Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Gotcha

Today is 12/12. Such a happy day. It’s my Gotcha Day! That’s the day three years ago that Mom picked me out and adopted me and said, “I gotcha. You’re coming home with me!”

couch day 1

I was in a cage, with overgrown nails, bad breath, scabs on my ears, and parasites in my tummy. I was smaller than she wanted and older than she hoped I’d be. But even though I seemed all wrong, Mom saw something in me that would turn out to be just right.

blanket baby

That’s how it works sometimes in life…. And in writing. Mom wrote a nonfiction story for the first time in a long time. It troubled her because she didn’t love it as much as she usually loves her stories. It just didn’t sound the way she had hoped.

confused

She brought it to her writing group named DavidLaurieandOtherDavid. They said her story had overgrown nails, bad breath, scabs on its ears, and parasites in its tummy. …not really, but they made a LOT of suggestions so Mom is practically starting over with it. She’s hoping that even if it seems all wrong , it’ll turn out to be just right.

I think the story will be fine and maybe even amazing when Mom works with it for a while. I mean, look how I turned out!

dress blanket

 

 

Comments on: "Gotcha" (75)

  1. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake! It’s my birthday today, so I guess that makes us twins!

  2. Congrats on your Gotcha day Cuppycake!!
    I love love love your sparkly dress:-)

  3. Happy Gotcha-Day sweet Cupcake. Good luck for your mom’s project .. I’m sure it’s a great strory! btw: your dress is fabulous … wish I were a girl too ;o)

    • Thanks, E. I’m pretty sure, even if you were a girl, that this dress would not come in your size. Anyway, you’re perfect the way you are. Mom says I need all the help I can get.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Will and Eko said:

    I love the parallel between your success and the future success of the story! Also pretty cool that you’re a 12/12/12 pup.

  5. Happy Gotcha day Cupcake, and look how bootiful you are 🙂 We are sure, like you said Mom’s story will be fantastic..Extra treats for you 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  6. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake & Genevieve! And how appropriate that you share your day with the 12x12x12 celebration. Given how wonderful you have turned out, Cupcake, the Two Orange Pups & I are sure your Mom’s story will be wonderful, too!

  7. Happy gotcha day.
    Your mom’s story is gonna turn out great no doubts.

  8. Congratulation on your gotcha day and on your mom’s gotcha day.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  9. Happy Happy Gotcha Day Cupcake! I know your Mommy is as happy that she “gotcha” as you are that you got her…..a match made in heaven. I’m happy that you’re happy and I hope you celebrate ALL DAY LONG. You look absolutely adorable all dressed up for the special occasion in your pretty dress. I’m sending extra special GOTCHA hugs to my favorite Cupcake……….

    EXTRA SPECIAL HUGGIES, Sammy

  10. Special Gotcha Happy Day Cupcake!! You are so special!!

  11. Happy Gotcha Day Cupcake! I’m glad it worked out for you and that you’re happy together. I’m sure your mom’s story will work out with your help.

  12. No lie! And when all is said and done, you don’t mess with perfection ( and the finished product). 🙂

  13. You turned out awesome Cupcake! Happy Gotcha Day!

  14. Well if you’re anything to measure by, your mom’s stories will turn out practically perfect in every way 🙂 Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake! I’m so glad you and your mom found each other 🙂

  15. Sending you mumma, bubba and fuzzy loves for your Gotcha day. What a lucky mumma you have! x

  16. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake! Your dress looks lovely! I’m sure your mom will write a lovely nonfiction story.

  17. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake. I’m so happy your mom found you 🙂

  18. Happy Gotcha day!!

  19. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake!!! You sure don’t look scabbie and wormie anymore! I am really glad your mom picked you 🙂 And I bet her story will turn out to be beautiful, just like you did 🙂

  20. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake! You are one lucky dog! Tell Mom I wish her luck on her book!

  21. I’m a day late, but Happy Gotcha Day Cupcake! I’m sure you are both so happy now and mom will get her story just the way she wants it. 🙂

  22. HAPPY GOTCHA DAY a coupla days late!!! Hope mom’s story turns out how she wants it too. We read in sadness and horror how you were treated before and how could they? Thank God you have a wonderful home now. We think you are beautiful Cupcake and cheer that you are so loved now! 🙂

  23. Happy Gotcha Day, Cupcake! I love the name of your mom’s writing group, and I bet she will polish up that story to look just as great as you do!

    • Thanks, WIM2S! Mom sure polished me up, so hopefully, her story will be the same. Her group used to be called David. Then it was called DavidandLaurie. And now it’s DavidLaurieandOtherDavid. I wonder if she’ll change the name again…..

  24. Oh Cuppy – You and your Mom seem like you have always been together. You have done a beautiful job with your Mom and she with you. Happy Gotcha day. Sometimes pairings just have a way to really work. – DogDaz

  25. We are glad we landed on your page on such an important day, Cupcake! Thanks so much for visiting! We are going to follow you back 🙂

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  26. So is this technically a birthday? 🙂
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday to you! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

  27. Happy Gotcha Day! There is something very special about how both you and your Mom grew from that meeting. You’ve given her so much and taught her so much, Cupcake. You are a marvel.

  28. I never knew you had quite the story Cupcake and were a rescueey! What GREAT mom you have who unconditionally fell in love with your little face,even if you weren’t everything she was first expecting.I’m sure you know this already,but I believe she may have just saved your life, and to that my mommy takes her hats off to her. Wish there were more people out there like your mom!

  29. Chelsea Brown19 said:

    Aww yay for CupCake to find a loving home. 🙂

  30. Chelsea Brown19 said:

    I also wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for Blog Of The Year 2012′ Award.
    Check it out http://thejennymacbookblog.wordpress.com/

  31. What an awesome gotcha story! It’s a good thing your mom gotcha 😉 I’m sure her story will be fantastic once it’s all done! Tell your mommy I said good luck!

  32. […] giving us the Why I Love Thee Award. Click here for our Sunshine questions and answers, and here or here for the story of how Mom and I found each other. We love all our sunshiny blogging friends, so feel […]

  33. […] 12 is my Gotcha Day. You can read my Gotcha story here . We celebrated with ice cream. Mom made me a doggie yogurt ice cream pop with a cookie […]

  34. Cupcake, you tell the best stories. And your mum is lucky to have you. Happy belated birthday! 🙂

  35. […] I first came here, I had to be fixed. I wasn’t broken, but getting fixed was about not getting any more puppies […]

  36. […] the past couple of months, Mom has been trying to be something she’s not. Since nonfiction picture books seem to be getting more and more popular, she thought she’d dip her toe into the […]

  37. […] Learning – When Mom first adopted me, I apparently did not know how to conduct myself. She had to teach me A LOT of things. Plus she […]

  38. […] didn’t know what to do with such a teeny tiny dog like me. When I finally willed her to choose me, she thought I’d need a set of doggie stairs to get on the bed. That was before she saw that […]

  39. I think it was the best day for mom ever Cupcake. To have you in her life is like getting a present every day. I am also glad that you are with mom. The two of you definitely belong together. 😀

    Such a pity about the story. I don’t know but I think your mom is the best writer ever. I always enjoy the beautiful and funny stories she writes about you, and then she includes all these stunning photos of you to show us how adorable and gorgeous you are. ♥

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.