Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Only the hand that erases can write the true thing.
 ~Meister Eckhart~

Erasing is easy when you’re a writer who uses the computer. Mom is all Tap. Tap. Tap. 

And bingo, things she doesn’t want in her story are gone for good. And replaced by something better. It’s important that writers don’t get too attached to the words they write because anything may need to go at any given time.

Some of Mom’s critique partners thought one part of her latest story was too mean for little kids. Mom took a deep breath and erased two whole paragraphs of meanness. Now the story is nicer.

Being nice is…. um… nice!

Mom had to erase our balcony flowers already.

‘Nuff said.

They’ve been replaced with something better (and more alive).

I’m glad erasing can’t happen to me. I’d have been gone for good a long time ago. Mom might have replaced me with a better doggie! Whenever she brushes me, she says, “Now you look pretty.” and “Maybe you’ll stop shedding all over the place.” and “I’m going to make a new dog out of all this hair and THROW YOU IN THE GARBAGE.” Gah! She can’t do that. Can she…?

Mom has to erase my furs from the floor and rugs all the time. Also my drool.

Eeeuuwwww!

And crumbs. And the spit marks I make when I lick the floor.

I don’t mind when she erases them. I can always make more.

And more.

And more…

 

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (59)

  1. no worries… no one can knit a whole dog just from hairs…and your mama loves you, no matter what ;o) but we are glad that someone invented the erase button… imagine in old times where we had ole writing instruments … all words we wanted to replace where still there even when we striked it out… as a monument of our fails… scary….

    • Monument of fails. Ugh! That sounds absolutely AWFUL, P. I am relieved that you said Mom can’t make a new doggie. I’m here for the long haul!

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. My bipeds are always saying they could make a new dog from the hair that comes out when they brush me! It would be a clever trick!

  3. Writing is all about magic like making things disappear and reappear BETTER…..my Mom remembers from when she wrote her books. I wish I could make my treats reappear as easy as words do. I think making another YOU out of your furs might be interesting – you’d have a twin to play with! She’d never be YOU though….YOU are special!

    Love, Teddy

    • Thanks, T. There are a lot of magical things about writing. And yes, the “reappearing better” is an important one!

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Reminds me of a quote by Blaise Pascal, “I only made this letter longer because I had not the leisure to make it shorter.”

    • Ha! That is a great quote, C. Shortening her work is always part of Mom’s process. It’s a picture book thing…

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Mom would never erase you, pretty girl… your slobber, yes. You. No. ❤️🐶🐾

    • Thanks, G. That is reassuring. Plus I think she’s too busy erasing slobber to bother erasing me! Thank goodness…

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Cupcake, sure looks like you are so busy keeping that Mom working for you. You all have a super day.

  7. OhMyGosh the floor… funny! I remember when we had a furry four-leg in the house and there was always litter bits on the hardwoods! Your Mom loves you, Cupcake… now worries there. Oh, the flowers!… Exactly why we don’t have flowers. The new live flowers are very pretty and the color is pretty, too!

    • Thanks, Pix. I think floors are delicious. Mom thinks I’m weird. So far our flowers are still alive. Paws crossed. We’ve been here 6 months and Mom has bought TEN plants to keep the balcony looking pretty. #blackthumb

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. chesterspaniel said:

    Ghostwriter can relate to that. Less is more.

    Oh, and if your mom can make a whole other doggie out of your shed hair, then my groomer Miss Jacquie must have about 87 of me running around her place! Yipes! I have an appointment next Monday! I’ll be sure to ask her.

    • OMGoodness, C. Miss Jacqui must have hundreds and hundreds of leftover fur doggies at her place. Check the basement. Bring your camera. I want to see them/

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. That is a lot of hair to come off of a small dog, Cupcake. You ought to see how much hair is always laying around OUR house!!

    • I can imagine, A. Your house will be Fur-Central for LOTS of doggies’ hair. Mom said if she brushes me for 6 hours, the same amount of hair will continue to come off the whole time. It’s a miracle I’m not bald.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. HAHAHA! You’re forever providing the household with wet spots eh ;)?

    • I can’t help it, J. I keep tasting the floor. It’s delicious! I wish Mom could taste it. Then she would understand.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. That is a cute Halloween dress, Cupcake….I hope Mom forgets about a halloween something for me. I really do. Boomer

  12. Frankie and Ernie said:

    Don’t ‘cha just HATE when the Spit Marks… TATTLE on you? We are really GLAD that YOU will not be Erased.

  13. Thanks for bringing a smile to my face, Cupcake! Can never erase that!

  14. Lady always tells Phod she could make another Phod with his . He thinks she is gonna replace him.

    • Let’s hope we’re both wrong about that, L. I think Mom and Lady just have vivid imaginations and crazy ideas. *gulp*

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Interesting thoughts on erasing — or letting go of something you like in your story. Love the new costume, Cupcake!

  16. Kitty fur is very abundant around here….want some? You could make a part dog, part cat monster!

    Shoko and Kali

    • OMGoodness, S and K. A part cat part dog monster would be GREAT for Halloween! Just think of all the treats we would get!

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. You must have read the how to lick the floor page from the Elsa’s dog manual, Cupcake. Although she doesn’t shed, you guys could be twins on floor licking. What’s up with that?!

  18. Snorts and rolls with piggy laughter. Don’t worry my beauty – she could never erase you. You bring her sanity. She just doesn’t tell you that while she is writing. ❤ Sending ya'll hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks, B. That does make me feel a lot better. I’m on board with Mom erasing the spit and furs, but I don’t want to be erased!

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. MOL…I think without you there’s no story, so I’m sure you will not be erased, Cupcake…oh, and don’t erase your mom, in case you have thought about that… 😀 I bet that floor of you taste like magic…MOL 😀 Pawkisses for a wonderful weekend 🙂 ❤

  20. Is there a link for me to follow you (email notices)? I keep missing your posts.

    • Sure, MJ! On the right hand side between Mom’s ebook and my Instagram you can click to follow by email. Welcome!

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay wow yore mama kan erayse meenness??? boy has she got her wurk kut owt for her theez days!!! do not wurry tho she wil never ever erayse yoo!!! she mite wipe up yore drool off the floor tho!!! ok bye

  22. And more! I’m pretty sure Choppy has an endless supply of dog drool and fur for us to take care of. It just means we never forget about her, even when she isn’t in the immediate vicinity.

  23. You are so cute, Cupcake! I know you probably wish you could help your mom out in cleaning up after yourself. You’re such a sweetie! 🙂

  24. Thank heavens for backspacing! I’d wear down a gazillion erasers otherwise. LOL! Don’t worry Cupcake, your mom will never erase you.

  25. […] Licked – There’s pretty much nothing in a 10-mile radius I have not licked. I am a floor-licker […]

  26. […] it’s fair game to be tweaked, tightened, talked through, and sadly – sometimes, tossed. But having a new story is always good, even if it comes to a tragic […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.