Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

five

Looking over her stories, Mom is noticing she has three different kinds – some that aren’t ready yet, some that are old and worn out, and some that are just about right. Today’s five words are about growing and changing. It’s good for characters, good for stories, good for authors, good for butterflies, …and good for me.

butterfly

1. Unripe – New stories need time to ripen up.

Ugh! Green and underdone.

Ugh! Green and underdone.

Whenever Mom finishes a story she tucks it away and doesn’t look at it or think about it for a few weeks. It sits in the computer until it gets ripe.

2. Learning – When Mom first adopted me, I apparently did not know how to conduct myself. She had to teach me A LOT of things. Plus she took me to obedience school so she could learn how to make me learn. Wait. What?

CGC diploma

3. Overripe – Some of Mom’s stories have been around for years and years. And YEARS. She has revised them and revised them and edited them and overhauled them and submitted them and revamped them. She’s done everything but run them over with her car.

dog in car

She hasn’t totally ruled that out because they’re going nowhere.

I think this one has been run over by a car...

I think this one has been run over by a car…

4. Waiting – Writers do a LOT of waiting. So do I. I wait for Mom to share her breakfast,

Did somebody say pancake?

Did somebody say pancake?

wait for her to come home, wait for her to go walking with me, wait for her to take me in the car, and wait for my dinner.

dinner

5. Just Right – Like the porridge, the chairs, and the beds in Goldilocks and the Three Bears, some of Mom’s stories are just right. They’re not too old and not too new. They’re not too long and not too short. They’re not too blah and not too way out there.

Perfect!

Perfect! May I eat it??

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (54)

  1. And hopefully, Cupcake, an agent or editor will find some of them to be just right, too, so boys, girls, and good pups like you can enjoy them.

  2. Goldilocks and the 3 Bears pretty much sums up writing in general. I found myself deleting a couple old posts recently because no amount of massaging them, shifting their focus, praying or doing Indian dances for unfinished stories seemed to help. Ash-canning was the only thing left and I am still grieving. Sniffle. Oh well, c’est la vie! 🙂

  3. Oh you found the best words to decribe that process of writing… maybe stories are like wine… if they are underdone, they are sour and if they are overripe you get blastered and headaches the next day… and if they are just right, they will melt on your tongue and you want more and more :o)

  4. You may not know how to conduct an orchestra, but how could anyone accuse you of not knowing how to conduct yourself. You conducted yourself like…yourself!

    • Thanks for understanding, W. For some reason, that part of myself was not OK at the time. It was dangerous and unpredictable. I’m conducting like a symphony now…

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. That is so true, Cupcake! What a wise girl you are! It is so important to find that exact happy medium of when a pinecone, er, story is just right! 🙂

    • Thanks, S. All pine cones look perfect to me. All Mom’s stories do too. But apparently, I’m a dog….. so….

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Well said, Cupcake! It’s hard sometimes to wait until everything is just right, but if we can, it’s worth it. Lady Caroline

  7. Today is Tuesday, why is Five Word Friday up? I smell mischief Cupcake!

    • Days of the week are like numbers, J. They confuse me and give me a headache. I prefer to ignore them as much as possible.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. What would your Mom do without you to help her figure out how writing works……It is truly like a fine wine or maybe a nice GREEN tomato……needs time to be JUST right for the picking, drinking, or publishing! I think your Mom knows about all of that by now but with you helping out it’s got to be JUST RIGHT!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • So true, S. Thanks. If there’s anydoggie who knows just-right it’s ME! I am a tremendous help around here! Did somebody say tomato??

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Those sure are some great words to write around. We like that plan. Cupcake, you are such a big help to the Mom.

  10. Oh well we love just right! 🙂

  11. Frankie and Ernie said:

    It is hard to know the exact time fur a good story to Ripen and Reach Maturity and be ready fur the Printing…

    • So true, F and E. Mom says it’s like a crap shoot – whatever that is. Plus sometimes she feels like she can work on the same story for the rest of her life. That would be bad.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Have you noticed Cupcake we can almost fit the principles your mom goes by into everything we do. These are great guides to live by.

    (((Shoko)))

  13. Those are super snazzy certificates you got there Cupcake. Do you also like chomping on pine cones? We LOVE them!
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W and S. I’ve never actually tried a pine cone. Mom is quick with the leash and her favorite word in “Leave it.” Bummer.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. I like your certificates, Cupcake!
    I also know all about waiting patiently – I still say patience is overrated.

  15. fredrieka said:

    momwithoutpaws loves writing her short stories, sometimes she says she has brain farts or head glitches but sooner or later one comes out of her head onto the screen.

    • It’s always good when something gets onto the screen, F. You can fix something bad, but you can’t fix something invisible.,

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. There are so many good and funny comments here today, Cupcake. I like the Canadian Cats’… is that Cats’ or Cats’s?… comment and Tails Around the Ranch cracked me up! #1 is why I never get a blog post posted I think… 😀 Happy Wednesday!

  17. If things ripen with age, I am overdone! You are funny and mom is lucky to have you. I hope mom’s stuff ripens into book two before I get too old! Come on people! Don’t you know talent when you see it!?!? 😫✌🏼️❤️

    • Thanks, G. You’re hoping the same thing as Mom and me! That’s a lot of hoping – it HAS to work!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. I’m happy that your mom has so many different stories at various stages. Then she can pick and choose. I like the idea diving over the tired ones, it certainly adds something new to the plots. Great post.

    • Thanks, P. Picking and choosing is exactly what Mom does. That’s why she never runs out of things to work on.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Your pancake sure looked good, Cupcake. Mom has me on a diet…sigh! Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  20. Those are such wise words…and lessons, Cupcake…I hope the hitchhiker has learned something of it too, so that he doesn’t become… overripe 😀 I think you can eat now 😉
    Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend 🙂 ❤

  21. Deep, philosophical wisdom Cupcake…you are an inspiration to us all!!! hugs and lots of kisses form Charley and Johanna

    • Thanks C and J. I have never been called deep or philosophical – mostly just psycho and stubborn. ….and sometimes naughty. 🙂

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. Oh Cupcake my sweet. I think I know about that waiting problem too. You can always come wait with me 🙂 Snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  23. waiting sure can be worthwhile

  24. Hmm… I’ve never tried the running over stories with my car method either!

  25. You always make me laugh, Cupcake! 😀

  26. Hey! You have TWO diploma’s Cupcake! I’m impressed. No wonder you’re such a star. Of course I’m maddly in love with your little aqua car too xo B

  27. Dad loves reading about your mom’s wrirting ideas…. we.. well we want to share the pine cone with you… mmmmmm

    -the collies

Leave a Reply

