Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Starting Out

Spring is finally starting out around here. And by finally, I mean FINALLY!!

petals

Grass seeds are planted.

seeds

Flowerpots are hung.

sunny susy

Blossoms are popping out.

bud

And it suddenly got so warm out that I had to take a street nap under a truck.

underthetruck

Every couple of weeks, Mom starts out writing a new story. The start is important. It has to grab, grip, introduce a character, present a problem…

problems-3…state a situation, prepare, pop, draw in, jump out, and kick off – all in a few sentences.

once upon

Without a solid start, the story would be like a room without a floor.Β And what good is a room without a floor?

floor nap

Where would I nap?Β Where would my squirrels land? Where would my bed rest? Where would the peanut butter-bacon cookie crumbs wait for me to find them?

bed6

Back off the treats, squirrel!

Back off the treats, squirrel!

Mom says, “A good opening makes the rest of the story easier to write.” and “I have to start strong.” and “Don’t lick the floor!”

floor licker

 

 

Comments on: "Starting Out" (57)

  1. Genis LeyNel said:

    Hehe “Don’t lick the floor!” will make a great story header, methinks πŸ˜€

  2. “A room without a floor” – that is DEEP Cupcake, like that “one hand clapping” thing we’ve heard mom talk about once or twice. As for licking the floor, the trick is not to get caught.
    Wally & Sammy

  3. I think you need to lick the floor … that’s where the best stuff lands {in our house at least}! x

  4. That’s true… the start is very important… if you hunt a squirrel or if you write a story…the start can decide the whole story and the result… if you got your prey or if you the one with the empty paws at the end…

  5. Mummy tell us not to eat the carpet all the time. But whee tell her whee are just licking the floor. That’s better, right?!

    xxxx

    • Yes, Boys. I do think eating the carpet would be worse. Plus it might give you a tummy ache.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. fredrieka said:

    I am not allowed to lick the floor either, you are right good stories have good beginning, But some stories have a sad beginning and a great ending like me getting adopted.

  7. Cupcake, your Mom is SO WISE…….about good writing AND about licking floors. Tee Hee

    Love, Sammy

  8. Oh Cupcake…not only important but super hard..so many things to encapsulate inan instant almost…like the conundrum of chasing squirrels or the postman..which one really grabs your attention! loves Fozziemum xxx

  9. Spring is in our part of the country too, Cupcake. I love the pictures of the flowers. They are the same color as your spring fling sundress!

  10. This is very deep indeed my friend. I must think about this for a while… πŸ™‚ XOXO – Bacon

  11. Frankie and Ernie said:

    We love your SPRING Pictures….

  12. Spring has Srung…your pictures captured spring very niocely Cupcake.

    (((Shoko)))

  13. Love the pictures of things in bloom. Archie has allergies with all of the pollen. Sorry I haven’t been around, just got back from vacation.

  14. Love the flowers! Lick the floors, live on the edge, start your story with wild abandon!
    Luvs
    Marty

  15. Cupcake, is ‘Hoover’ your middle name? I’ve heard floor crumbs make the best snacks though. πŸ™‚

  16. I like to lick the floor too πŸ™‚

  17. Whenever I write a story, I always start with the ending. I usually write the beginning much much later.

  18. So happy your Spring finally sprung too, sweet little Cupcake. And mom is right…in Dutch there is saying: ‘A good beginning, is the job half done!’ That little squirrel of yours sure looks like a saucy monkey when eyeing those cookies…Charley would have none of it either! Good luck to mom with her new story!!! xo Johanna and Charley

  19. “Don’t lick the floor!” That’s a very strange thing to say – you never know what tasty treats you may find.

  20. Who knows more about starting a story than mom and who knows more about licking floors than you, and maybe a toddler. 😱😝 Enjoy!

    • Thanks, G. I’m glad there are no toddlers around here. I don’t need competition for the delicious floor pies.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. This is a great post C!

  22. Oh Cupcake, first you take a tar nap and then you lick the floor. I am constantly telling Delilah to stop licking the floor. What are we supposed to do with you two?

    • Well, J, since you asked – maybe you could drop more scraps, crumbs, crusts, and cookies onto the floor for D and me. Then just turn your back and let us do our thing….

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, you are right as right can be. My mom told me she reads alla time and has since she had her first library card waaaaaaay back in ancient times at the age of seven. It was horses and fairy tales then. She has progressed through the years. (HA)!

    She said to say she certainly agrees with the beginning of a book engaging the reader (of course). There have been times she was utterly caught with the first sentence! That means the story seemed relevant to her personally at that reading. That doesn’t work for everyone of course. She recently read a series of five shorter novels one after the other with scarcely a breath between them, they were so engaging all the way through. She said she read them for her Twitter reading group. Only one was up for reading, but they were that good she read the series. Hugs and licks back your adorable girl!

  24. Lovely pictures! Your dog (he or she?) is just adorable! πŸ™‚
    I found you on Pix and I am glad I did.
    Have a nice weekend.

  25. I don’t understand why you can’t lick the floor, Cupcake, it saves a lot of time when you wash the floor πŸ˜€ I hope there were lots of peanut butter crumbs on the floor πŸ˜€ Pawkisses for a Sunny Springy Weekend πŸ™‚ ❀

  26. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake…I took a spoonful of honey and it DID help with the coughing. Why is that? I will keep on doing that. I don’t have a fever…and the rest problem I have is draining sinus’s. So, my throat isn’t sore. Thank you for your very real help.

    • I’m glad you’re on the road to recovery! Honey is a germ killer! Mom used to be a teacher, so germs were her business for a long time. She had to learn to heal herself or the 3rd graders would have killed her with their gooey germs!

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Cupcake, your Mom sure has all the right ideas in starting a book. It is almost like writing a blog post. Gotta get everyone’s attention. We love all the Spring flowers too. You all have a super Sunday.

    • Thanks, M. You’re right! Blog writing is a lot like book writing. I love getting attention…

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. You’re still as cute as ever cupcake πŸ₯

  29. I think you need to write your own book!

  30. […] – When spring comes, winter goes away and the weather gets warm and sunny and nice. Some days, I can take a […]

Leave a Reply

