Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

Today’s five words are about autumn.

1. Leaves – Leaves are falling everywhere. Some of them are dull and brown. Some are gorgeous and brightly colored. They remind Mom of ideas. Ideas come in all shades, too. Some are brilliant. Some crumble when you touch them.

huh

2. Cool – Mornings and nights have been cool lately. Sweater weather for sure.

sweater

3. Ready – Fall reminds us that winter is coming. We need to be ready. Mom is getting ready for PiBoIdMo. It’s a whole month when she has to write down a new picture book idea every single day. She’ll type them into her phone, and then try to make each one into a story.

piboidmo2013-participant-214x131

4. School – Kids go back to school in the fall. That means I go back to working at Read-To-A-Pet-Night at the library. Sometimes, Mom and I listen to 7 or 8 stories. Some are awesome. Some are …meh.

pet night

5. Halloween – Halloween is in the fall. Mom got me 2 costumes. One of them is a turtle costume. We used to have a turtle named Leave-the-Turtle-Alone. I hope Mom doesn’t change my name to Leave-the-Dog-Alone. That would be too lonely!

IMG_2629

Does anybody want to play with me?

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (79)

  1. Love your sweater & love read to your pet night! x

  2. Nothing like getting ready for daily writing! Your dog’s expressions make me think you will have no problem with your adventures! Great photos!

  3. I love that you have Read To A Pet Night…that is so precious!!!! Cupcake, you are such a blessing to all of those little kids…The leaves are starting to fall here, rainy and cooling down…You are rockin’ that pink sweater too!!!! Happy writing!!!!

  4. Sometimes my name is Leave-the-Dog-Alone when my younger person is picking on me.

  5. I like the comparison you drew between leaves and ideas! It works so well, everything I can think of for leaves works for ideas.

  6. Such a fashionable pup šŸ™‚

  7. Love your leaves comparison and love that cute pink sweater Cupcake. We have so much rain at the moment xxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  8. Indeed the leaves are like ideas aren’t they Cupcake…I laughed at the Meh stories..think I am reading one at the moment..why do I think I need to finish it??? cutest pink sweater šŸ™‚ I knitted an Orange one with toggles for Doc and people laughed at him…cruel ..hugs Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. First of all, life is too short to finish a book that’s just meh. Dump it. And second of all, good for Doc, making people laugh. I am on board with that, even if they’re laughing at his sweater. Laughing is good.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Thanks Cupcake..think I will dump it..it’s just not grabbing me..and yes laughs are well needed in these times we live in..and I think he looks cute šŸ™‚
        Hugs Fozziemum xx

  9. You look very cute in your turtle costume, Cupcake! I would play with you šŸ™‚ But of course now I’m dying to know what the other costume your mom got you is! Have fun reading with the kids. I’m looking forward to PiBoIdMo too!

  10. Oh Cupcake….who could resist you in that turtle costume (although something tells me you’re not overly thrilled with it!!)…..you look so adorable – I also think your pink sweater is quite fetching and feminine! Fall is falling – you’re right – it’s sweater weather and Mom thinks she’s going to wrestle me into a sweater…..I might have other ideas……like biting the hand that feeds me (or sweaters me).

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • Biting the hand that sweaters you sounds like a good plan, S. I used to eat my clothes, but then I learned that clothes mean something fun is about to happen.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Catherine Johnson said:

    Oh Cupcake that turtle costume is adorable! I love your comment ‘ideas come in all shades too’ that is so true. Good luck with PiBoldMo.

  12. Awwww you make such an adorable turtle!!! ^_^

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  13. those are great words…but today is MONDAY…………MOL!

    • Thanks, C. Don’t be confused by the random way my posts are titled. Days are meaningless to me, just like numbers. I don’t “get” them. If I try, it gives me a headache.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. I wouldn’t leave you alone whether you are a pup OR a turtle, Cupcake!

  15. I cross my paws that you will still be Cupcake and not “leave-the-dog-alone” :o) I only noticed that we have monday as I read Cody’s comment LOL

  16. Cupcake, I can only say I am sorry for you for having to be a turtle. Me, a pig, having to dress up as a pig is bad enough for all of us. We love your seasonal words!

  17. Some books are meh but you need to read to find out. Some grown up books are šŸ˜¦ too. Mom needs to get more books published to crank up the ratio of good books (mom’s) to meh books. šŸ˜‰
    Love the turtle costume. No way you’ll ever be lonely, dogfriend. ā¤ļø

  18. You make a very cute turtle Cupcake! Wooooowoooooooo!

  19. I hope you get lots of treats in that turtle costume! That’s a trick to make you wear it. I’m trying to convince the Mom Person that I’ll be happy to do tricks for treats this year with NO costume! It’s hard to get good pets when you have that stuff on!

  20. I’d like to play with you, Cupcake!
    Just mention your mom that Read-To-Let-The-Dog-Alone-Night = The-Dog-Sleeps-To-Not-So-Awesome-Stories.

    • Sometimes I write just nonsense. OK, let’s start over:
      Iā€™d like to play with you, Cupcake!
      Just mention your mom that Read-To-‘Leave-The-Dog-Alone’-Night might easily turn into a The-Dog-Sleeps-To-Not-So-Awesome-Stories-Night.
      Pffffffff…

  21. I love your pink sweater! That’s my favorite color. How fun to wear a costume for Halloween and listen to stories at your library! You’re quite active, Cupcake! And I, too, will be participating in Piboidmo!

  22. What a heartwarming ( and if I may add, an autumn warming!) post. I liked the “cool” expression the most. I can see that your happiness lies in the right aspects of your life.

    Shakti

  23. We love your turtle costume. It is wonderful that you go to listen to the kids read. We thinks that is so pawesome of you. ~Tuiren, Fenris, Socks & Scylla

  24. Oh Cupcake, that turtle outfit is toooo cute!

  25. I love the green turtle costume – Sooo cute. I thought it was a frog at first until I looked more closely.

  26. I’ll come play with you Cupcake…you are too cute to be lonely, especially in your pretty pink sweater…Wish we had Fall here, it’s fun when we get cooler weather

    • Thanks, G. I like the cooler weather, except, soon, it will be too cool for street naps. I’ll walk faster outside, and catch my naps inside on a sun puddle….

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Great costume! And you’re right about the ideas/leaves! šŸ™‚

  28. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Oh cupcake, I had a costume like that one last year, I think it looks way better on you!! I dread to think what I’ll be wearing this year!

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy šŸ™‚

  29. I wish we could have Read-to-a-Pet night here! Even though it would probably be disastrous if Wonderbutt participated! Love the turtle costume!

    • Thanks, WIM2S. One of the other dogs that works at the library with me comes in and falls asleep on the floor while the kids are reading. I think WB could handle that!

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. We love read to the pet night! Dad reads to us all the time. We usually snooze through it all, listening yet getting sleep. Multi-tasking ya know! We love your sweater!
    -The Collies šŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Collies! Stories don’t put me to sleep, like it does to most dogs. Stories make me jump and twirl and wiggle and squiggle and sniff and kiss. Mom says the word, “Calm down and sit nice.”

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. Ah Cupcake, even if she changed your name, no-one could possibly leave you alone. You are too cute!!

  32. We have some programs around here where dogs help kids read. I think its a neat idea. How cool of you to volunteer your cute face to help kiddos šŸ™‚

  33. Funny you should mention that. We have a whole flock of chickens named “leave-the-chickens-alone.”

  34. What? Leave the dog alone? She better not! And who would name their turtle that anyway?

    • I don’t know about that name, R. It’s rampant around here. Leave the toilet paper alone, leave the wires alone, leave the rug alone… Sheesh! One track mind.

      Love and licks,
      C

  35. Cupcake! I thought that might be you visiting my site! Just delighted to hook up with you – love your comments at Wiley’s Wisdom. Best ~ HuntMode

  36. Cupcake – you’re so cute! Love your turtle costume! And read to your pup night sounds like a ton of fun! Thanks for stopping by Pooch Smooches!

    • Thanks, J. As a matter of fact, I will be back to the library tonight listening to stories. I hope the kids pick out some good ones. And give me lots of treats….

      Love and licks,
      C

  37. well, no one really cares what “I” think…BUT…I don’t think any companion animal, furramily member should have to wear one of those outfits…let the bipeds do it…just sayin’….paw hugs, Savannah

    • I hear ya, S. The saving grace is that whenever Mom puts an outfit on me, it means something fun is about to happen. Usually we go to the Veteran’s home or to work at the library. Fun!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  38. My dog, Maddy, would love to play with you Cupcake. (Although she’s not very good at sharing tennis balls.) Fun post! Hope you’ve been having a good writing summer.

  39. […] also gets a giggle from me in my Halloween witch […]

Leave a Reply

