Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Word Count

Mom understands word count. It is what it is, and it can’t be messed with. 500 words means 500 words. Under a thousand is not 1,152. I think that must be difficult for her. For one thing, she HATES numbers. And for another, she LOVES words. Lots and lots and lots of words.

Mom says, “Ugh this has to be cut.” and “There’s too much jibber-jabber in this story.” and “Why are there 17 toys on the couch?” 

See what I mean about numbers?  I’m sure there are only 14 or 15 toys here.

Last week, Mom sent my picture to a TV show. I’m not a diva or anything, but we’re hoping I get to be on television. She was allowed to have some words in the picture, but the word count was three. THREE! Like 1, 2, 3 words. Whoa. That is one small word count.  

Ho. Ho. Woof. Merry Christmas, everybody!

Comments on: "Word Count" (5)

  1. My person says she uses a computer to do her word counts, but it’s not very good at counting my toys. I bet she counted wrong too. Merry Christmas!

  2. Sometimes less is best. It’s tough, I know. Jibber, jabber, yackey, yack, blah, blah, blah is so much fun! Mom and I did a ton of that yesterday. The word count must have been off the charts! Merry Christmas to both of you from all of us.

  3. […] started. She wrote and wrote and wrote and wrote. Then she said, “I have written over 500 words and I’m nowhere near finished.” and “I feel like I’m drowning.” and […]

Leave a Reply

