Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Time Well Spent

bed

This is my new bed. It fits me perfectly. Sometimes I rest in it, sometimes, I sleep, and sometimes I use it to stare at Mom while she works.

bed3

It beats this.

rocker

And this.

staring

Mom has something new, too. It’s her new story that she’s working on for 12×12.

12-x-12-new-badge2

Well, she’s been working on it all month, but she’s not sure she’ll get it finished in time. If she doesn’t finish it by the end of the month, it will be the first time since 12x12in’12 that she missed doing a monthly manuscript.

12-x-12-Winner-Badge

We’re not sure what slowed this one down. Maybe because she was revising some old stories. Maybe because she entered a contest. Maybe because this story is written in a different format than she usually uses. Mom says, “This is all part of writing, so it’s time well spent.”

Maybe she’s behind because she is trying to teach me to “Park It” on my new mat.

parkit

I can’t always get that quite right.

parkit fail

Maybe because she’s teaching me to “Find it” when she hides a bacon treat. I used to know how to do that, but sometimes, I get hung up.

Maybe because she’s teaching me to knock down a tower of cups. Mom says, “Touch it!” and “Touch it!” and “TOUCH IT!!” and “Ugh. This is NOT time well spent.”

cups

Comments on: "Time Well Spent" (75)

  1. Oh Cupcake we waz howling at your head in that box.. loving your new bed, pink is my favorite color.. Have a wonderful week xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. Oh Cupcake I quite like your new bed! Looks to be just the right size…..as for all the rest – I know that you try to please your Mom (at least when you FEEL like it) which is what I do too. Sometimes it works and sometimes…well….it’s an epic failure. Trying is worth an extra bacon treat I say!

    Kitty Hugs, Sam

  3. Hey Cupcake! That is a really neat park it mat! I have never heard of one of those, but it could be really useful once you figure out how to “park it”. Love your new little bed – it looks really comfy! I really like the new trick that your Mommy is trying to teach you on how to knock down the cups! That is really neat and I hope you can knock em all down! Good luck to your Mommy in finishing up her stories. Tell her she might need to stay up real late one night to finish it! Hugs to all of you! Nikita & Bella

  4. The good news is that after all your hard work you get to relax in your comfy new digs!

  5. When she says Touch It, touch her! đŸ™‚ Have a great Monday!

  6. Oh, Cupcake, so much to learn! I’m tired just thinking about it. And when your mom said “Park it!” I don’t think she was talking about your head. đŸ˜‰

  7. You are the funniest, cutest dog ever! Learning is always time well spent. Doing new things can take a little bit of a learning curve, and it can also throw you (or mom) a curve ball. Let’s get with it, mom! Batter up!!! (And DON’T tell me you don’t get baseball! You get my drift!)

    • Thanks, G. Mom says every day is a curve ball around here. She may not understand sports, but that doesn’t stop her from dreaming up games for me to learn.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. I wanna come and knock those cups down!!!

  9. Pawsome new bed Cupcake!! – it looks super snugg.
    Tell mom we say good luck for her deadline…oh & good luck to you too with the “touch it” *BOL* xxx

  10. Your face, looking at that tower of cups, is priceless…Unless there’s a treat in there somewhere I say”Why bother”…I like to curl up in my bed and watch Momz too Cupcake…Even if I’m napping I can open one eye and get a good view

  11. Love your park it mat Cupcake. It looks like a pretty nice head rest too đŸ˜‰

    • Thanks, Ann. It’s really very comfy, but I like to make sure I don’t miss anything, so I’m struggling to stay on it for too long.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  12. You look like a cupcake in your new bed! And I think your Mom hasn’t gotten her story done because she spends too much time making you do all that silly stuff! Or maybe she’s trying to make a story of that!

  13. You know there’s a treat in the bottom-middle cups, right? đŸ˜‰

  14. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Buddy,

    I know a good way to spend time, you need to ‘keep’ practising those new tricks, cos imagine how many bacon treats you’ll get?! đŸ™‚

    Enjoy,

    Your pal Snoopy đŸ™‚

  15. What a lovely new bed you have.
    How does the cup game work? do you have to run head first into them?? I think I could do that!

    • That’s the plan, M. Run head first into the pile of cups and knock them down. When I run head first into the door or the couch, Mom thinks I’m a goofball, but now I’m supposed to start running into a wall of cups. I’m confused.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Ah Cupcake, whatever mom is doing as long as she’s enjoying it, it’s okay. đŸ˜‰

  17. Dear Cupcake,
    Your new bed looks divine! So comfy, and definitely a step up from the other options. Us doggies can sleep anywhere, but it’s nice to have such a cozy special place for us to do our dreaming. Wish good luck to your mom on her new project!
    Love,
    Wiles

  18. Wonderbutt thinks the new bed looks quite yummy.

  19. I have no idea what’s the matter with that mat. You park your smart head on it, don’t you? It’s a very comfortable pillow. It’s not a bed – your bed is pink and it has side pieces as well which isolate your from the environment completely. These two things are completely different.
    I think your mom needs such a comfy bed, too.

  20. Your bed is pretty. I don’t see the problem with the park mat – you had your head on it!

  21. What cozy bed you have, Cupcake! And that find the bacon game sounds like just about the best game Ever!!

    Mom and I hope you are having fun working on “parking it!” đŸ˜€ The trick is patience. Lots of patience. And then a little more patience…

    Now I sure hope your mom will get her new story in time! I know she can do it!

  22. What a cool bed! Each of the collies want one now! Love your films, we watch them all each time you post a new one. Good luck to your mom on her story… we think she writes some great stories! A big collie hug for the both of you!
    the collies and chuck đŸ™‚

  23. OMC!!! Cupcake!! I feel your stress! Why oh why do humans expect us to sit or lie down EXACTLY where they want??? silly, silly creatures…but…they do provide noms…so…purrrhaps you might just try that mat a couple of times…just a suggestion…paw pats, Savannah peeEss…paws crossed Mom gets that book all wrapped up!

  24. WOW Cupcake, you had your head really far down in that box! I bet you was digging a bacon hole to China. I LOVES the photo of you not-quite-lying on your mat. Thanks for coming to visit me!

    • Digging to China for bacon is better that sitting nicely and waiting like I’m supposed to. I am a dog of action. Not a dog of waiting.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Pee S. I hope your mama has sucessful surgicals in the hospital and that she can finish her writing works too (we knows how hard that is).

  26. Nice bed enjoy. Mom appears to be her usual busy, but always time for you. Keep working on that mat thing, while Mom works on her contest

  27. I could knock down those cups if they had cookies in them.

  28. What is going on with that video? You had that thing looping over a dozen takes. How did you do that? What is a flip video camera – I have never heard of it. My video camera is part of my regular camera.

    Love the post. No, the time was well-spent. So was mine as I watched and read. Great Post!

    • That video is not meant to loop, so it’s clearly gone crazy. Flip cameras are discontinued, now, but it’s a tiny video camera about the size of half a pack of cigarettes. It holds an hour of video, and has no wires. It has a USB that pops out so it can stick directly into the laptop to upload. Mom takes tons of video of me with it! …and I look beautiful.

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. You have a lovely mat to rest on đŸ™‚

  30. Wish there was a “love” button…Giggles galore sweet Cupcake…you are just too CUTE!!!! Congrats to your mommy and Happy Writing!!!!

  31. Your bed looks very compy, Cupcake. I like the color too. I hope you found a cookie, the boxes looked so empty. What’s about the last picture.. are you the last target đŸ™‚

  32. Why do humans make us learn tricks all of the time? Of course, they do give Stanley and me much material for our books, so I guess I should not complain much. I love your new bed!

  33. […] I try all the time, too. I try to sit on my ParkIt Mat. […]

  34. […] a good couch-nap. When Mom leaves me alone, the couch is my napping area of choice. Also the floor, my bed, the rocking […]

  35. […] sat on my Park It Mat, watched people and cars go by, and didn’t […]

  36. […] I work at the library for Read to a Pet Night, I am stuck on my Park-It Mat waiting for somebody to read me a […]

  37. […] Alone – Besides me and all of my valuable help (staring like a creeper), Mom writes […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.