Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Finished

gingerbread1

Don’ t these gingerbread men look yummy?  I waited nicely with them, so Mom could take my picture.  I expected she’d toss a nice big one to me after the photo shoot.  But she didn’t.  She ate a couple of them herself and gave me one little gingerbread head.  I ate it so fast, I barely tasted it.  I checked the floor to see if it fell. 

floor

It didn’t.

Mom and her friends ate gingerbread men day after day, and all I ever got was an occasional leg or arm, except in my dreams when I got to eat tons of them.

sleeping2

And now they’re FINISHED.  I’m sure more Christmas cookies are around here someplace, but the gingerbread men are finished. 

Besides the gingerbread, Mom also finished her Goodreads Challenge.  In January, she challenged herself to read 212 picture books in 2012.  She actually read and rated 214.  Some of her favorites were: Betty Bunny Loves Chocolate Cake, I am the Dog, Kindergarten Rocks, Dinosaur vs Santa, Playing War, and Stuck.  She liked a whole bunch more, too.  They made her say, “Awesome!” and “Hilarious!” and “Why can’t I write like this?”

betty bunnydinosaur vs santai am the dogplaying warstuckkindergarten rocks

Some of the books she read made her say, “Wait. What?” and “THIS is published?” and “I want that ten minutes of my life back!”

I want the gingerbread men back.

plate

Comments on: "Finished" (53)

  1. Gingerbread men? Your person made gingerbread men? I think The Producer has definitely been taken over by the Grinch – no gingerbread men here 😦
    Have a Happy Christmas Cupcake.

    • You’re dreaming, Zena! Mom didn’t make them. One of her friends did. They’re the yummiest gingerbread men ever. Once, when Mom tried making them, they were so hard, we had to hang them on the Christmas tree.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. My word, you are one lucky dog. Litchi has never had a gingerbread man – sure she’d love them.

  3. You will just have to dig out some dog treats and not share them with her – it is the only way they will learn! What’s their’s is yours and whats yours is yours!

  4. Ooohh Cupcake! Mommy is at risk of a bite! 😉

  5. They look yummy, at least you get to taste some, I’ve never had gingerbread men before. Have a funtastic Thursday Cupcake 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Thanks, Mollie and Alfie! How can it be Christmas without gingerbread men? Mom isn’t in the Christmas spirit unless she gives herself a gingerbread bellyache.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. I haven’t had gingerbread men either. Bu your mummy is mean not to let you have more! Hope she makes a special batch just for you!

  7. Poor Cupcake……you look SOOOOO adorable in your beautiful holiday collar and you certainly deserved more than a gingerHEAD for posing so pretty! Moms can be real killjoys sometimes can’t they? Know what? I have that same fleece throw on the back of my couch – it’s quite comfy and a purrrfectly lovely place to have a good pout don’t you think? Hang in there Cupcake….there will be more treats in the days to come….Christmas isn’t even HERE yet!

    Holiday Huggies, Sammy

  8. You are lucky. I made chocolate chip cookies and Rocky didn’t get any. (I don’t think chocolate would have been a good thing). He did get doggy treats, even though he left his toys out and tripped me. Now I can’t walk and he’s still getting doggie treats from daddy. Go figure. Your mom sure did read a lot of books. Like anything else, there’s the good and the bad. Someday some smart person will realize your mom’s books are good and then we will get to see #2 on the shelf. :-). Patience. Like when you waited for the gingerbread head. Hugs…

    • Don’t be too hard on the big guy, Gemma. Poor Rocky! He keeps getting himself into trouble. Thanks for hoping about Book 2 with us. We need all the hope we can get!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Awww, you definitely didn’t get your fair share! Hopefully Santa will bring you more!

  10. During a mall shopping trip last night I came across a bin full of stuffed animals in Ikea. One in particular bore a strong resemblance to Cupcake. I was tempted to buy him but that would have meant no lunch so I passed on it for this season. Happy Holidays Cupcake. Wishing a whole gingerbread man for Christmas. 🙂

  11. I love gingerbread men…. do you have some leftovers? …and to eat tons of them is a wonderful dream….i#M DREAMING WITH YOU .O9

  12. Will and Eko said:

    That first photo belongs on a Christmas card – great shot. On the plus side maybe Santa will try one of those delicious cookies and leave you some extra treats.

  13. Those are some pretty yummy looking cookies. Sorry you only got a head…keep dreaming!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  14. Hello,
    I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for The Next Big Thing (A Blog Hop Post)
    Check it out http://thejennymacbookblog.wordpress.com/

  15. Congratulations to you, Cupcake, for sitting so nicely without gobbling up the gingerbread men. I’m sure Mom will reward you with a more pup-friendly treat for your patience. And Big Congratulations to Mom for completing & surpassing her Goodreads challenge. I look forward to checking out some of the books she enjoyed.

  16. You are luckier than me Miss Cupcake! I haven’t had ANY Gingerbread men at all this holiday season! Yours look so delicious… mmmm

  17. Congratulations to your mom on reading 214 books. That is phenomenal!

    P.S. De makes gingerbread men and let’s me have some 🙂

  18. What a delicious entry! Happy Holidays!
    -Bella and DiDi

  19. Definitely sending Maggie over now! She’s good at herding people. Maybe she can herd the Gingerpeople together and then you guys feast! 😉

  20. Our boys didn’t even get a piece of our gingerbread men! You sure are a lucky pup, and looking very festive in the first picture!

    Sam

    (p.s. – Mom loves those books too!)

  21. Cupcake, no gingerbread for you? Next time you only pose for a picture if you get a gingerbread, ok 🙂

  22. May I have some? I haven’t eaten a gingerbread man in years… read decades. 😆
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Holidays to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

  23. yummy! Lots of yummy christmas cookies! For a little dog Cupcake, you sure got one BIG appetite!

  24. I’m sure you will get gingerbread men in your stocking, Cupcake!

  25. You are so cute Cupcake!!!! We hope you get some Gingerbread Men. Those by the way are Ginger’s favorite cookie! 🙂 Merry Christmas our friends!!!

  26. […] Stories take longer than expected sometimes, too. The calendar says we’re 10 days into the month, but we’re not seeing much of Mom’s April manuscript. The idea is still brownish and slime-ish, and wind and rain in Mom’s head are slowing down the progress. Her ears aren’t upside down or anything, but I’m hearing an awful lot of “Here we go.” and not an awful lot of, “Yay. I’m finished.” […]

Leave a Reply

