Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Plan B

We all need a Plan B sometimes. Mom had a new story going strong. But she got stuck. So she skipped a few lines and started the same story over again a different way. She liked it better! Plan B success. Then she got stuck again. She sat over it for a little while staring at the computer. Tomorrow, she is moving on to something else. I guess that’s Plan C. She’ll begin a new story and forget about this one for now.

abc

Sometimes, I need a Plan B, too. When Mom was walking with me in the field, we noticed that the soccer nets were all brand new. We walked closer to check them out. One of us got a little too close.

IMG_3490

I used to get caught like a tuna in the old nets a lot, so we stopped walking there. Mom said, “Again? Really??” and “Is your brain THAT tiny?” and “We’re done here.”

But I wasn’t “done here” so I gave it another shot. This time I tried to bite my way out.

#netfail

#netfail

In a little while, Mom showed me how to walk around the side of the net so I wouldn’t get stuck.

Freedom!

Freedom!

I wish I could show her how not to be stuck in her story… Before she gets to Plan Z. Oh! I know! How about a dog story?

IMG_2954

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Plan B" (63)

  1. Caught like a tuna, LOL…you’re way cuter than a stinky ol’ tuna. Who leaves soccer nets in the middle of a field anyways. This could easily happen to anyone right? Well, maybe just you and me Cupcake, I’m am an accident waiting to happen xo

    • Thanks, Boomdee. That’s a good question. Why WAS that net there waiting to get me? I mean – I could see through it, so why couldn’t I walk through it? #puzzling

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Katie Isabella said:

        LOVE that rational Cupcake! I agree with you. What in the world could have caused you not to get through it? Impeccable;e logic demonstrated there!

  2. I think it would be entirely appropriate if you applied for a job as the goalkeeper. You obviously have a natural affinity with the net. Chicken says that the white netting suites you, and would make a wonderful wedding veil. 😉
    Monty🐾

  3. hannahandlucy said:

    Ooops you got stuck in the football net Cupcake and we hope your Mom managed to untangle you.

  4. UHOH……getting stuck is no fun…..with writing OR with nets! I think “Plan C” would be “C” for CUPCAKE!!!!! YAY!

    Love, Sammy

  5. I hope you got not stuck in the inter-net Cupcake :o) Sometimes it is good to have a plan B and a plan c… c like chance of new beginning… and that often helps when we get stuck in an inter-net :o)

    • ANY kind of stuck would be better than internet stuck, E. Computer trouble puts Mom over the edge, mentally, if you know what I mean. She doesn’t handle that stuff well…

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. fredrieka said:

    Stories are like that. Momwithoutpaws has one chapter to go on a book she started in June. She said “I will wait till winter” I guess winter is her plan B

  7. Cupcake, you brought a smile to our faces!

  8. Getting stuck is NEVER fun! Maybe a story about a dog who fishes? Those nets have to be good for something 🙂

    • A fishing dog story! Oh yeah, M. Mom will add that to her list of ideas. She’ll dedicate it to you if it goes anywhere! Thanks!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Charley always wonders why the put up those nets in the middle of a nice field anyway?? She finds them highly suspicious and walks a mile around them! You were a brave puppy to go so close…but a good thing mom was there to the rescue. Good luck to mom with plan B!!! xo Johanna

  10. Oh Cupcake..well plan B for better maybe…plan C for creative..maybe though you went for a plan F for fail with the nets 🙂 loves Fozziemum xx

  11. When we get stuck, we take a walk (avoiding all nets). Many times, not thinking about what we are stuck on, helps us get unstuck.

    • Taking a walk is the solution to a LOT of problems! And I am always on board with anything that involves walks and not thinking…. Wait. What?

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. I would LOVE a dog story!!! Plus I love your collar AND plans that begin with ‘b’!

    • I SO agree, G. Dog stories are the only stories we need. Especially the kind with a happy ending. Why would anybody write anything else?

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Soccer nets and canines…bad combo. Walking around the park sans netting is a better idea. Is that Plan D? 😉

  14. Your mom has the ideal plan for her writing. You are just like Cow Kitty and me. We got tangled in the pea netting at first. Mom got us out acouple of times and then Cow Kitty caught on and pretended he was caught but he wasn’t, he was just foolin’ us.

    Shoko

    • Some furkids will do anything for a little extra attention. ….um…. Well that’s what I’ve HEARD, anyway…

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Cupcake you got stuck but you’re out now. It happens. Golden thoughts coming your way.

  16. Those net photos are priceless. “Everything is fine, this is going exactly how I planned it.”

  17. A dog story would be cool. Getting stuck is tough, no matter what kind of stuck it is. Those kind of nets are not the best thing to leave on the field!

    • Thanks, Pix. Sometimes (a lot of times) kids, teenagers, and grown-ups play soccer there, so the nets are used often (when they’re not trying to kill me). I used to be afraid of the kicking sound soccer players make when they kick the ball (Mom does not want to imagine why), but I have gotten much better about it and do not have to be carried past the games anymore.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. aaww beautiful. You are so right. Back up plans are a must! Your mom amazes us here and we just know she will get over this hurdle and move right along to another amazing story. XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks, B. That’s exactly what we’re hoping. She keeps writing, no matter what. I don’t think she can take a hint.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. It’s always good to have options! Your Mom will become unstuck and BINGO, a great story will be born. Mama is always hearing writers saying that they don’t know where their characters are going to take them. XXXX Your pal Skyler

    • Thanks, S. Mom says that too. When someone asks her how her latest story will end, she always says, “I don’t know yet…”

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. I so understand getting stuck, Cupcake! I got caught in a live trap mom was trying to catch a cat in. It was the cat food’s fault, as you well understand. It’s that darn nets fault…you were just standing there looking at it when it rose up and pounced.

    Boomer

    Linda

  21. Choppy would say that a dog story is never a bad idea!

  22. Has mom ever thought of putting THAT story down and starting a new one? That might be plan D, but I sometimes find if I stop focusing on it, it starts rolling around in my head again.

    I can’t tell you how much I loved #netfail I laughed and laughed over that one.

    • Thanks, J. Mom puts stories down all the time. Then picks them up and puts them down and picks them up and outs them down and…. It’s exhausting.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Mr. N votes for the dog story. Good job trying to get out of that net!

  24. Dog stories are our favorite! Hope your Mom becomes unstuck soon!

  25. My chuckle for the day! Cupcake, I just don’t know how you put up with your mom and the situations she puts you in — when the net should be around her. Yes she needs to write about you and you should think about going on strike until she does!

  26. I’m glad Plan B worked for both you and your mom! 😀

  27. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay oh no see those net trawlers ar nuthing but truble!!! eeven wen they ar on dry land!!! just imadjin how menny soccer players hav ben trappd in those things and ended up in cans of tuna!!! ok bye

    • That’s pretty terrifying, Dennis. Next time Mom eats a tuna sandwich, she will check for pieces of soccer jersey in there…. Yikes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Oh, Cupcake, did you say tuna…MOL 😀 Pawkisses for a wonderful day 🙂 ❤

  29. I’m late to visit be so happy I saved your post. Glad you got outta that net. How’s the Mom doin on Plan C?

  30. Those nets look like they need to be watered….. -The Collies

Leave a Reply

