Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Stuckness

“Do you ever get writer’s block?”

block

People ask Mom that question a lot. Writer’s block means a writer is stuck and can’t write.

Mom doesn’t get writer’s block. When one of her stories gets stuck, she works on a different story, just so she can keep writing. Or she goes to the bookstore and reads a bunch of books.

book pile

Or she helps a writing group friend fix up one of their stories. Or she writes a poem. Or she fixes one of her own stories. When it’s writing time, it’s writing time. No stuckness allowed.

time

Tick. Tick. Tick. Is it almost time to play?

Sometimes, though, writing time just doesn’t come. At this time of year, there’s lots to do, so writing time can get lost in the busy-ness of shopping, wrapping, lunch with friends, photo shoots, and decorating. She’s not stuck, she’s living her life. That’s where stories come from, after all. And busy-ness doesn’t last forever.

sneaky under the tree

I’ve been kind of busy, too…

Sometimes, I get stuck. Whenever I pass by the soccer field near my house, I can’t resist sticking my tiny head through the net. I do it every time we get close enough. I know Mom will get me out. Eventually.

net

Put down the camera and unstick me!

When Mom wants to make the bed each morning, I stay stuck right in the middle. I know Mom will chase me out.

naughty on the bed

When I work at the library for Read to a Pet Night, I am stuck on my Park-It Mat waiting for somebody to read me a story.

parkit

I know Mom will give me treats for being a good girl.

cookie please

I don’t let the stuckness bother me. Stuckness happens, but it doesn’t last forever. Somebody always comes.

reading

Comments on: "Stuckness" (61)

  1. Hey there, Cupcake. I love your Charley Brown tree. You look really good next to i and also in your reading outfit. Merry Christmas. Lady Caroline

  2. Oh Cupcake if I saw you stuck in the middle of STUCKNESS I’d be there in a second to unstick you! I’d rescue you so you could be on your way, spreading your smile and CUTENESS everywhere! Mom remembers writers block but like your Mom, she would just work on something ELSE – or switch to drawing/painting for a while until the STUCKNESS became UNSTUCK! I love your Christmas tree…….

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. I guess we’re all fighting stuckness one way and another. I’ll remember that when I’m stuck in the net like an unlucky trout.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Oh Cupcake..Mum has the right idea..no need for stuck when you an shift 🙂 i do the same thing..work on one image get stuck move to another and you know all that shuffling around actually helps 🙂 although beware butterfly nets my sweet girl! you have to be the most adorable gal in blogville ..always sweet always willing to help and always dress to kill ;0 Loves Fozziemum xxx

  4. I like the idea to go to te book store and to read the stories of other people when we have no clue what to do with our own. I will try it next time when Hell-o is the only word we can type before we get stuck :o)

  5. Cupcake, you are so darn cute and we love all your outfits. We hope the mom doesnt’t get stuck too often. Glad you get some nice treats. You are a very good girl.

  6. Cupcake, I will tell you right here and right now. My mommy is stuck on YOU! Yep. She loves seeing you and reading about your adventures and this is another that makes us both smile. xxoo

  7. Oh my sweet clever cookie, I would not mind being stuck with you anywhere! xo Johanna

  8. hannahandlucy said:

    You are a cute little dog Cupcake – we love to see your happy little face.
    Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx

  9. You always make me laugh Cupcake. I just love the way you describe everything. I am glad mom doesn’t get stuck and that she is there for you when you get stuck. LOL! I do know I am ‘stuck on you’ and can’t get enough of the beautiful photos mom takes of you. 😀 ♥

  10. So much wisdom for a little dog! Happy holidays and happy writing, Cupcake and Genevieve.

  11. I love, Love, LOVE that last photo! You go girl!

    Linda

  12. Writing is a lot like getting stuck in a soccer net. Both require a lot of wiggling – of one’s mind or one’s butt.

    • You got it right, W. Whenever Mom tries to unstick me from the net, she always says the word, “STAND STILL.” Wiggling is always my go-to solution.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Frankie and Ernie said:

    Cupcake…. we LOVE your TREE and you look so pretty in your lovely Dress.

  14. You’re very lucky to have mom to unstick you. And mom is so full of ideas that stuck is probably not an option. You guys are made for each other. 🐶❤️

  15. Oh, Cupcake, watch out for those nets! You’re so cute and helpful to your mom. I know she appreciates you bunches! Hey, my dog, Brownie, made it into my latest painting! 🙂

  16. Cupcake and Cupcakes Mom, we LOVE your unstuck blog. Now I have to think about if I get stuck. Hmmm. Maybe I will sleep on it. Lots of Christmas love, Lexi.

    • Getting stuck isn’t fun. Be careful, L. Once when I first came here to live, I got stuck behind the big chair in the living room. I didn’t make a sound. I just waited for Mom to come and help me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Cupcake, always good to have someone that loves us to get us “unstuck”… yep. That dress you are wearing while laying on the Park-It Mat… that dress might be most favorite. Love your Charlie Brown tree.. ♥

    • Thanks, Pix. My clothing designer named fetchdogfashions made that dress especially for me. I think gingerbread men is my color…

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. It doesn’t last forever so long as you have someone to get you out of that net – that looks like a mess!

    • It IS a mess, S and C. That’s why Mom thought I’d avoid it after the first time I got caught. But I stick my head in every single time. Apparently, it defies explanation.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Tell your mommy we have many of the same figurines as she in our curio cabinets. 🙂

  20. Hey there Cupcake, you’re looking as adorable as ever! I get writer’s block and bursts- but since I illustrate a lot of my work it works out really well. I’ll get a writer’s burst and write as much as I can well into the night- and then I’ll get writers block and I’ll spend time illustrating the pieces I’ve written. It works out pretty well!

    • That sounds like a perfect setup, S. Drawing can pass the time and even give you new ideas. Mom draws like a 3 year old, but even still, she drew 100 pictures in her sketchbook for her New Years resolution last year.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Aha! I was going to say mom needed to post a photo of you in the soccer net in tomorrow’s post. 🙂

    This is really good advice. For the longest time I haven’t worked on my book, then a few weeks back I started again, editing it this time. I make myself do so many pages per week day and give myself the weekend off. I never really thought to work on something else, (you live and learn.)

    This week the editing has taken a back seat because of the busy-ness of the season, but I’ll be back to it again and I’ll heed Mom’s advice.

    • Busy-ness happens. And giving yourself the weekend off is a good idea. Mom only mind-writes on the weekend.

      Of course Mom took a hundred pictures of me while I was gasping for air in the soccer net. She said maybe I will learn. But guess what. I didn’t!

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. Cupcake. I love your red skirt and top…matches your eyes. Wait, that wasn’t what I meant. The red brings out your eyes…that doesn’t sound right either…we know you have eyes. Love the skirt and top!

    Nose rubs,

    Shoko

  23. This is all true. Stuckness doesn’t last forever. Once, I went behind the sofa which I’m not suppose to do. I got stuck. All mom saw was my big butt in the air with my legs running. She laughed. Okay she laughed a lot. But then she unstuck me. XOXO – Bacon

    • Moms are great helpers when we get into a bind. The laughing and the picture taking is another issue entirely…. 🙂

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. We’re glad the stuckness doesn’t last long – for either one of you! 🙂

  25. It’s good to know that someone will always come to the rescue, Cupcake!

    Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year!

  26. That’s a good thing to know! It’s nice to always have someone to rescue you from the net. Happy Holidays!

  27. Cupcake, I think with someone like you around, no-one will ever go stuck 😉 That’s a lovely Christmas tree, my furriend and how we love your dress and cute little face. Pawkisses for a wonderful Christmastime 🙂 ❤

  28. […] can refuse to do what she wants them to do. BAD things can […]

  29. I get stuckness all the time! I like your red dress Cupcake!

  30. […] I need  Plan B, too. When Mom was walking with me in the field, we noticed that the soccer nets were all brand new. We walked closer to check them out. One of us got a little too […]

Leave a Reply

