Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Breaking Rules

As a dog, I know without a doubt that rules are made to be broken.

table plants

I broke some rules last week, when Mom decided to take me out to breakfast. The restaurant allows dogs at the outdoor tables, and Mom has often seen dogs snoozing under chairs, snacking on table scraps, and generally chilling beside their family. She thought I’d be great at all of these skills. I wasn’t. There was something about the metal chairs scraping on the sidewalk, the window shoppers walking by minding their own business, the motorcycle zooming past, and the firetruck 2 blocks away that just set me on edge.

water bowl2

I twirled and twisted, shivered and struggled, pulled and panted, jerked and jumped,

jumping at raymond

and eventually sat down IN the water bowl that the waitress gave me.

water bowl

After Mom choked down part of her bagel and gulped down half of her coffee, we went back to the car. Mom said, “I think my shoulder is dislocated.” and “Why can’t you be normal?” and “You are never leaving the house again. Ever.”

sunny car

Since when is Mom such a rule follower? She breaks rules all the time in her writing. She loves using sentence parts instead of whole sentences, the picture book rule of three sometimes turns into the picture book rule of five, she calls herself a full-time writer, but she only writes for one hour a day, and once she even wrote a story BACKWARDS. Maybe I should ask why SHE can’t be normal??

upside down

Now it’s time for me to break some more rules. I want to thank the blog friends who have so graciously nominated me for awards. If you know anything about me, you know I love winning. I will break the rules of the awards by saying that if you’re reading this, I am nominating YOU to take and enjoy whatever award(s) you like. Post them and follow their rules, like a normal person (or pet). Or not. Normal is definitely overrated.

lawn chair

Thanks to my friends Wallace and Samuel for calling me family with the WordPress Family Award.

wordpress-family-award

Thanks to one of my favorite positive thinkers, Shaun for sending over the Shine On Award.

shineon

Thanks to the most mellow and most golden golden retriever, Miss Harper Lee for the Sunshine Award and the Super Sweet Blogging Award. See my answers here and here.

sunshine-blog-awardsuper-sweet-award1-1

Thanks to a newish friend Nikita (and Val) for a newish award called the Dragon’s Loyalty Award.

dragon loyalty award

Comments on: "Breaking Rules" (74)

  1. You are a bit like Zeus, Cupcake. A little too spooked by the world around you. Life experience will help you settle down. 🙂

  2. Well it’s OK Cupcake… maybe your mom can enjoy saving money by having breakfast at home with you! 😉

  3. Congrats on all of the awards Cupcake…and it’s ok…we aren’t “normal” either!
    Wally & Sammy

  4. Rules are overrated, Cupcake 🙂 Congrats on all your awards!

  5. Well done on your awards, and don’t worry about being normal – we love you just as you are!!

  6. Rules are definitely made to be broken. You deserve every award you get. You earned them. I have tons to say about awards – but I won’t. Suffice it to day that ‘thank you’ should be all that’s required when someone gives you a beautiful gift. That rule you didn’t break. Good dog! (Just not at the outdoor cafe.) 😉

  7. OMC are you not welcome anymore in the restaurant Cupcake? Maybe they’re not familiar with the broken rules thingies, or did they do something in your water?
    Congratulations on all your awards 🙂

    • Thanks, AW. I’m not banned from the restaurant or anything. They thought I was cute and had “a lot of energy”. Maybe Mom will change her mind about never letting me leave the house ever again.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. BOL, you ended up in your water bowl.. Too funny Cupcake and yes, rules are there to be broken 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  9. Hey Cupcake! Did your fanny need cooling off, is that why you sat in your water bowl? LOL I have heard that concrete can get quite warm! Are you allowed back to that restaurant, or is Mommy to embarrassed to dine there again? Congrats on all the neat awards too! You are very special to us! Normal is over-rated Cupcake, I have a nice doggie pad and I always sleep halfway on and halfway off the pad. Daddy & Mommy always laugh at me when I do this, which is ALL the time! HUGS from Nikita & Bella!

    • Ha! Thanks, N. Your sleeping pad is for comfort, so if you’re comfortable half off, then you’re doing it just right! You’re brilliant!

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. We are surprised at you Cupcake for not letting Mom enjoy her bagel. Our Mom knows that we would never behave in that situation, so she does not even try. Best to break rules at home where it is safe. Congrats on your awards and on catching up – DogDaz

  11. Oh how my Mom LOVED this post! Cupcake, you and I could be twins and so could my Mom and yours!
    Mom said I would have probably behaved the same way as you, you precious sweetheart! Mom always asks me “why can’t I be normal?” and I feel the same as you do! My Mom calls herself a “writer” too and I keep catching her playing computer games! Geeze!!!!!!
    Oh and congrats on your well deserved awards!!
    Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

    • Thanks, D. I think if we were normal, our moms would be bored. And if Mom really worked on writing all day, I’D be bored! We are all perfect, just the way we are.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Sitting in your water bowl was a fantastic idea!
    Rules are definitely made to be broken. 🙂

  13. Oh Cupcake I would have been a bit nervous about all that noise myself – I think you were being quite normal (and adorable) other than perhaps sitting IN your water bowl. However, perhaps your buns needed chilling? My Mom isn’t all that sure that I’m “normal” either so I’m with you – – – – I think that “normal” thing might be overrated!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • So true, Sammy! Normal is overrated. And probably boring. So you keep on hiding in tents, and I’ll keep on sitting in water. At least we’ll be interesting!

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. To be normal is boring, isn’t it, Cupcake?
    BTW: I don’t understand your mom properly. You only washed your paws before eating. Basic table manners. And yes, you got a bit upset because you obtained no soap or towel.

  15. Am surprised that your mom thought you were breaking rules — if going out to a restaurant wasn’t something you’ve done before. Sounded more like test to me. Too much stimulation. My Archie would have been spooked a bit going some place he had never been before. He would have responded like you — and ended up in my lap seeking refuge and wanting assurance outside of his comfort zone.

  16. I’m with you – normal is way overrated! However, it’s totally normal to be overwhelmed out at a restaurant. I think with a bit more practice you’ll get it down.

  17. I’m sorry the restaurant was so scary, Cupcake! I think maybe you might like it better if you had a special mat of your own where you knew you could relax. My mom taught me to relax on a special mat so we can go lots of places and I feel pretty calm because I know my mat is safe and I know just what I am supposed to do with it 🙂 My mom can tell your mom more about it, if it sounds interesting 🙂

    • Yes, R. Mom saw about your Park-It mat a while ago on your blog. She can get me to go ON the mat, but staying there is a problem. Sometimes, the jackasses in my head give me other ideas. Mom wants ALL the details of how to make this work!!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Hehe, my head can cause trouble too sometimes, Cupcake! my mom emailed your mom with lots of stuff about mat work and relaxation 🙂

  18. Sorry about your breakfast experience, Cupcake. Some days are just like that. Nothing to do but go home, re-group, and remember the words of that great philosopher Scarlett O’Hara: Tomorrow is another day. And, while I am a super obedient girl, I also am a free spirit who agrees with you completely that rules are made to be broken. Congratulations on your well-deserved awards!

  19. I’d keep trying! It took our boys a while to settle down on patios – especially if other dogs invaded their “space”. Now they are behaving well and we have so much fun!

    Sam

  20. Cupcake, sometimes breaking the rules really is necessary. Your breakfast might not have been the best experience but you sure know how to make a statement!

    Piggy Kisses,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  21. That’s the question: Why can’t you be normal – I always hear this question but I can’t find an answer. Maybe its a rhetorical question what needs no answer? If you find an answer – please Cupcake let me know :o)

  22. Firstly rules are there to be broken and second CONCATULATIONS on the awards xxx

  23. And what exactly is normal? Who defines that? Whose to say that you’re not the normal one? What’s normal about laying quietly under a table when there’s a world of stuff going on out there? Your mom needs to think about normal.

  24. I like the dragon award. It’s cool. Cupcake the Daring, you are. Wise dog, you be. 😀

  25. So you are one of those dogs who put on shows at restaurants? I see.
    Doggy only does it when there’s a dog he knows around or if I leave the table, he cries liek crazy.
    That pic of you under the chair it’s too cute.

  26. Gee Cupcake I love going to restaurants but I’ve been doing it since I was a tiny pup…Maybe your mom can find one on a quiet street and visit during an off hour to start getting you comfortable

    • Thanks, G. We were there at the crack of dawn, and it usually IS a quiet street. It just seems everything was working against me that day! Including the jackasses in my head.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Haha Cupcake, you sat in the water bowl, bet you got a soggy butt! 🙂

    So, how long do you think you’ll be grounded for? I have a feeling Mum will forget really soon! If not, I’ll fly over and break you out of jail! Tee Hee

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Thanks, Snoopy. Some friends are already telling Mom they’ll come with us if she lets me try again. Soon I think she will bust me out of here….

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Just give your mum your best puppydog eyes and she’ll forgive you soon enough 🙂
    Congrats on your lovely and well deserved awards Cupcake.

  29. Congratulations on your awards Cupcake. I’m sorry you had such a hard time at breakfast, sometimes despite all our efforts, we still can’t make you guys feel comfortable. Please pass this message on to mom for me, don’t give up. You’ll get there. 😉

  30. That dragon’s loyalty award ius quite cool!!!!! Cupcake you are so lucky to get to go out to eat with your mama!

  31. Well, I think your mom is very lucky. Wonderbutt would have pooped and peed all over the place. I wonder what it feels like to have one of those dogs who actually behaves in public…

  32. Normal is definitely overrated! Congratulations on your awards.

  33. Don’t forget that some rules keep you safe Cupcake. Congratulations on receiving so many wonderful awards – very well deserved!

  34. CONGRATS on you awards Cupcake! You deserve them! YAY!!!!

  35. […] friends at Dog Daz Zoo sent me the Dragon’s Loyalty Award. I won it once before right here.  Thanks, […]

  36. […] at her computer and talking to herself! That means no writing in a few days. I thought she was a “full-time” writer. This week, she’s been a writer at […]

  37. […] Recently, Mom took me to the bagel cafe to have breakfast at the outdoor patio. […]

  38. […] anyone can see, I am just a normal, regular […]

  39. […] is my favorite time. I’m all about sunshine and sparkle and bright and […]

  40. […] she takes me out to eat, I’ve stopped hiding under her chair, tripping the waitress, and sitting in the water bowl. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.