Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

thanks

Today, Mom and I are counting down about Thanksgiving. No surprise there, I guess – seeing as how it’s Thanksgiving week….

My countdown

3. Leftovers – I never get to eat turkey leftovers. Mom eats dinner at a fancy restaurant and apparently forgets I exist while she’s there… except when she spies on me through my Petzi Treat Cam on her phone. It gives me treats while she’s gone, but no turkey.

petzi

Drumstick, please….

2. Special Foods – Holiday time is filled with special foods. Like turkey, stuffing, potatoes, and… acorns. My friend Marg says her donkeys Joe and Smoke eat acorns all the time. I am not allowed. Apparently I am only a “donkey” when I get afraid and can’t move.

acorns2

1. Gratitude – There is so much gratitude in my heart, I would need 5 kabillion blog posts to express it all. I am grateful for our family, humanfriends, dogfriends, cyberfriends, treats, toys…

too manytoys

…therapywork, naps, cuddles, kisses, and car rides.

car

And that’s just for starters…

Mom’s countdown

3. Leftovers – When Mom’s list of thirty PiBoIdMo ideas is finished, some will make amazing stories, some will become poems, and some will be stale, dried up leftovers. It happens. Sometimes when Mom takes my picture, she has a few leftovers that don’t exactly make the cut.

Who turned off the lights?

Who turned off the lights?

2. Gratitude – There is so much gratitude in Mom’s heart, she would need 6 kabillion blog posts to express it all. She is grateful for our family, humanfriends, dogfriends, cyberfriends, treats, toys…

surface

…therapywork, naps, cuddles, kisses, car rides and ME!

Cupcake and Me

And that’s just for starters…

1. Butterball – ‘Nuff said.

butterball

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (63)

  1. We hope you have at least dome sort of turkey flavoured treaties Cupcake..would be a shame to starve your sweet self 🙂 and we hope your Thanksgiving is wonderful..we may not celebrate here (who knows what we have in comparison?) But we also are grateful for your lovely self and your Mum and for the lucky life we have..big hugs and loves Fozziemum xxx

  2. I cannot wait till Friday Riley is coming that will be our thanksgiving

  3. Oh Dear Sweet Cuppycake you do have a lot to be thankful for even if that “treat-o-matic” spy camera/treat dispenser is NOT honoring your order for a drumstick! Love all your photos………you are just adorable and maybe – just maybe – that “adorableness” will get you a little bit of leftover turkey from that fancy restaurant your Mom is going to on “turkey day”. Let’s hope so………I’m expecting my Mom to remember I exist too when it comes to bringing home leftovers!!!

    Love and Hugs, Sammy

  4. Sounds like things are getting ready for Thanksgiving at your house. Joe and Smoke do love their acorns. Cupcake, hope you get just a little something to do with all the good food around thanksgiving. You all have a wonderful week and a great Thanksgiving.

  5. please don’t eat that acorns… an oak tree will gow in your tummy and it looks not good when the branches come out of your ears… that’s what the vet told me, before he grabbed my 25 bucks for the anti-acorn-medecine :o)

    • Oh no! You mean that acorn warning is REAL?? Yikes. I thought Mom was just trying to scare me! I do NOT want branches coming out of my ears….. That would not be cute.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Cupcake, we’re most grateful, too, for your cyber-friendship. We wish we could send you some of our turkey – Mum thinks she bought one that’s too, too big, but at least she checked and it fits in the pan. We don’t think cyber-turkey will taste all that yummy, though. We’ll send happy thoughts for a wonderful day instead. And happy thoughts that none of your Mum’s ideas end up being leftovers. Jazmine & Chili

    • Thanks, J and C. In my opinion, there’s no such thing as a turkey that’s too big. I hope your mom is good at sharing…. Meanwhile, keep an eye out for any floor foods.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. And Charley and I are Thankful for having met you two in cyberspace and thank you again for posing so adorably in lots of my drawings. Happy Thanksgiving with lots of love from Ohio, xo Johanna

  8. That treat cam is awesome! Just jumped to the top of Eko and Penny’s wishlist.

  9. LovableLobo said:

    We are grateful for you, too, Cupcake! Happy Thanksgiving. Gobble gobble.

  10. Happy Thanksgiving, Cupcake. Archie shares your sentiments. He receives canned turkey dog food. But, I know he will be sitting nearby waiting for some dropped nibbles.

  11. Happy Thanksgiving both of you! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you over all this time!

    Linda

  12. Cupcake, we have so many thing to be thankful for also, and now I would be especially thankful for one of those Petzi Treat Cams! Before I even finished reading your blog I had Mom on-line looking for how I could get one. Would you like to trade a hot dog for your treat cam? Do you live in Illinois? I am here now and would be glad to come over and make the trade…. just sayin’. Nose pushes, your bestest friend, Lexi. 🙂

    • Thanks for the offer, L. I’m in NJ and most likely will be hot dog deprived as well as turkey starved. I hope you get a treat cam. It’s almost like having Mom at home with me. …almost.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. I am so thankful for you and your mom – you brighten my days with your wise words, your humor, your delightful photos and your love for each other 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving!!! ❤

    • Thanks, S. I like brightening days for all my favorite humans. Brightening is my favorite job! Also licking the floor….

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. This year our peeps are going somewhere else to eat turkey which means we won’t be getting any leftovers. Phooey!

  15. Sorry ’bout no turkey, dogfriend, but still. So much to be grateful for. You have the best Thanksgiving ever. 🐶❤️🍗👍🏼

  16. You and mom is such a beautiful couple Cupcake and once again such gorgeous photos of you. Don’t be sad about not getting turkey. That stuff is not healthy at all. I once ate just a little piece of turkey and never again. Yucky! The treats tastes way better. 😆

    Have a lovely Thanksgiving and have fun! 😀 ♥

  17. Happy Thanksgiving you two!!!

  18. I bet tummy rubs is up on that list too! At least it is for me.
    Happy Thanksgiving, Cupcake!
    Oh my mom said for me to tell you to tell your mom she’s grateful for her too.
    Wiggle, wiggle.
    Ginger

  19. What a heart warming post Cupcake. You and your Mom certainly have a special relationship

  20. Best to you all for a happy Thanksgiving!

  21. Happy Thanksgiving, Cupcake and Mom. 🙂

  22. Cupcake…. dying… a “donkey” when you are afraid to move! Gratitude is amazing. Turkey is overrated, it’s all about the homemade noodles. Have a very Happy Thanksgiving to you both!

  23. Shawnee the Shepherd said:

    OMD, no leftofurs fur you? Not even Merrick’s Thanksgiving Day Dinner just fur us dogs? At least I get that coz mom being a vegebullarian and all, there be no turkeys in the house.

  24. OH Cupcake, this is the bed bloggie ever. ALL Anipals need to be grateful and to be reminded occasionally to look beyond their noses…there are things to be grateful for the moment you open your eyes in the morning.

    Cupcake, is that you on Twitter I was speaking to yesterday?

  25. Happy Thanksgiving Cupcake and mom! I wish I had as many cookies as you have toys, Cupcake.

  26. We have so much to thank for, haven’t we Cupcake, even if we don’t celebrate it in the Netherland,,,but we do celebrate it with you and we are thankful to have you in our …blog lives. That Petzi thingie looks quite interesting btw 😉 Happy Pawkisses for a wonderful Thanksgiving 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. The Petzi was surprising and freaked me out a little at first. Mom practiced with me so I wouldn’t be scared when she talked to me through it. Now I am always happy to hear from her when she’s gone. Plus I like eating treats while I wait for her to come home.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Happy Belated Thanksgiving!

    And how well does the Petzi work? I have been considering getting one for Choppy, but am worried she won’t use it (or even worse, will get obsessed and never leave its side while I am at work, thus necessitating many, many treats from me).

  28. Awwww, Cupcake, I think I have a similarly strong longing for your piccies-leftovers as you feel for turkey ones! They are just fab!

  29. […] Gratitude – We are grateful that Mom won this lucky prize. Gratitude is a big part of every day, but this is a special week for giving […]

  30. […] Mom and I are counting down about […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.