Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Macaroni

Mom says, “No garbage.” a lot. I’m not allowed to lick the floor or eat from the garbage pail (I can barely reach it, anyway).

garbage

When we walk around the neighborhood or go to the park, I’m not allowed to eat banana peels or sunflower seed shells or pick up empty pudding cups or coffee lids. I’m not allowed to have candy wrappers or eat goose poop or sniff around by the dumpster.

lid

Apparently, garbage is a bad thing. Sometimes, Mom writes a word or a sentence or a story that’s garbage. She doesn’t mince words about it. She says, “This stinks!” and “What am I talking about?” and “Are you eating a napkin?”

napkin

Mom is not worried when she writes garbage. She thinks if she “gets the garbage out” the good stuff will come next.

garbage2

Let’s get the garbage out!

I know this is true because after Mom and I took the garbage out once, we walked around the back of the dumpster, and I found the good stuff! Macaroni noodles!!

macaroni2

Before Mom could say the word, “Leave it,” I ate one!

macaroni

Garbage. Mmmmm…

Comments on: "Macaroni" (73)

  1. Garbage is the best. I don’t know why our people won’t let us eat it. Nobody wants it anyway.

  2. oooooh Cupcake, that garbage will make you real sicky!

  3. rnewman504 said:

    Adorable. My dog, Madeleine, walks with her nose to the ground hoping to find anything. Yesterday she got lucky and found a piece of chicken. (She was too quick for me to take it away. Lucky, there weren’t any bones.) In terms of writing, some times after all those rewrites there are those golden nuggets that seem to come back to life. Rinse. Reuse. Repeat as necessary. Great post!

  4. I don’t know quite what the bipeds all have against garbage, there can be really interesting things in there! As for writing the rubbish down, I think your mom is right – once you have something written down you can work on improving it.

  5. mollieandalfie said:

    Bawahwhahhwha you were super quick Cupcake with that macaroni, My Humom always talks garbage Bawahwhhhah xxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  6. Well done scoring the Macaroni….lucky you snorted it up before mum got wind of it! Mums right Cupcake..once the garbage is out…then things are lot more free and possibly easy ..hugs Fozziemum xxx

  7. Gosh Cupcake…..seems to me you’re helping to clean up the environment when you eat garbage but what do I know?! I guess we have to do what our humans want us to do sometimes instead of what WE want to do!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  8. It is always the stuff that is not good for us, that we WANT. Even nasty used tissues in the bathroom garbage can….Bella seems to always want them. I still don’t understand the fascination with goose poop or deer poop that dogs love. It must taste good. (I’ll pass)

  9. It actually makes me sad to think there is so much garbage to be found, but mom’s right. Don’t eat that stuff. Especially when there”s always some cake to be licked. Still waiting in someone to noticed mom’s good stuff. COMEON, PEOPLE!

  10. I agree that’s lifestyle cupcake, nothing is better than italian food :o) They even have a song about, from Los Del Rio: Dale a tu cuerpo alegria, Macaroni
    Heeeeey Macaroni!AAAhAA!

  11. Lol. Macaroni noodles…now I want mac and cheese.

  12. Cupcake, you are a woofie after my own heart! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. Cupcake, your mom is so right! Hope you enjoyed the macaroni! 🙂

  14. Mama says, “Not for Nalle” a lot over here! She tries to eat everything on the street! Wooo!

  15. Mummies are so mean!!

  16. It’s all about stealth Cupcake. My buddy Walker is the King of Garbage. I myself, prefer freshly made off the counter. I guess your legs are a little short for that. You need to practice jumping.

  17. Awwww Cupcake, we hear you! We loves us some garbage too, oddly enough our mom and dad say the exact same things to us and we aren’t allowed to lick the floor either *hurrumph*. High five paws for scoring the macaroni though!
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W. and S. Little guys like us have gotta do what we’ve gotta do. Otherwise, it’ll be dog food and treats our whole life. Garbage presents unlimited variety!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Nice writing analogy!

  19. Just don’t let the garbage make you sick, Cupcake. 🙂
    xx

  20. Yumm… Macaroni. 🙂

  21. Bipeds carry their head too high. That is the source of all problems with them. They cannot smell anything and their brain is always in the midst of a cloud.

  22. Boy your mom is strict. Sometimes garbage can lead to better things too.

  23. What? No goose poop? Oh, Cupcake, your mom is a tough one! (Shhhh . . . don’t let your mom read this, but rolling in goose poop is almost as much fun as eating it!)

    • So true, Miss HL. But Mom doesn’t even let me roll in the good stuff either! She says the word, “Don’t you dare,” as soon as the idea pops into my head. Psychic!

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. MOL…I hope the macaroni was tasty, Cupcake…and Granny says that rules are meant to be broken..but maybe not when you get sick of it. Pawkiss 🙂

  25. Happy Halloween Cupcake and mum xx

  26. Cupcake, what is the big deal with garbage? Our moms need to get it together. There are some discarded delicacies in there…don’t they know? Happy Halloween! Go garbage digging and I will too but let’s keep it a secret 🙂

  27. When I find good stinky treats Momz goes into “Seinfeld” mode and does the Jewish seagull noise “Feh Feh” After I stop laughing at her I usually leave the stuff alone

  28. Don’t humans know that garbage was meant to be eaten? They have such a skewed sense of reality.

  29. Everyone needs a little garbage now and again. We’re not allowed to eat garbage either, so if we see some, we try to get to it extra fast!

    Hope you guys are planning to write a paragraph for our NaNo story. See you there! 🙂

  30. Oh Cupcake, you are very fast! But be careful what you pick up…listen to Mom

  31. We collies here that a lot too…… but it smells so good!!!

  32. […] and playtime that never ends.   My mental blueprint shows how I will get onto the table, into the garbage, out the window, and through the door. My brain may be tiny, but it’s busy all the time. […]

  33. […] do not believe there is a huge difference between human food and dog food. Yummy and delicious is yummy and delicious, no matter what the container looks […]

  34. […] places, new sights, new peemail from new friends, and sometimes a tree-root […]

  35. […] Words – Mom has lots of special words for me. Some of them are “leave it,” “stop it,” and “get […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.