Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Going and Staying

Mom has been going out a lot lately. And I have been staying home a lot.

....bye...

….bye…

Last week, she visited her old school for Career Day.

career-day-welcome-page

nurse

She talked to thirty 2nd graders about being an author. They liked when she said she went to work in her pajamas.

Author in PJs

They laughed when she said she wishes she could tear up each rejection letter, jump up and down on it, run to her room, and slam the door. They said, “Eeeewwww” when she told them ideas are everywhere, and if they see a dead squirrel squished in the street, they can write a story about it.

squirrel

Wait. What?

A bunch of the kids said they like to write stories and may want to be authors when they grow up.

writing

This week, Mom visited a 5th grade class in a different school to talk about being an author.

...bye... SERIOUSLY??

Again? SERIOUSLY??

She told them about the pajamas and the rejections and the squished-squirrel stories.

 

hawthorne3

Mom also told them how their teacher used to be her student and how she brought a praying mantis egg case to class and how it HATCHED in their classroom and how hundreds of mantis babies overran the library corner and how Mom had nightmares for weeks.

mantis

Mom wrote a story about the classroom egg case and it was published in Humpty Dumpty Magazine. I guess that’s worth a few nightmares.

photo

I did not go to either one of the school visits, but I did have a few nightmares of my own.

sleeping2

They are named the LawnGuys, the Mailman, the FedExDude, and OutsideCats. I had some good dreams, too…

101 treats

Comments on: "Going and Staying" (71)

  1. I like your mumma’s pyjamas; I wouldn’t mind some of those myself. Personally, I think everyone would be more productive if they could go to work in their pjs … and take their dogs with them too!
    MJ xx

  2. Genis LeyNel said:

    Love this post and the “Show and Tell Surprise” story.

  3. YIKES pray mantis freak mom out a little – she knows they are harmless butt that isn’t the point, we’re not actually sure what the point is butt she doesn’t like them in the house.
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W and S. Our moms must be cousins. Mom is not a fan of bugs at all! The bigger they are, the more they scare her.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Shawnee the Shepherd said:

    She has been abandoning you all those times? It do be an outrage and I think you could file a complaint with PETA ofur this. My mom used to work in her jammies but now she gets all fancy schmancy dressed up and leaves ME (we could file a class action soot) but I gets all worried that she be leaving without any pants on. Then she puts her black pants on right before she walks out the door. Wassup with that?

    • Ha! I know wassup, S. My mom is a last minute dresser, too. Something about having too many black clothes to have a white dog. And also she says, “Get offa me.” a lot.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. I love the way your mom told this kids about her job… I’m sure they all want to be authors once… the pj-work has something :o) I totally agree with you for the fed ex dude… this guy must be a boxer before he became fedex-minator… he always gives our door bell a knock out punch :o)

    • Thanks, E. Your FedEx guy sounds tough. Mine is sneaky. He thinks I don’t see him across the street and down the block. But I DO! And I sound the alarm every time.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. We has nightmares about praying mantis too. Especially after we found out they eat hummingbirds. We are sorry your Mom has been leaving you alone, but we thinks it was for a good cause.

  7. Cupcake needs to start writing about the mailman, fedex dude and cats! Fun post!

    • Thanks, R. I have wanted to write about those guys, but my fear gets in the way. I’m pretty sure they’re trying to kill me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Oh Cupcake, that’s nice that your Mom has had fun on her school visits but I guess having all those “introoooders” bothering you at home when you were alone was a bit scary. You’re safe inside your house though – and as long as you have a nice nap spot, some treats, and your toys, I’m sure you’ll be JUST FINE!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. That is reassuring. Maybe I need one of your tents. I’ll feel a lot better if Mom ever gets any of her dog stories published so I can go along…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. I think it is great that your Mom goes and shares the love she has for you with the children she loves to write for! Some of the children’s books we have reviewed on our blog have been our favorites more than some for adults! Children’s book authors are truly special! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • Thanks, D. Mom sure does love those picture books. And the kids that go along with them. She keeps reading piles and piles of them.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. fredrieka said:

    busy busy I hate when momwithoutpaws is to busy busy, sigh well at least it is warm and I can lay in the sun while she works in her garden

    • Thanks for understanding, F. I think I’m safer inside, so in case of danger, I can hide behind the big chair. Plus, Mom can watch me on her surveillance camera.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Cupcake I love seeing your Mom’s name above the little praying mantis! We have a thing for praying mantis here on the Tiny Ten. This is such a sweet post… makes me smile this morning.

    • Thanks, P. It is always kind of exciting when Mom’s name is on a piece of writing. Mantises would be better one at a time. Nature needs them.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. I think the students would be even more impressed if they knew that really good writers ( like your mom) have doggies (or kitties) as assistants and muses. Lady Caroline

    • Thanks Lady C. I do what I can to help Mom. Mostly I stare at her. She says the word, “That’s helpful.” You’re welcome…

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Hey? I’m in my PJ’s this very moment. Maybe I should think of a career in writing, tehe. You’re so cute and smart Cupcake, I’m sure you could have a career doing a lot of things. You could carry the Jello into rooms where the kids had their tonsils out…..that would be awesome for them. xo Boomdee

    • Ha! You are halfway to being an author, Boombdee. Great idea for my nursing career. The only problem is – I’m afraid of Jello. Maybe pudding….

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. I think your mom should write a book about me and. We’re cute, squishy, lovable. Yep, all the makings of a solid character in a children’s book. Oh, maybe Lexi and all of our other friends could join too!

  15. Not all heroes wear capes. Some wear pjs!

  16. Hey Cupcake, tell your Mom Sam & I love the PJ’s! Being an author and getting rejection letters is kind of like finding pearls in oysters…not all of them have them, but you keep looking (writing). And then one day you’ll have a full strand (big fat book deal)! Keep up the good work and go easy on the Fed Ex and mail guys, ok? 😉

    • Thanks, Tails. Mom keeps looking for pearls like crazy! The dangerous FedEx guy might be looking for pearls too. That’s why he keeps coming back and lurking in the hallway. *shiver*

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Brilliant post, just think of the mega advice your mom gives to the little people, if she inspired one small dude to write that would be amazing

    • Thanks, Mrs. P. That’s exactly how Mom feels about all the kids she taught who grew up to be teachers. She thinks it’s because of her! Let her dream on….

      Love and licks,
      C

      • LOL let your Mom have her dreams, & don’t forget behind every great Mom is a K9 pulling the strings
        Woof n’ stuff
        Big O

  18. Boy, your mom sure does get about…she helps the young’uns a lot….good for her. I would stay home too and sleep and show my outfits off, if I was you.

    Hugs,

    Shoko

    • Thanks, S. If Mom would take me with her, I’d taste the whole audience. Kids are delicious. They taste like dirt and gum.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Frankie and Ernie said:

    WE are SORRY that you did not get to go with your mom…. EITHER TIME… BUTT Glad that she got to do an author day presentation to each grade…. Did the kidlets get to BUY some of your mom’s Books???

    • Thanks, boys. Mom signed and sold a TON of books at one of her recent school visits, but not these two. They were just get in, talk, laugh, have fun, and get out.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. I SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Understand, Cupcake! Seems my folks leave LOTS also. And I really can’t stand the UPS guy…he always tries to kick me. The other people, Mail Main and FedEx I love barking them down the lane-they like me I always get a dog cookie!

    Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • Your UPS guy KICKS? Yikes! Mine just delivers packages, but I’m sure he has plans to kill me first chance he gets.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Sweet Cupcake…any sick person would heal quickly with a healthy dose of laughter when you appear in your neat uniform!! Luckily mom is more like a busy bee than the scary praying mantis! Charley sends her love, she is having trouble with the same nightmares. xo Johanna

    • Thanks J and C. Happy thoughts and cuddles can take away the nightmares. Busy moms are not fun…

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. LovableLobo said:

    As always, a very fun post, Cupcake!

  23. This is so cute! I love your post and your little furry friend there

  24. I think you and Choppy have similar bad dreams…

  25. Clowie said:

    I’ve had that same dream! I was a little disappointed when I woke up.
    It’s wonderful that you mom is inspiring young people to think about writing.

  26. Mom is so right. Some of my best blog posts are from something I’ve seen on my walk. And I have taken a picture of a dead squirrel, I just haven’t written that story…yet. 😉

    I’m glad you have some good dreams to go along with your nightmares.

  27. It sounds like mom was an inspiration to some kids, like you and praying mantis at to her. (mantises?)
    That cookie dish looks yummy!

  28. Oh, I wished I was one of her students, Cupcake, I would have had the best time of my life with that jumping creatures 😀 We had a great time reading your blog again, you’re a great story teller too, Cupcake…well, that must be running in the family… 😉 I think it’s time for a pajama pawty…we’re still in it too 😀 Pawkisses for a Great Day 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. I’m pretty sure you’d be braver than me in a swarm of bugs. When I see a bug, I jump up and down like popcorn popping. Mom calls it the word, ” Your no help.”

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. Marty the Manx said:

    Your Mom is so fun! The Praying Mantis story made Mom giggle. She says she used to read Humpty Dumpty Magazine when she went to the dentist office. Hope you are both doing well Cupcake.
    Luvs
    Marty

  30. Cupcake, You have a great Mom even if she leaves you home sometimes. It is so neat that she write books for children. Just think how much joy she brings to them. She needs to take you to school sometimes to do a show and tell with you. You all have a super week end.

    • Thanks, M. I would be an AMAZING show and tell. I would also kiss and cuddle and snuggle and slurp. Amazing!

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. how could your Mom not take you to school?

    • I know! Right?? Apparently, I am “unpredictable” and “don’t know how to conduct myself” and I’m a “loose cannon.” Can you imagine?

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. Sounds like fun! Enjoy those treats! 😀

  33. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, you are adorable and very wise as well. I am afraid of the same things!!

  34. […] For 35 years, she didn’t need an excuse because she was a teacher. […]

  35. […] And I try to play gently with my toys and not accidentally rip their heads off. Mom tries her best waaaay more than I do. She has to! That’s what writers do. She writes, revises, submits, mind writes, edits, gets ideas, rewrites, reads, critiques, does author visits… […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.