Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

Mom reads a lot. She reads picture books,

book-pile

grown up books, blogs, websites, Instagram and Facebook posts,

ig

kiddie magazines, and of course CATalogs. *shiver* I don’t know how to read, but people read to me a lot. Today, Mom and I are counting down about reading.

My Reading Countdown

3. Read-to-a-Pet-Night – Kids come to the library to read to me at Read-to-a-Pet-Night. Sometimes they read dog books, which make me very happy.

happy-with-dog-bookSometimes they read Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do You See?. The purple cat scares me, but I try to be brave.

2. Waiting – When Mom is reading, I wait. Eventually, she finishes and then we play or cuddle or go to the park.

verona-stump

At Read-to-a-Pet-Night, I wait for a reader like a good girl – no crying, no playing with the other therapy pets, and no begging for treats when apparently I didn’t do anything to earn them.

Empty chair. Bummer...

Empty chair. Bummer…

8. Listening – When Mom works on her writing, she reads out loud to herself. I listen very carefully, in case there’s anything in there I need to know. Once, I heard the word “dog boots” which scared me because I hate my boots.

boots-and-bellyBut it made me happy at the same time because it meant Mom was writing about a dog!

Mom’s Reading Countdown

3. Read-to-a-Pet-Night – Mom has fun at Read-to-a-Pet-Night. She loves hearing the kids read stories. It reminds her of her teacher days, but without any of the teacher stress or responsibility.

tennis-dress-reading

Stress-free-chillin’. Like a boss…

2. Picture books – Mom reads 200 picture books every year. She rates them and keeps count of them on her Goodreads page. Sometimes she reads them at Barnes and Noble.

books-and-drinkSometimes she brings them home from the library and reads them our house. I help her choose the best ones.

This one!

This one!

74. Listening – Mom is always listening for story ideas. She listens extra hard to moms and kids. She learns names, interests, slang, quirks, and speech patterns from them. She never knows when something will kick in and give her a new story idea. Meanwhile, I can give her all the story ideas she needs…

Me.

Me.

Me.

Me.

ME!

ME!

 

 

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (53)

  1. Cupcake just being you deserves a treat. Who can sit still that long?

  2. I like the read to a pet night… I would be there too, I love it to hear stories :o) that’s a super good way to listen to the kids and their mom’s to get new ideas …. kids always tell the truth :o)

    • Kids DO tell the truth, E. They don’t know how to be polite. That’s why they’re so much fun. In case you ever go to Read-to-a-Pet-Night, don’t say, “GIVEITTOTHEWEIMARANER” because eating the books is not allowed.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. We think she should write about you too! -The Collies

  4. This is the best post ever. I love you, Cupcake! *ear licks*

  5. YOU definitely are a wonderful story idea, Cupcake! The TwoOrangePups and I would LOVE to read a picture book about you.

  6. Look at those cool paw gloves! I’ll bet you never get a burned pad EVER! Good for you.

    Boomer

    Linda

  7. It’s hard to imagine why your mom needs to look any farther afield than you, Cupcake – seems like she could get all the writing inspiration she needs right there! 🙂

  8. Great photos and great lists! I hope her dog book is about you Cupcake! 😀

  9. Cupcake is so darn cute. ❤️

  10. I Just Love this Post. Whoever “Cupcake ” is, but I felt as if a Doggie was talking to me and I was so tickled at the Story Books that Mom reads to CupCake. I never knew some people treat their Dog Pets so wonderfully as if they are humans.
    More and More I wish, I could have a bigger house so that I could keep a Dog or Cat.

    • Thanks, C. I love your name. But it does not seem like you are a Cat after all. I am a doggie and have been Mom’s little girl since she rescued me when I was three. So happy you stopped by. Mom will share me with you till you get your own little girl.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Oh Cupcake I know that you are a very important inspiration to your Mom in MANY WAYS including her writing…! I love that you are such a good girl when you have your reading nights at the library – no doubt those kids think you are simply adorable (because you are!). Just keep inspiring your Mom…..you inspire a lot of us too!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. I do try to be a good girl at the library, especially. Some of the kids have no experience with dogs, so I don’t want to scare them with my enthusiasm. Mom does warn them though that I WILL kiss them whether they like it or not. I can’t help it. Kids are delicious!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Oh beautiful – you are such a great helper for sure! XOXO – Bacon

  13. Cupcake, I fail to see why your Mom would need any other subject or inspiration besides you. And hey, why do you have to wait until your mom is done reading to cuddle? Sounds like the perfect time. 🙂

  14. You are one fantabulous dog, Cupcake. Waiting until your mom finishes to cuddle with her is a great thing to do and it’s hard. I want cuddles right now but I know I have to wait. You’re so good about it.

    Shoko

  15. I love the idea of Read-to-a-Pet Night! I wish our library had one here, I’m sure Daisy would love it! 😀

    • I agree. You would be GREAT at Read to a Pet Night, D. Plus it’s really easy. Just eat treats, listen to stories, get your picture taken, and play with delicious kids.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, what a good girl and help you are to your mom. I knew you would be. I love your outfits when you go with her to help her at her work. AND at home. What a good girl you are. Except at the soccer net. xoxox

    • Thanks, KI. That soccer net is tricky. Mom keeps me away from it most of the time, but whenever I get close enough, I’m going in!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  17. Dogs are my best inspiration to writing.

  18. I think ‘me’ as an idea is a GREAT idea. That idea needs to be books 2, 5, and 7. (I’m not too good with numbers either but you get my drift. ) Oh. And the boots? Woo woo!! Hot stuff!

    • Thanks, G. I am glad you see the value of ME like I do. Your number work was awesome. 2, 5, and 7 are always good go-to choices.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. You’re a busy pup, Cupcake!

  20. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay i see yoo hav red shooz!!! i hav herd that wen wun warez red shooz wun kannot stop dansing is that troo??? ok bye

    • Well, Dennis, I have never heard that about the red shoes, but you know I LOVE to dance. I know that red shoes are sexy. Plus you can click them together and say, “There’s no place like home…”

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Oh Cupcake, you’re just pawsome for your mom and the kids! Way to help out. P.S. We think you’re a very special muse for your mom. 😉

  22. That last picture looks like the best one!

  23. You are most certainly her biggest inspiration, Cupcake 🙂 Granny was always reading a book for the cats while she was babysitting. Pawkisses for a wonderful week ahead 🙂 ❤

  24. It is such a good better idea to get the little people to reads to you. It is a good reason to get dressed up in your best clothes as well. I loves bedtime stories. I think you is so lucky having a mum who writes stories because she can test them on you every night and you will get extra extra bedtime stories.
    Love Chicken 🐾

    • So true, C. Mom reads out loud all the time. She’s really reading out loud to herself, but I act like she’s reading to me and listen really hard. She calls me the name of Weirdo.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. I have to say I have never thought about reading out loud to our dog, Brownie. And I know for sure I would never be able to put booties on her! You’re such a good dog, Cupcake! 🙂 Lots of love to you!

  26. You look so adorable, Cupcake! I wish my students can sit with you and listen to the stories together.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.