Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

quote

Writers see possibilities a lot. They imagine them and ask about them inside their heads when they’re making up a story. They especially need to consider them when they’re revising.  Mom had an old story that she liked a lot. She showed it to her writing group friends and they said SO many amazing things about it. Like, “There’s too much this.” or “Not enough that.” and “Maybe you can try some of this.” or “You may want to add some of that.” Mom considered the possibilities and tried some of the suggestions and guess what. The story is VERY different, and Mom loves it even more in its new form! Who knew?

Possibilities. I love those guys. I, for one, am happy to hear that they never run out.

Riding in the car opens a ton of possibilities.

IMG_7737

Mouth open, sunroof open, ready for the open road…

The car can lead to this…

IMG_7793

or this…

FullSizeRender

or this…

IMG_7780

or this…

IMG_7754

New places, new sights, new peemail from new friends, and sometimes a tree-root nap…

IMG_7828

Now and then the car leads to this…

IMG_7841

Take it easy, lady. Leave me a nail or two to scratch my ears with!

Walking into the bathroom opens fewer possibilities. Maybe I’ll be able to sniff the shower gel and wait while Mom takes a shower. Unless she says the word, “That’s soap, not food.” or “That’s not a water bowl.” or “OUT. Can I have 5 minutes of privacy?”

IMG_7887IMG_7882

Sometimes it flat out leads to this…

IMG_7865

which leads to this…

IMG_7871

which leads to this

IMG_7876

Pardon my bits and pieces, but I’m trying to air condition my wet belly.

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (67)

  1. that possibilities for a story are pawsome… after you added some fresh ideas, the story is like new… that’s like discovering an old toy for new after it got some surgery :o) btw: the vanilla birthday cake shower gel by philosophy is awsome, my mom said ever shower is like a birthday… I have some doubts… I mean there is W.A.T.E.R. included….

    • I totally agree, E. I don’t care HOW good that gel smells, it’s a trap. They will soap you and scrub you and rinse you and condition you and steal all your delicious filth. Sneaky!

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. I agree with you about the car. It’s always fun because you never know where you’ll end up – so many possibilities!

  3. Your Mom is right……and so are you! Possibilities keep the world going around and around…..if we do this, it might lead us to that….if we take this path we might see something new and exciting……writing is truly like that. I see that you are always open to the possibilities – including a tree root nap which I’d never even THOUGHT of as a possibility until you showed me this photo – we have lots of tree roots in our back yard – I think I have a new PAWSIBILITY thanks to you Cupcake!!!!!

    Love, Sammy

    • Good luck, S. I hope your tree roots are as comfy as mine. Mom begged me to get up, so eventually I did and flopped down on a different root for a little while before I let her take me home.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Cupcake, you are so cute in many ways. Glad the Mom found some possibilities for changing her story around a little bit. You all have a grand day.

  5. What a great quote!!! I am happy to hear mom is inspired!! Charley agrees on bathroom…toilet bowls are excellent source of a good zip…bot ohohoh a bath!! xo Johanna

    • I hope Charley has better luck with the toilet bowl than I do. I’m too small to reach the water. Darn these stubby little legs!

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, that was as charming as it gets. If I didn’t already love you…I would now.

  7. Katie Isabella said:

    Oh and the one who came before, Robin, a tiny Tortie used to be an indoor outdoor girl. She LOVED the roots of our huge oak tree and slept there many times. She has been gone from the earth 21 years but mommy said she lives in mom’s heart always.

  8. Possibilities are ENDLESS! And every day brings new ones. I hope that bath led to some possibilities of some yummy treats!!

  9. That is one of my favorite quotes, it is sooo true!

    DakotasDen

  10. I possibly love you a little bit more after this post…and the possibility is high that two certain pooches here also had a bath 🙂 good for Mum and her new work Cupcake 🙂 loves Fozziemum xxx

  11. Hi Cupcake. Car rides are the best; I try to never miss one. Tell your mom that the next car ride should include a Mickey D’s drive-through, up close and personal. BOL!

    • Oh, wow, L. I like how you think. I am busting a gut waiting for a burger. Mostly, Mom gets an ice cream cone that we share. And sometimes she gets me an empty cone to eat. It’s good, but a burger would be amazing!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Love all the possibilities, Cupcake! We love car rides, too, especially when we visit somewhere cool with water. Mum loves when she finds new possibilities in the stories she is working on. She smiles more when they come together. Three cheers for possibilities!

    • Three cheers and 4 paws up for the possibilities, P. I love when a car ride ends near water, too. Water means geese, and geese leave special candies for me in the grass!

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. What about when Penny has exhausted your last nerve?

    • Maybe there’s a possibility that there’s another nerve in there somewhere. Otherwise, Eko has to bite her face and get her back on track.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. Cupcake you are just the cutest and you have the best life! No worrying about snakes and stuff for you! Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • Thank goodness for that, B. If Mom even sees a spider, she wants to pack up and move and burn the house down behind her!

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Oh Cupcake, you are adorable. I’m glad to see you taking a nap somewhere other than the pavement!

  16. Car rides are ripe with possibilities! I hope most of them are fun ones and not baths!

    • Thanks, Mr. N. That’s what I am always hoping, too. But as long as Mom has a pocketful of treats, I’m on board.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. We like those possibilities too Cupcake, they often lead to treats or trips to Grandma’s house too! Love all the pictures of you!
    Marty

  18. BOL, you and Sam were clearly separated at birth Cupcake – he LOVES to air his bits too BOL!
    Wally & Sammy

  19. Strictly confidential!!!! Only to Cupcakes ears!
    I think a visit in the bathtub opens lots of possibilities of extreme cuteness!

    • Thanks, K. I was afraid I seemed a little pathetic in the tub, but I’m glad you enjoyed my look. I mostly had the sad face on to get a few extra treats.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Great post C! I like possibilities too! 😀

    • Thanks, E. I’m sure you choose from tons of possibilities each time you pick a book to read or review.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. The possibilities are endless!! Yes! Those things can lead to some exciting moments. Meanwhile, cover up, dogfriend!

  22. Wow…there are so many possibilities for stories. Thanks for pointing out how many and how easy to find they are.

    (((Shoko)))

  23. Rides in the car… so many possibilities! We have had some lovely rides in the car the last few days and have had happy things happen… 🙂 The STATE FAIR! Fair Food! I am glad your Mom considered the help from her writing group and found a very different story that she loves! I love old tree roots!
    Good Morning!

    • Fair food! Oh, wow, Pix! I love fair food. ….I’ve never had any, but I am SURE I love it. Mom says it’s made of sugar and grease and grease and sugar. Perfect!

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. May the possibilities and your treats be limitless, Cupcake.

  25. I always leave with a big smile after visiting you and mom. Your happiness is just so darn infectious. Looks like a pretty pawsome day from spa to bath to nap. Your tree root nap made me laugh too. Honestly, where can’t you get comfy? xo K

    • Thanks, Boomdee. Mom thought the same thing. But the tree roots were surprisingly pleasant. Almost as comfy as the asphalt street nap. Almost…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Perhaps you have some hints for making Choppy enjoy bath time a bit more? She seems to think the only good thing about it is when it is done!

  27. Well, it looks like you don’t need another comment, but I must. I love your post of possibilities. My new, older dog, Molly, thinks there are possibilities behind every door and each time she thinks she hears a bag crinkling. I love your pictures. You have a very energetic mom, Cupcake. Treasure her (that’s one possibility). 🙂

    • Thanks, S. I think Molly is brilliant! Crinkling bags are a goldmine of possibilities. Pretzels, chips, cookies, cheese…. There’s no end to the choices.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Thanks for the uplifting “possibilities” post, Cupcake. 🙂

  29. That’s very true!

  30. You are a very lucky dog!!! Looks like a nap is in order after exploring all those possibilities!

  31. Adventures and clean fur, both worth the effort

  32. You’re just too stinkin’ cute, Cupcake (sorry I’m waaaay behind in reading and just now got to this post from last month-doing my best to catch up and stay ahead of the game). 🙂

  33. […] ….and, “Get in the tub.” […]

Leave a Reply

