Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Waiting

It’s tough to wait. Waiting to have time to write, waiting to get an idea, waiting to hear what the characters want to do, waiting for a story to be finished – They’re all tough.

Waiting for a response from a publisher or an agent – also tough. But Mom does it. All writers do.

Sometimes she waits by reading picture books at home. Sometimes, she visits the bookstore.

She talks to kids and listens to kids. She does work with her critique group online. And of course, she watches TV. That’s a great waiting activity – especially this time of year.

Mom always has the choice of playing with me while she waits. I like practicing my tricks and walking around the neighborhood

and napping.

And of course, I watch TV. And I watch Mom watch TV.

Fascinating!

For the next couple of weeks I will be waiting in overdrive. Waiting for Santa!

I hope he brings treats and toys and maybe a new dress for me. I’m sure most of my furfriends and humanfriends are also waiting for Christmas. And if The Big Guy brings an opportunity for Mom, that would be good, too. Either way, the working and playing and talking and listening and practicing and napping and watching and waiting will continue…

C’mon, Santa!

Comments on: "Waiting" (59)

  1. I hear ya… waiting is a hard thing… I mean we are dogs and not a waiter or a waitress… I bet there is a reason that waiting and weird start with the same letter….

  2. Waiting is hard work and very tiring. I think I need a nap after all this talk about waiting! 😀

  3. Waiting sure is tough isn’t t Cupcake? This is my first real Christmas so I’m waiting to see what that’s like – I think it will be great because Mom says so though and I trust her. I will be hoping that both you AND your Mom get your Christmas wishes…..Santa for you and a wonderful opportunity for your Mom. Why? Because we want all our friends to get what they hope and dream about – that’s why!

    Love and Holiday Hugs, Teddy

  4. I hope Santa does bring an opportunity for your Mom! Waiting is tough… I don’t wait well. For sure I hope Santa brings you a new dress because you are a good girl and it that is one of your wishes I want to see it happen!

  5. HEY! Mom and I really like that photo of you blinking out there in the snow storm!!! You have a Merry Christmas Cupcake and Mom….from Boomer and my Mom!

  6. Waiting is boring but I’m sure all your patience will be rewarded when your mum gets the best book deal EVER! Also, waiting is not boring if you eat while you’re doing it. Just a suggestion.
    Monty and Chicken 🐾❤️🐾

  7. Cupcake, you and your mom have brought so much joy to so many this year that I’m sure Santa will bring you something good! (Plus you’re cute, so how can he resist? 🙂 )

    • Thanks, S. I’m always hoping my cuteness will carry me through! Through Christmas is the BEST place to be carried. #c’monsanta

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. We have that reindeer toy too!

    Love the PJs! So cute!

  9. Happy Hollidays to you and your mom, sweet adorable Cupcake!!! Xoxoxo Johanna and Charley

  10. Love your PJ’s Cupcake! They suit yoy. Have a great Christmas my friend and that goes double for your mom.
    Shoko, Kali and Jean

  11. chesterspaniel said:

    That picture of you in the header is very cute. You’ve got the head tilt going perfectly. Hope you have a great Christmas and get lots of presents. I hope Mom gets lots of good ideas for stories too.

    • Awwww… Thanks, C. Those are good wishes for us! Back at you. And never underestimate the value of a good head tilt.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. We are always waiting for something!

  13. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    Man, waiting it tough. We don’t do it very well even though we get lots of practice. We hope that the waiting you and your mom are doing bring you both all kinds of good things! ~nose nudges Bessie, Belle and Bonnie

  14. Marty the Manx said:

    Sure hope your Mama get an opportunity soon Cupcake! Is it snowing there? We are hoping that Santa brings us some treats, but Mom says we are donating to the Humane Society here again this year so no new toys here but that is ok 🙂
    Luvs
    Marty

  15. Waiting is so hard. We know that feeling here at the Hotel Thompson with mom’s recovery. Waiting… more waiting… even more waiting. But you know what? I heard this morning it was your Gotcha Day. No more waiting for that beautiful ❤ Happy Gotcha Day. XOXO – Bacon

    • Awwww…. Thanks, B. My Gotcha Day was awesome. Tell your mom to keep putting one foot in front of the other and relax into her healing. That’s not something she can rush. It has it’s own pace.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Yes it does. We’ve been trying to keep her underwraps. Hopefully come January she can start back to her walking/eating better lifestyle. XOXO – Bacon

  16. I’m sure Santa will bring many treats and good things to your home, Cupcake.

    And Happy Adoption/Gocha Day! It looks like you made out like a bandit, based on your Instagram feed.

  17. I love your jammies, C. Do you shop at Ann Tailor? I would like to have some new clothes, too.
    Doesn’t it seem like we are always waiting for something or another, C? Oh, and happy, happy Gotcha Day!! ~Xena

    • Gah! Tail-or – I see what you did there, X. Thanks for the good wishes. Waiting with treats and cuddles is a lot less painful, and always what I’m hoping for.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Love those PJs, Cupcake! Yes, I hope that Santa brings your mom an opportunity this year. Merry Christmas!

  19. Waiting is hard. Especially when there’s something really exciting at the end of the wait. Hang in there, dogfriend. It will all be worth it. Ho ho ho! 🎅🏽😉

    • Ho. Ho. Ho, to you, too, G. The end of the wait for Mom will be REALLY exciting. The end of the wait for me will pretty much be the same as every day of my life! Woot!

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Those are some pretty swank PJ’s Cupcake. Should make the wait go quicker. 😇

  21. We will keep paws crossed that Santa brings you good news! …and lots of goodies!

    Monty, Harlow, and Ramble

  22. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay i hav herd that the wayting is the hardest part!!! that evry day yoo see wun mor card!!! that yoo tayk it on fayth yoo tayk it to the — wot??? oh dada sez i am just kwoting the faymus minstrel tom petty wel yoo no wot dada??? tom petty wuz on to sumthing!!! ok bye

    • I’ve heard Tom Petty’s philosophy is pretty timeless. Ditto your dada, D. Waiting IS the hardest part! OK. Bye.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Dearest Cupcake, I sure do hope you get that new dress. You wear your wardrobe with such style. Sending warm holiday paw pats and purrs

  24. What a beautiful post!
    Your dog is lovely, adorable!!

  25. Sweet Cupcake we are sorry you are having to do all that waiting. You look great and we love this picture of you. We are wishing your mom all the best with her book and we wish you both a very Merry Christmas. Hugs and nose kisses Chancy, Pooh and Mumsy

    • Yay! Thanks, C., P., and M. We also wish happy Christmas wishes back to you. Friendship is the best part of Christmas.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. I hate waiting for some things like food or the check when I’m done.

  27. Waiting is hard, Cupcake. Tell mom to keep her eyes up ahead.
    Merry Christmas!

  28. Cupcake, please tell your Mom I tried to leave a comment on today’s post (Merry Christmas) but it won’t let me. Amy

  29. You’re one busy doggy and what a fabulous fashion show! Your fans want to know, do you have your own closet with all your lovely clothes in there? Hope Santa was extra generous for you and mom! xo Boomdee

  30. […] wait for somebody to play with […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.