Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Rules and Regulations

“Let’s take a walk,” she said. “It’ll be fun,” she said.

*gulp*

*gulp*

“What are you ‘fraid of?” she said.

 

Really?

Really?

This week, we had to mail in the annual paperwork for me to be a therapy dog. Mom and I took a walk to the mailbox (and by “walk” I mean she dragged me past the cat on a bike, a ladder, and a couple of garden gnomes who I’m pretty sure were trying to kill me).

very afraid

Mailing in my information form, shot record, and license is a rule.

theraletter

If I don’t follow the rules, I can’t do my work at the Veteran’s Home and the library. Following rules is important.

maildog

Mom follows rules when she sends in her stories. She was about to enter the MeeGenius Author Challenge,

meegenius blue

but by the 99th time she read over the rules to be sure she was doing everything right, she saw that she can’t enter because she is already a MeeGenius published author!

ebookcover with border

Mom said, “GAH!” and “Whew!” and “That was close.” She changed her plan and instead of entering the contest, she submitted her story to MeeGenius the regular way. So hope is still alive.

Mom also reads the rules 99 times every month when she submits to an agent in her 12×12 Challenge. She says, “The rules are the rules for a reason.” and “I don’t want this person to think I’m an idiot.” and “OMG. You look like an idiot!”

firecracker head

Is there something on my head…?

Comments on: "Rules and Regulations" (71)

  1. We’d be especially weary of the garden gnomes too Cupcake. Please tell mom that she is NOT and idiot! And yes, we hate to tell you this but it would appear that your head has fireworks going off above it…now is that a sign of you having some wonderful ideas or that you’ve been over thinking something?
    BIG licks,
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W. and S. I’m pretty sure those firecrackers are warning of something brilliant in my head. And by “brilliant” I mean crazy.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. I would also have to be dragged passed those weird critters for sure Cupcake. Eeeeek! Those things are scary! Next time rather come and visit me and we’ll play with the monkeys. 😆

    I think that is why I don’t ever enter any competitions. Those rules play with my brain cells and I always miss something. Must be because I am blond. hahahaha

    Love the photo’s mom took of you Cupcake. Tell her the best therapy for scary things like that is to pick you up, take you to the scary thing and touch it to show you it’s not scary. I think they have funny smells on them and that’s what is scaring you and Simba. He does the same and when I see he gets scared of something, that is what I do. Then he smells and smells it and then he’s happy because he saw it doesn’t hurt me.

    The last pic of you is totally adorable. You are such a cutie! 😀
    You and mom must take care. It’s still freezing this side and I am waiting for summer so I can swim again.

    ♥ Big Hugs ♥

    • Thanks, S. We’re hot and sweaty here, and Mom goes swimming a few times a week. I stay in the air conditioning (and then take street naps to warm up). Sometimes, when I am scared, I turn to stone, and Mom does pick me up to get me past. I think if she tried to bring me near the scary thing, I’d squiggle free and make a run for it. Thanks for the invitation, but I doubt I’d enjoy playing with monkeys. I’m pretty sure they would try to kill me.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Well, you’re more than welcome to come and swim here but I think you’d freeze. hahahah.

        Yes, some things are scary but luckily you have your mom there to protect you. I also think the monkeys would enjoy you. 😀

        ♥ Big Hugs ♥

  3. What’s that cat doing on a bike anyway. They get up to enough mischief on their own. Yeah, my person had to drag me past all the thunder today. She said it was so far away that she couldn’t even hear it – but I could.

    • Thanks, B. Who the heck needs a cat on a bike?? That cat is a dangerous criminal. Thunder is also a dangerous criminal. Wear your ThunderShirt!

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Your garden gnomes sound scary!!

  5. Garden Gnomes yikes!!! I would be dragged past too Cupcake 🙂 glad mum read the rules or crikey she would have been pretty cranky with herself..we are glad you are getting all set to continue your Veterans and Library work by mailing off your paperwork..imagine missing out on those trips and visits! Oh and yep you have something on your head….but it’s ok ..it; not a gnome 😉 hugs and loves Fozziemum xx

  6. That cat on a bike made me laugh! I love those rainbow wheels! I don’t think the cat will hurt you, Cupcake.
    I wish your mom good luck with the book she’s submitted.

  7. Love Bug says ‘Huh? Pussy cakes don’t ride bikes!’

  8. Cupcake I can’t blame you for being concerned about that cat on wheels OR the gnomes – you can’t trust stuff like that. I’m glad the mailbox doesn’t scare you though since your Mom needs to go there often to submit her stories!! I love your patriotic head gear – at first I thought your little head was exploding!!!!! I am positive that all the people you visit as a therapy dog will be very happy that you submitted your paperwork to continue doing your work…..I think you should celebrate with a brand new pretty dress for your wardrobe.

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Great idea, S. A new dress is definitely in order. I am not afraid of the mailbox, and when Mom even says the word, I get very excited for the long walk to the busy street with a few burning hot street naps along the way. If the creepy lawn stuff didn’t freak me out, it would be a blast.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. fredrieka said:

    I follow rules it makes me a better dog every day and makes momwithoutpaws a better mom .. We work hard at following the rules

  10. Garden gnomes. Did you have to say garden gnomes? Some of them are scary my friend. I understand completely. Snorts – XOXO – Bacon
    P.S. Rules are good…. but sometimes they need to be prodded, twisted and jumbled up to make them look enticing 🙂 Double snorts

    • Ha! You’re so right about the rules, B. There’s following and there’s following. I’m glad we agree about the gnomes. They’re disturbing!

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. OMG, dogfriend. What has she put on your head now? Jeff is going to go bonkers. But following the rules is important. Being afraid if knomes is too. You just never know who you can trust! I hope mom has luck with her Genius book and she better send me a copy. Rule #1 don’t worry so much! Haha. Pot. Kettle. Get it?!?!?

    • Thanks, G. I hope Jeff wasn’t alarmed by the firecrackers on my head. One of my friends said it might just be ideas popping out. No worries. Of course, you’ll be the first to know if Mom gets any nibbles.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. don’t laugh, but such things scare me too. they placed a weird traffic sign on my street and I refuse to pass it. Dad refused to remove it, he said that’s not allowed, although mom showed him where the bird has his nest. Now we walk on the other side of the street and all is well :o)

    • Thanks, E. If a big, brave boy like you can be scared of a street sign, I don’t feel so lame. We cross streets a lot, too. For safety.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Rama's Mama said:

    Being a therapy dog is a wonderful thing. Miss Rama and little sis Sassy are both therapy dogs. Cairo will train to become one as well. So very rewarding! Good job for bringing people comfort and joy with your awesomeness!

  14. I think there should be a rule against creepy bicycle clowns. In your next story I say make that cat-sign the villain.

  15. Julia M said:

    Fingers crossed for the both of you! And watch out for those gnomes – they really are shifty little buggers! 😛

  16. LovableLobo said:

    It’s a scary jungle out there, Cupcake! Thanks for making me smile!

    • Thanks, LL. I don’t like living in a jungle filled with unnatural beings. Thank goodness Mom is here to protect me. …And drag me to safety.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Laughing. Oh, Cupcake, you and McKinley are sisters under the skin. Only, in her case, she has to smell everything – unless it is moving too much, in which case it is either going to cause her to run like a rabbit (with her little bum tucked under) or she’ll freeze and I’ll carry her.

    I’m writing more about her on the new onthetoadagain blog where I’m teaching her to become an intrepid explorer. 🙂

    There are no cats on bicycles or garden gnomes on the hiking trail. But there are bicyclists.

    • Thanks, ABB. I love being sisters with McKinley. Sometimes when I get scared, I turn to stone. Then Mom has to carry me. I can’t wait to check out the new site. Intrepid exploring is good!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. AUGHHHHHHHHHHHH! Mom those those ear things on us once and awhile. I always fall down and lay on my back. I HATE THEM! Fuzzy just looks disgusted1

    But you do look cute, Cupcake!

    Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • Thanks, B. Falling down is a GREAT idea when something unexpected happens. I am used to wearing bizarre things on my head. I do it to humor Mom.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. you look amazing cupcake!
    Wishing your mummy the very best of luck xx

  20. No there is nothing on your head. Rulez are made to be broken, but don’t tell Mom we told you that. – Nine, the Mischief Cat and Sofie Bear

    • Thanks, N. and SB. Breaking rules is definitely more fun than following them. Sometimes, Mom says I am a “loose cannon.” That’s a good thing…. Right…?

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. There should be rules against having cats on bicycles!

  22. Great post C! Good luck, too! 😀

  23. Good luck to your mom on her book!!! Cupcake you will make a wonderful therapy dog! 🙂 Love the last picture!

  24. Cupcake that cat thing is scary from here! Gnomes are just plain scary no matter what so we are 2 for 2 with you here! Glad you got your Very Important Papers mailed so you can do your wonderful job 🙂
    Marty

  25. mollieandalfie said:

    I hate weird things too Cupcake, I hate walking past the bins. BOL . Cupcake, you will make a funtaztix therapy dog 🙂 xxxoxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  26. Cupcake that is so exciting about sending in the paperwork to become a therapy dog! You will be the best, we know it. Too bad about your mom’s submission but it must be an honor to already be a published author 🙂

    • It’s definitely an honor, K. I am also honored to be a therapy dog. I love visiting my VA friends and listening to stories at the library. So much fun.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Starlight, does it help when that cat gets rid of his bike?… 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Thursday 🙂

  28. It is nice to meet you and cool that you are a children’s author and therapy dog handler. I would imagine that the two go well together:)

    • You’re right, K. Mom always gets story ideas while we’re working. …now if somebody would only publish one of them, we’d be making progress! 🙂

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. That last pic is just adorable!!! And I don’t blame ya for being weirded out by a cat on a bike! Sheesh! What is this world coming to??
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  30. It's Dog or Nothing said:

    Garden gnomes are scary! I can’t even get Atka to walk past a cardboard box

    • Ha! Atka sounds like a dog after my own heart. The gnome twins looked like they had secrets. I don’t like secrets. Sometimes cardboard boxes also have secrets….

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. I imagine the veterans and those library peeps sure enjoy you Cupcake. Now I understand the cat on the bicycle and the ladder, but what’s up with the Garden Gnomes?

  32. tinamcho said:

    Yes, following rules is helpful, Cupcake. I hope you are chosen to be a therapy dog!

  33. Cupcake, my philosophy is rules are made to be broken. Some rules make sense. Other rules are ridiculous and were set in place so someone could keep others from getting what they’ve already got. Like when Jen says I can’t eat cat food because the cats need to eat it. I say, if I can get a bite, I’m going for it!

  34. The very first rule to be set is that you never have to learn to ride a bike, Cupcake – whether it has rainbow wheels or not! The second rule should be that you never has to mingle with garden gnomes. This would be just humiliating for a therapy dog!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.