Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Weekend Trouble

Weekends are for resting and chilling. Also riding in the car and playing with friends and walking at the park and going on the swings.

Weekends make me happy.

smiley

This is my happy face.

There is no “writing time” on the weekends. No work allowed.

swing

This is also my happy face.

But all of a sudden, Mom is on the computer – burning daylight – reading and writing and printing and talking out loud to herself. badge Apparently there’s Summer School on Saturday and Sunday! Including homework and Facebook work! And I have to “stay quiet” and “be a good girl.” Wait. What? Huh??

huh

This is all wrong in at least 9 ways. Mom said, “It’ll only take a few minutes.” and “I will bang this out in no time.” and “Yes, that’s the doorknob. And no, I’m not ready to go.”

doorknob

How the heck does this thing work?

Comments on: "Weekend Trouble" (69)

  1. Uhoh…….what happened to the “time for that adorable Cupcake” part of weekends??? Hmm???? Parks, swings, playing, cute outfits – THAT’s what weekends are for!!!! I’ll send you instructions on how to work that doorknob……

    Hugs, Sammy

  2. I know that “few minutes”… that means 87 hours… I think you could spend a good time on your swing while waiting :o)

  3. Poor Cupcake! Don’t worry – it’s temporary. Summer school doesn’t last forever 🙂 Meanwhile, perhaps you should have a new toy or some special snacks 🙂

    • I like how you think, S. Special snacks would go well with my new squeaky corn on the cob toy. Maybe this Summer School isn’t so bad after all….

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. I know how difficult it is to be patient, Cupcake! It may be a good time to catch up on some napping, so that you have lots of energy to go and have fun when she’s finished.

  5. Oh no Cupcake…and you look so keen to go and you are such a good girl and I think that mum needs to swing around to your way of thinking 🙂 hugs and loves Fozziemum xx

  6. I agree with you. Weekends are for fun – no worky. XOXO – Bacon
    P.S. That swing looks awesome!

  7. You look so content on that swing, I think I need to schedule a trip to the park for myself to find that bliss.

  8. Oh no!!! I know that ‘just a few minutes’ thing….it means 400,1000 years later!!!

    Fuzzy and Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • It WAS 400,1000 years later, F. and B.! I waited and waited and took a nap and had a drink and played with my stuffed animals and took another nap.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. that video of you swinging is just too adorable for words!

  10. I love watching you swing:-)

  11. Cupcake, what’s up with that? You need to set mom straight!

  12. Frankie and Ernie said:

    THAT is just SO WRONG Cupcake… SHE should have like 87 hours a DAY to spend with YOU… NOT RIGHT… Pbbbbbbbt to Summer School…. she should be having Summer FUN with YOU.

  13. Hang in there (to quote a cat poster!!!) Summer will be over and you’ll soon be center stage again! Moms have to do what moms have to do. You look adorable as always.

  14. Oh Cupcake, what can we bark…hooman’s are a fickle bunch, barking one thing and doing another.

    Wally & Sammy

  15. You look so cute in the swing Cupcake and tell mom she’s no fun at all. Simba and I will come and sort her out. 😆

    You have fun and look after mom, okay. ♥ Hugs ♥

  16. Cupcake, sweetie! You kill me! More peeps need to see you in that swing. I need to find a swing.. it would make me happy too.. 🙂 Your Mom’s summer school will be over before you know it!

  17. Aw Cupcake, mom must sounds very busy – I’m sure she tries to be as quick as possible so that she can be with you.

  18. Ah thats what my mum say’s to then I nibble her trousers…hehehe,xx SPeedy

  19. Good luck manning the weekend, C! 😀

  20. No way Archie would ride in a swing. Laughed out loud about Cupcakes comments about Mom madly working at the computer. I’m sure Archie feels that everyday, when I sit at the computer.

  21. Poor Cupcake! That S.C.H.O.O.L. is as bad as W.O.R.K. !!!!! Poor Mom that it interferes with your time together! She must feel really guilty 😦 Hope you get some great swing time soon!
    Marty

  22. On the computer on a summer weekend?! No way! Cupcake, that might be the cutest video we have seen lately.

  23. Either your mom should take her iPad to the park or you should get a home swing! I see no other solution!

  24. Cupcake you get yourself in your teleport device and transport right over. Mom L is just waiting to take you for walkies and to swing you to your heart’s content…mwaaaahhh!!! that’s my best ever smoochie just for you pretty girl

    • Thanks, Savvy. That’s my problem, here. No teleport device. I thought it was behind the big chair, but I got stuck back there and had to wait for Mom to help me get out. xo

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Yup, weekends ARE for fun but on the other paw… FB work can be quite enjoyable, too.

    Purrs,
    Nissy #Niss4Senate – tell the PM, today.

  26. You’re so adorable on the swing, Cupcake, actually I like your other photos too….they’re cute..you’re cute….I hope Summer School doesn’t continue untill Winter. Supportive Pawkisses for a Happy Day 🙂

  27. jakesprinter said:

    Beautiful set up of blog sir ..I love this post 🙂

  28. Working on weekends? The old guy used to work on them on his job. But, he doesn’t now, which we like so much better. Except when he works on those tractors……. -the collies

  29. Cupcake, you look so relaxed! My dog, Brownie, would never sit in a baby swing! You’re a good pup! Hey, did you ever figure out how to get the door open? 🙂

  30. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Oh Cupcake,

    I’m with you, I think you should ban summer school and it should be all about you! 🙂

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  31. Ah. That’s just not right. And summer’s about over! What’s she doing starting summer school now? My Mom Person keeps a bowl of treats on her desk and when we pups are nice and quiet by the computer she tosses some our way. It’s pretty easy peasy. Even for the Dogzilla pup!

    • I wish I was getting treats while Mom was working, R. Sometimes, she lets me lick her empty coffee cup. The rest of the time, I have to be a good girl. It’s tough love!

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. […] Today’s five words are about reading. Writers do reading all the time – out loud, in their heads, on the Kindle, at the library, on the iPad…. ALL the time. […]

  33. […] has not yet succeeded in selling Book #2 or eBook #2. Nevertheless, she will NOT follow W.C.’s advice. She doesn’t write every day like she used […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.