Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

Today, Mom and I are counting down about poetry.

My Countdown

3. Words – Mom has lots of special words for me. Some of them are “leave it,” “stop it,” and “get down.”

Aren’t they sweet? I’m pretty sure they all mean I’m being a good girl. Other special words are, “wanna come?” “treat,” and “car.” Mom and I really understand each other.

Huh??

6. Names – I have a LOT of names besides Cupcake. Some of them are “WhatInTheWorld,” “DoYouWantASpankin?” “Naughty,” and “Stubborn.”

16. Funny – Sometimes I am hilarious. I’m sneaky, playful, and mischievous. I know Mom loves all of that. Most of the time she says, “That’s not funny anymore.” But I’m pretty sure she doesn’t mean that the way it sounds. I am a riot.

Mom’s Countdown

3. Words – Poems have lots of special words. They rhyme, they sing, and they rock and roll. That’s what makes poetry poetry.

Rock and what…?

26. Names – Mom has been working on some poems this week. Sometimes she changes the titles over and over to make them more fun and unusual. She also changes other things in the poems to make them more poetic and sillier. Silly is a good thing in a poem. And in a doggie.

9. Funny – Funny poems are Mom’s favorite kind. The best ones are a little funny along the way, with a crazy twist at the end. No twist. No good.

Help..

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (42)

  1. yes silly is a good word… and it is the name of my breeder, so it is an allounder somehow ;o) I have many names too… the newest one is “ooooh man!!!!”… pawsome that the mama discovered that I’m no longer a puppy LOL

    • Yes, P. It is good that your mom recognizes your manly manhood. At your house, I think they would say “Oooooh man” a LOT! For a lot of reasons…

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. I also have many names, some nicer than others! I can assure you that ‘stubborn’ is a compliment. I have been called that many times.

    • Thanks, C. Mom can’t even tell the difference between stubborn and frozen in fear. I am not sure of the difference either, but one thing I know for sure is I am a good girl.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Oh Cupcake you are just so darn adorable……and I know you must be a huge inspiration to your Mom too……I think you are VERY inspiring no matter WHAT names your Mom calls you!!! I have a name for you too……………..MY FRIEND.

    Love, Teddy

  4. We love silly, too, Cupcake! Hope you’ve figured a way out of your twisted ending, though. It’ll be very difficult to chow down on turkey with that silly net laced around your neck. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Thanks, PT. Back at ya. I am happy that Mom and I have moved away from that tricky soccer net. It captured me more than once like that. #treacherous

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. chesterspaniel said:

    My ghostwriter began her love of writing in grade school writing poems about her parakeet. Now it’s all about ME!

    • Thank goodness you came along, C. I have never heard of a parakeet that could chase squirrels. I’m pretty sure you are way more fascinating than a bird.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Words, what would we do without them? Lali and I have our own words…mewmeeewwww…you get the idea. We know when we have done something good bt mom’s tone of voice…however reading the word is different…when mom calls me strange I know it means I’m wonderful. I know her so well.

    Shoko

    • So true, S. The tone of voice means a lot. Usually when Mom calls me by one of my alternate names she is giggling. That is a good thing!

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Cupcake, these pictures suggest you are keeping Mom on her toes – good job!

    • Thanks, S. I keep Mom on her toes for sure. If she’s not taking me somewhere, she’s rescuing me from myself.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. A name tells a lot about a person, dog, cat, etc. Sounds like your Mom has a lot to say about you!

  9. I’m sure mom thinks you are totally poetry in motion. You are definitely a riot, rockin’ and rollin’’ and twistin’ and hidin’ and stylin’ and climbin’. A world-wind of talent!

  10. No wonder your mom loves writing funny rhymes … she has funny you, and Cupcake, your photos are funny and adorable, too.

  11. Cupcake, you certainly are a riot! A constant source of inspiration to your mom, I should think! 🙂 And also love and fun and I’ll-just-sit-on-your-lap-and-keep-you-company. What mom could ask for more? ❤

    • Thanks, S! Mom couldn’t ask for more than that. Sometimes she tells me I’d better go and find a job, but I think she’s kidding. I hope she’s kidding. I have a feeling a job would interfere with my nap time. #notcool

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    That shelf that you are sitting on looks really fun, does it go round and round or side to side? I wish we had one here! ~rumbly purrs Linus Kitty

    • Yes, LK. The shelf is a lazy susan spinning shelf. Mom wouldn’t spin me, though. Ditto the spinning desk chair in her bedroom and the merry-go-round at the park. Apparently, I’m “dizzy enough” without spinning. Go figure.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Cupcake, I love a funny silly poem… especially if it has a twist! You are looking very festive in your Thanksgiving hat!

  14. Oh Cupcake…you really are hilarious (among many other fur-bulous things). Happy Thanksgiving you sweet little thing!

    • Thanks, M. Being hilarious is one of my main goals each day. Barring that, I’ll also work toward being fur-bulous. Thanks for noticing.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. MOL…you have the best way to express your words, Cupcake and your mom anticipates to them so easily….except of the spanking, I think that’s another…uh…let’s say…chapter…MOL 😀 Now, get on that piano and let the words start swinging, so I can start my singing 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Wednesday 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. You totally get me. Sometimes when I try to get on the piano, I play a song. With my face. Move over Paul McCartney.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Marty the Manx said:

    Hello Cupcake and Mom! We like all those except for that spanking one….ohhh….Hope you are both well and that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.
    Luvs
    Marty and the Gang

  17. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay wow that is kwite the pare of spektakuls yoo hav got their!!! did yoo borro them frum spicoli??? hay i hav got lots of nayms too like weerdo and goofball and not now dennis i am trying to sleep i do not no why hyoomans kant just pik wun naym for us dogs it mayks things so konfyoozing duznt it??? ok bye

  18. Your post made me laugh Cupcake!
    Mum has lots of special words for me too! Some of her favourites are “No,” “get off that,” “drop it” and “cut it out.”
    I hear them all the time so I know she really loves me 🙂
    Lots of licks, your new friend Morrie!

    • Hey, M. Sounds to me like we’re in the same boat, name-wise. Moms can be confusing (and confused) sometimes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. LOL, “sometimes spanking sounds like Bacon”…..omgosh, you made me laugh. I’ve got this love/less-love thing with some poetry. I sometimes find myself saying, “what?” or “I don’t get it”. I like rhymes that I can skip along with. Words that bounce together nicely in a timed fashion, like jump rope 😀 Basically I’m 8 years old in an grown-up body by the sounds of things, LOL.

    • You DO sound like an 8 year old in a grown-up body, Boomdee. But in the best way ever! Poetry words should ALWAYS skip and bounce. My 8 year old mom and i agree about that.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Hellooooooo Cupcake! Brilliant pictures. I sometimes get called silly sausage which I find very offensive. There is nothing silly about sausages. In fact, it’s a very serious topic.
    Monty and Chicken 🐾❤️🐾

  21. […] and straight-up stubbornness. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.