Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

5

Today’s five words are about reading. Writers do reading all the time – out loud, in their heads, on the Kindle, at the library, on the iPad…. ALL the time.

IMG_6397

Dogs do not.

IMG_4411

Push me!

 1. Picture Books – Mom reads 200 picture books a year. There’s usually a pile of library picture books on the piano bench at home and a pile of bookstore picture books on Mom’s table at Barnes and Noble.

IMG_6465

2. Goodreads – Mom keeps track of the books she reads on her Goodreads Challenge.

2015 goodreads3. Drooling – Drooling on the books is “not cool.” But how can I help it? They smell delicious! …Like kids’ hands. And dirt. And gum.

IMG_6788

4. Writer’s Eye – When Mom reads, she tries to do it with a writer’s eye. She pays attention to what works, how it works, and why it works. She also notices what stinks, what’s boring, what’s dumb, what’s a waste of time, and what makes no sense. She hopes it’ll help her be a better writer.

IMG_6793

5. Studying – Yesterday, I studied some reading, which said the word, “No Barking.”

IMG_6783

I was exhausted from reading so hard, so I parked myself on the street for a quick nap. Mom said, “I guess you just can’t read. Can you?”

Well, I'm not barking. Am I?

Of course I can read – I’m not barking. Am I?

 

 

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (65)

  1. Ok, that was A LOT to take in! Butt what stuck with us most was the thingy about kids books smelling good…yup, that is what we are taking away from this post.
    BIG licks,
    Wally & Sammy

  2. Oh Cupcake – street napping season is in full swing huh? YAY! Not sure why your Mom said you weren’t following the rules – it plainly says NO BARKING……then again I’m not very good at spelling!

    Hugs, Sammy

  3. of course you can read… there was no Barking :o) I like it to read, but I makes me hungry so I ate a button of my mommas reader :o(

  4. You are a very cute and very very funny dog. And no, you did not bark. Haha. Good girl.

  5. Another great adventure of Cupcake wow

  6. Warm pavement is perfect for sunbathing. Eko and Penny like parking their too, but since they’re not cars I think it’s ok.

  7. If cheldren’s books smell like kids then I want to go to the children’s library!

  8. Hey Cupcake, your mom is one smart lady! I am trying hard to master #4; it really seems quite relevant. ~ Sam & Monika

    • Thanks, S and M. I see what you mean about item #4. There’s a lot to it. And there’s even more when Mom tries NOT to make those mistakes herself!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Oh Cupcake..what would a road marking be without a sweet girl plonked on it! Summer must be on it’s way..reading so many books is great..i wish i had more time to read…i have pulled out the Folk if the Faraway Tree and have been trying to find the time…to read…urghh..i am off to bed..maybe a quick read first..and i KNOW it doesn’t stink either..literally or figuratively 🙂 loves Fozziemum xx

  10. I love your dress Cupcake and the picture of you on the swing is priceless. You sure do a lot to as your mom’s muse. Many ideas came to me just watching you my friend.

    (((Shoko)))

    • Thanks, S. I think I am very inspiring for Mom. Sometimes she gets mixed up and calls it naughty or stubborn. But I know what she means.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. You two are some of my faves in the blogging world!!!!

  12. Cute post. I have a stack of library books on my piano bench all of the time. Wish I had your discipline to record everything I read on GoodReads. I’s sporadic. Do you only read PBs, or do you read other books too? There are a lot of books I read for pleasure, but never review.

    • Thanks, P. Mom is consistent about reading and rating picture books (just stars – no reviews). She also reads YA, MG, and grown up best sellers. She’s more sporadic about listing and rating them, though.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. So many rules! Good job on the “no barking”!

  14. No barking…Cupcake, can you??? Drooling on books…Charley licks them, like they are ice creams. And there are books everywhere too in her house..she once got me a little mad when she ate the spine of a quite rare edition of an Agatha Christie…oh well, Charley can hug and cuddle, That book could not and I found it for next to nothing, right? And I think you look the part in those glasses!
    you do a good job in supporting your mom, sweety!

    • Thanks, J. Charley has the right idea. She is tasting the delicious kid-hands. Sometimes they taste like glue. And cookies. Think back – I bet you touched something delicious last time you read the Agatha Christie book. She HAD TO eat it! You left her no choice…

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. I keep meaning to make a list of books I read but haven’t gotten to it yet. Maybe next year! You’re so adorable plopped down on the sign!

    • Thanks! Adorable is a great look for me. Mom thought I was adorable, too, but by accident, she called it lazy.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Frankie and Ernie said:

    OH SO Cute, Cupcake… WE are HOOOOOOOGE readers here on the hill.

  17. *giggle* No you were not barking Cupcake. I think being a professional writer is hard and takes like a ton of time. Glad your Mom makes time to keep you in all those cute clothes!

    • Thanks, S. Don’t kid yourself. Mom only writes for an hour a day. The rest of the time is playtime. At least that’s how it seems to me….

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. I wish there was a ‘No Barking’ sign at my curb so my neighbours would bark somewhere’s else. I always have to bark away from my house and got a barking ticket just the other day. Ruff day to be sure ;p

    On the other paw, where you napping in the middle of the road in that instagram photo? LOL. When the need to relax takes over, there’s no denying it xo tummy rubs! B

    • Thanks, B. You totally get me. When the street feels warm and toasty, I have to feel it all over me. I’m sorry you got a Barking Ticket. Mom says I’m lucky the mailman can’t give out Barking Tickets!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  19. Oh Cupcake. Flat-out street napping. LOL I read too and I mostly find myself finding grammar and spelling errors. Do you think that is normal?

    • I’m never sure what is normal, J. Mom says it sounds like you should have been a teacher. You’d have all the grammar and spelling mistakes your heart desires!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  20. Great post Cupcake! You look good in glasses. Lad says you should’ve watered the no barking writing then parked by it… 🙂

    • Gah! Watering the writing would have been naughty, C. Besides, I was fresh out of “water” by then…. It was a long walk!

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Those sound 5 great things to pay attention to when reading. Sure would make a person a better writer. Our Mom needs to pay more attention to her reading. She loves to read That is OK cupcake that you can’t read. That isn’t your job. You do just great just entertaining everyone. Have a great day.

  22. That’s a great list C! 😀

  23. I think your mom made that spelling error because she concentrated so strongly on the numbering of the passages when helping you write blog entry. From 1 to 5, without a boo-boo is really exhausting for the little grey cells.

    • Ha! Thanks K. I must admit, we did do a bang-up job with the numbers this time. Numbers are so hard! They give us a headache.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Katie Isabella said:

    Ooops. Thankfully a mistake. I can log into you. imbrite is someone else ir seems, but when I saw the name Cupcake I was confused into thinking that was you with a new name on Google +. THANKS for telling me.

    • imbrite IS me! Mom, actually. She was signed in, and not bothering to select wordpress and put my name there. She’s signed out, now. Whew!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  25. Well done for not barking and just napping instead. Always good to play by the rules!

    • Thanks, M. That’s me! A play-by-the-rules girl! I wish eating out of the garbage pail was a rule….

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. You most definitely were not barking, Cupcake! Just taking a little street nap :).

    • Thanks, TS. I love a street nap. I don’t know why Mom says the word, “Get up, weirdo. This is embarrassing.”

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. MOL..It looks like the no barking zone is especially made for you, Cupcake…who wouldn’t take a nap after studying so much…on the no barking words 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Tuesday 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. I’m glad you appreciate how hard I studied. It was exhausting to read such big words!

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, not only do you look stunningly fashionable in your sunny yellow but you had me at the words “push me”. I seldom get to see mom smiling like this so early in the morning. And she directed me to allow her to say she enjoyed every word as it is interesting to know how your mom goes about her task and how YOU read and follow the rules. Here’s a kissy for you sweetheart. Love that dress!

    • Thanks, KI. I’m glad your mom smiled at me. I do love a ride in the baby swing. And I do love making people smile! xo

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. Shawnee the Shepherd said:

    Hi Cupcake! I must apawlogize fur not snootering you out sooner. You see, I has two Cupcakes following my bloggie and one of the Cupcakes does not have a bloggie and I get the two confuzzled but I paid attention today and followed your trail and here I am! I found your bloggie and I is following you now so I don’t get confuzzled again. Oh and good job on the no barking.

    • Well, I’m happy to see that you did “snooter” me out, S. It’s fun to see you over here. Mom hopes you’ll be a good influence on me, on account of you being so well behaved and obedient. I was surprised and excited to see that other dog named Cupcake over at your blog. Plus it confused me a little….

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. Wow Cupcake, I must say that you look spectacular with your glasses on. 🐶

  31. This is so clever and so entertaining. I wish I could have time-traveled and you were my teacher!

  32. […] sometimes, she says the word, “Want to learn?” *cue scary music […]

Leave a Reply

