Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Something I’m Not

On Halloween, people and pets pretend to be something they’re not. I’m not a ladybug…

ladybug

or a nurse…

nurse

or a Halloween prisoner…

hallowen prisoner

or a turtle

turtle

For the past couple of months, Mom has been trying to be something she’s not. Since nonfiction picture books seem to be getting more and more popular, she thought she’d dip her toe into the nonfiction water.

biographyhistory

She started out by reading a few nonfiction picture books each week. And she wracked her brain trying to think of a topic that she could actually write about.

facts

She read and read and – UGH. She thought and thought and – NUTHIN’. Some of the nonfiction books were actually pretty good.

Super-cute nonfiction!

Super-cute nonfiction!

But still, the only things she really wanted to read were fiction books, and the only things she really wanted to write were fiction stories.

…maybe a fairy tale about a dog princess!

…maybe a fairy tale about a dog princess!

So this Halloween week, Mom decided to stop trying to be something she’s not. She’ll be what she is – a writer of fiction picture books.

ebookcover with borderBook #1

And I’ll be what I am – the witch in the rearview mirror headed to the library for Read to a Pet Night….

rearview witch

Ugh!

witch face

Comments on: "Something I’m Not" (66)

  1. Happy Halloween, Cupcake! Sometimes a bit of a writing detour can be inspiring and a good thing. You just never know. 🙂

  2. I sympathize completely. I sometimes pretend I’m an adult. Just have to embrace who we are!

  3. Be you always! It’s more fun that way! Wooooowoooooooooo!
    p.s. you look furry cuuwooowooote in all those costume Cupcake! 🙂

  4. What you are: cute. Super cute! Maybe she could write a non-fiction book about a dog who goes to read to a pet night; and who visits people who need puppy love; and who loves to dress up. Do you know anyone she could write about who is all of those things? 😉 xx

  5. I HATE THIS TIME OF YEAR!!!

    Fuzzy!

    I LOVE IT

    Boomer

    Your look great! SMILE ON!

    Fuzzy and Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/?s=The+Adventures+of+Fuzzy+and+Boomer&submit=Search
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  6. Catherine Johnson said:

    What a neat post! It is great to experiment and then make decisions. Have a fab Halloween.

  7. Cupcake!! Those outfits look so nice on you…my guess is you are a little charmer at large. There is actually a read to your pet night…dudette I’d love that. I am so used to mom reading to us every night and boy do we enjoy it.

    (((Shoko)))

  8. Great analogy, Cupcake! 😀

  9. Frankie and Ernie said:

    OH Cupcake…. we LOVE ALL your ClawsTooms…. butt we don’t really think you are a Witch.

  10. Cupcake your Momma is a fantastic fiction writer!!! Non-fiction can be a bit ‘dry’ and that your Momma is not 🙂 As for your costumes, we vote that you are probably a little bit sweet ladybug, glorious princess and nurse when needed!
    Luvs
    Marty and the Gang

  11. Adorable costumes. After reading your books, I think you have a gift for taking a subject that could be a biography or nonfiction and making it fiction. Fiction gives you more lead way. But, I know what you mean. I’ve thought about it and have read a lot of nonfiction myself.

  12. You may not be a lady bug butt we think you may be a snuggle bug!!
    Wally & Sammy

  13. You are such a wise dog, Cupcake. Just be yourself, that’s all that matters…you sweet little witch 🙂 Extra Pawkisses for a Happy Halloween 🙂 ❤

  14. I hope that you enjoyed yourself, Cupcake, and heard some interesting stories at the library!

  15. Cupcake I think your mum has found her niche..and you have found your witch and therefore no need to switch…and see I am not a writer 😉 loves Fozziemum xxx

    • You are a SUPERwriter, FM! And a poet! Sort of…. Thanks!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Hahahaa thankyou Cupcake..you are way too kind! there is a great difference between loving writing and being a writer..for me I just like to plonk things down ..as for a poet well…yes that could be a slight stretch hahaahah 🙂 Loves Fozziemum xx

  16. Being our “authentic self” is actually the EASIEST “self” to be…..trying other things is always fun and stretches us a bit but in the end – doing what we do best and liking it – is the most important. I think you look so adorable in ALL your “other selves” but my most favorite is just plain Cupcake with those sweet eyes!!

    Hugs and love, Sammy

  17. Oh bless you!!

  18. fredrieka said:

    woof you look like a lady bug wouldn’t it be fun to beable to fly.. woof

  19. Love your costumes, Cupcake. You look cute in everything because I can see your cute little, doggy personality showing through!
    And Mom person…there are some nonfiction books that I absolutely love, but so far I am happy just writing my fiction! Glad you learned something about yourself and probably read numbers of great nonfiction while you were doing it!

    • Thanks, P. Mom did like some of the nonfiction, but that scared her even more, thinking she could never make hers sound like anything except a grammar school science report! Hmmmm. Science…. Maybe I should dress up like a scientist!

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. hahahaha you are the cutest witch in the rearview mirror! Gloria Gaynor was right: I am what I am – my own special creation :o) and that’s probably the reason that our world is mostly such a wonderful place :o)

  21. You look so cute in all your outfits, cupcake ❤ 🙂

  22. As Shakespeare said, “To thine own self be true,” Cupcake! I’m glad your mom figured that out, and that she still lets you dress up in your cute costumes.

  23. You are just the cutest ever Cupcake and I am sure you brightened up everyone’s day for sure! I know you brighten up mine when I see you all dressed up. Adorable!

    I am glad mom decided to stick to what she does best. I do however love stories about princesses and magic and I think you make a great witch for sure. A book about a dog princess sounds great! 😀

    ♥ Love & Hugs ♥

  24. You are both cute!

    I’m not sure what I would write about non-fiction wise – I’m not much of an expert on anything!

    Monty and Harlow

  25. Playing dress up can be fun. Enjoy the season.

  26. Oh, I love this! So adorable and silly! yes To Dressups!

  27. Sounds like your mum has it figured out,xx Speedy

  28. Love seeing all your outfits 🙂

  29. A dog Pwincess? YES! Pwease.

  30. A witch you are not!

Leave a Reply

