just when Mom thinks she knows them, they take off in directions she […]

Leave a Reply

