Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

It’s official! Mom has finished her 12th first draft of 2019.

Challenge complete. Of course the stories are very new and are nowhere near ready for primetime, but they’re done.

We chose 5 words from this month’s story.

16. Busy – Mom is busy a lot. She can be busy talking to friends, cleaning up, or “working” on her computer. I like to keep busy, too. I can be busy playing with my toys,

begging for food,

or exercising.

What a workout!

Sometimes, we’re busy together at the park

or walking around the neighborhood.

42. Kids – Kids are delicious. Usually they taste like gum or sweat or chicken nuggets. I see kids when Mom takes me to a school visit and when I work at the library.

Read it again!

9. Shoes – Sometimes I love shoes. I lick them, sniff them, and when I was little, I used to carry them around. Other times, I do NOT love shoes.

Embarrassing…

86. Teacher – Mom used to be a teacher.

Now she only has me to teach. She has discovered you CAN teach an old dog new tricks. Meanwhile, it’s all on me to learn the stuff. #somuchresponsibility

 

357. Floor – Like kids, floors are also delicious. I like the floor a lot. Mom says, “Don’t lick it.” and “Stop being a weirdo.” and then when she’s cooking and she drops something, she’s all, “Oh, look, Cupcake. Here’s a treat for you. Clean up the floor like a good girl.” #makeupyourmind

What?

 

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (34)

  1. Cupcake you are SO SMART! I love your “ding” trick and I think you look grand in your Christmas snowflake sweater. Congratulations to your Mom for getting her project done and I do hope that you and your Mom have a REALLY SUPER Christmas together!!

    Big Cupcake Hugs,
    Love, Teddy

    • Thanks, T. The ding trick makes Mom laugh – especially when she thinks she’s finished giving me a treat and she walks away and I start dinging the bell like crazy for more.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Mom is done!! (kinda) Yay! You are licking off chicken nuggets and sweat 😖 YAY! Sometimes Sonny knows I’ve been to McDonald’s and he licks my hand as soon as I come in the door. I pretend it’s love but it’s egg McMuffin I’m sure.
    Merry Christmas you too busy bees. 🥰🎄 🐝 🐝

    • Ha! We doggies have to get our McDonald’s however we can! Hand-licking is a yummy way to manage it. Even though we have a license, we are not allowed to drive to get nuggets of our own!

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. I don’t get to tell you often enough, but thank you for sharing the adventures of Cupcake with the world. I LOVE your posts and faithfully read every one even when I don’t have the time to comment.

    Merry Christmas to Cupcake and to you, my friend. Here’s to many more years of making memories…

    Take care,

    Donna

    • Thanks, D. We are happy to know that you are stopping by in between all of your writing. Your successes bring us hope! Thanks for sharing them!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  4. Congratulations to you & Mom on 12 stories this year! We hope many feature a very special black & white pup🙂 Happy holidays!

    • Thanks, P. Actually some of them do have doggies. We hope to get the opportunity to leave the details of the pups to an illustrator some day soon!

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Congratulations to you and YOUR MOM!!! Wow! What a wonderful achievement

  6. Oh Cupcake, mom’s are complicated. But you are a rock star at learning things. And congrats to your mom for getting through her challenge with 12 stories. Well done, both of you. Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks, M. I LOVE the thought of being a rock star. Once I played the piano with my face when I was chasing a fly.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Carole Schulman said:

    Oh Cupcake, I am so proud f bth of you. You for being such a good girl and your Mom…well, the same thing. She was a good girl and got her project done. XXXX
    Katie Isabella

    • Thanks, KI. I am very good at dinging the bell for treats. Sometimes, I am so good at it that Mom has to say the word, “No more!!” Then she puts the bell on the counter so I can’t reach it. Go figure….

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Carole Schulman said:

        BY the way, my mom and I both laughed at your comments on my blog these past several times. We always do, but we got loud about it today with the #Frankenstein comment hashtag.
        We’re grinning again!

  8. That’s an accomplishment! Congratulations! Love the Christmas outerwear Cupcake. Happy Holidays!

  9. chesterspaniel said:

    I agree that sometimes the humans make no sense what-so-ever. I’m supposed to be the clean-up crew when food gets dropped on the floor. Oh, but I’m not supposed to lick the furniture. Hey, sometimes there’s yummy stuff on the couch too!

    Congratulations to your Mom for her success on that writer’s challenge! (I’ve got to get my ghostwriter to do more writing. But lately, she’s had the attention span of a flea!)

    We love your cute outfits, and your ringy-dingy trick! Hope you have a merry Christmas!

    • Thanks, C. Your Ghostwriter will know when the time is right to buckle down and write stuff. Be careful what you wish for. When Mom is writing I have to be a good, quiet girl. It’s not as easy as it sounds.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Margret Abbott said:

    Congratulations from My Margret to your mom for completing the 12×12 challenge! Cupcake, I like your monkey, I can tell he’s special to you. You do a great job learning new tricks keep up the good work. Oh and yeah you can’t win with moms when it comes to floors so don’t even try. Sigh…~ nose nudges Bessie Pup

    • You know it, B. Floor-licking is SO much fun. Plus it’s such important work for us pups. I don’t know why Moms get weird about it. It’s the same thing if I lick my belly or my paws. Mom says, “Are those paws made of candy?!!?” Well, yes. Maybe they are!

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Hurray for Mom! Cracking up over your observations about kids.. HAHAHA! You and your Mom make a great team, Cupcake♥ Love your snowflake sweater!
    Happy Christmas Eve to you and your Mom, Cupcake!

    • Thanks, Pix. I do like being a team with Mom. We work well together. Work…. Well, that might be a bit of a stretch. Ha!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. You sure have a lot of snow, Cupcake. I don’t think I would like shoes, either. You do really good touching the ball when your Mom asks you to. And even though sometimes Mom says to drop it, I usually just watch the floor for things to land there and then grab them. XOX Xena

  13. Merry and bright and always adogable

  14. Glad your mom finished her draft, Cupcake, that means more quality time for you..YAY!😸I’m not so into youngsters, maybe I can send my twofeet sister to you next time, you can eat her if you like…MOL…Pawkisses for a wonderful Moday and don’t forget to ring some extra times for more treats 😉 🐾😽💞

  15. Charlee: “Happy New Year! We are back!”
    Chaplin: “And we are sending lots of purrs that you have a great year!”
    Lulu: “And tail wags, too!”
    Chaplin: “And floors are good for finding stuff, it’s true, but all the very best stuff is on the counter. If you can arrange to get up there, I highly recommend it!”

    • No doubt, C. If you have any tips about how I can turn into a cat and jump up on the counter, let me know. The counter is my dream. Meanwhile, I’m licking crumbs from the floor like an animal!

      Love and licks,
      C

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.