Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Hidden

Spring is finally coming. Things that have been hidden under the snow are coming back. Look! It’s a coffee cup!

dd cup

Mom’s new story was hidden under the snow in her brain. Every single day, when she started working on it, she gave it a new title, made a list of new characters, decided on a new theme, and gave them new goals to accomplish, new problems to solve, and different obstacles to overcome.

confusion

It’s a good thing spring is coming. Mom’s hidden story is coming back. It’s her third day working with the same title, the same theme, the same characters, and they have the same goals, problems, and obstacles as they had yesterday.

writing2

I think spring has sprung….

Look! It’s a banana!

peel

I wonder if the black bananas taste better than the yellow ones….

And a ginger ale bottle.

gingerale

And my beehive is back from under the snow!!

hive

Hello, old friend…

Comments on: "Hidden" (81)

  1. You have some very strange things growing under the snow in your part of the world, Cupcake! I hope your mom’s story keeps growing.

  2. mollieandalfie said:

    OMD Cupcake, you are going to find all sorts of surprises hidden under the snow. So pleased Mommy brain is thawing out and she is working on her story 🙂 xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. fredrieka said:

    My momwithoutpaws is jealous that is what you found, she has been picking up Ol Cissy and my poop. 3 grocery bags full so far and the snow is still melting..

  4. you have A LOT more grass showing than we do! We still have quite a bit of snow out there!

  5. Wow you found a complete menu under the snow! Congrats! Spring is great for stories, they had a hibernation and they will be fresh and like new in Spring. Like the grass and the daffodils :o)

  6. You are going to be able to start your own corner store with all your findings. You’ll be rich in no time.

  7. Oh Cupcake all those wonderful treasures are BACK! Goodbye snow, hello treasure hunt! May I suggest you avoid the black bananas?? Otherwise you’ll probably be asking to go for a walk WAY TOO OFTEN (if you get my drift). We had a surprise snow so all my treasures are back under snow – can’t wait to see them again…….warm temperatures are coming!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Spring is definitely on the way, S. Hang in there. Mom won’t let me have any of my treasures to keep (or eat). I think she wants them all to herself.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Good for mom!! It stinks when the characters or obstacles change, especially if you’re already thinking it’s going one particular way.

    And I suspect that despite your happiness as seeing your old friends, mom is less than thrilled. 🙂

  9. I hope your Mum’s story continues to grow, just like the daffodils in spring! Luckily, over here, whee find grass under the snow, not rubbish. Then again, whee don’t really leave the garden much, tehe!
    The Pigs xx

  10. Oh the joy!!! To be able to move forward with your story is the best news there is!!!

    ✿♥ღ Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    http://handcraftedbyus.wordpress.com

  11. Spring! Tomorrow! Yahoo! Spring rocks! I am doing a happy dance. Now it’s your turn. 😉
    Steer clear of the trash! Yuk!

  12. LovableLobo said:

    The daffodils are up, here, in the Pacific Northwest and Spring is in the air! It is a lovely time for discovery, Cupcake!

  13. McKinley is just a hair envious of you, Cupcake. We still have several feet of snow and she can’t find anything under the two feet or more of snow we have left. She just said, “Ruff! Ruff! Ruff!” so I think it is a little “rough” on her. However, she thinks you look just marvelous in your lovely purple coat and attractive Jack Russell markings.

    Snuggles and barks from McKinley and a happy hello from her Grandma. 😉

  14. I’m glad you see signs of spring. I don’t yet. Cupcake and the Treasures Beneath the Snow would make a fun book — you have the nose for it.

  15. Oh no.. your poor momma! I write as well so I know what its like to struggle with a story. The best piece of advice I can give is to let it sit and marinate for a few days if she is stuck. It works wonders. Any ways, enjoy your weird items under the snow.

    • Thanks, P. Marinating sounds delicious…. I mean *cough* that sounds like a great idea. Since Mom only writes for an hour a day, that thing has plenty of time to get marinated!

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Cupcake and the snow treasures…what a joy to see the new and old familiar things that the winter hid! we remember the beehive 🙂 and mums story coming along with some Spring in its step is wonderful ..it is great when a recipe starts to come together because the end result can be delicious!! Hugs Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. Last time, I tasted the beehive. Next time I will fall on top of it and roll around. I tried it, but Mom was not on board with the idea. She can’t watch me like a hawk forever…. Can she??

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Aroooo there Cupcake…we though that maybe you had gotten stuck under the snow…we were thinking about you last night and wondering where you’ve been.
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W and S. I WAS stuck under the snow – about a hundred times this winter. Somehow, I struggled my way out, plus sometimes, Mom carried me. I’m thawing out, now, though.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. hungryhungryhippo404 said:

    What a clever mumma you have Cupcake! 🙂

  19. Oh boy Cupcake, you have found some really interesting items under the snow! Our Mommy has tried to keep up with picking up our doo doo’s in the yard, but when it kept snowing on us, it was hard to find em all. But, now that our snow is almost all melted in our yard, she has a lot of clean up work to do! We can’t wait for better & warmer weather here! ❤ and hugs!

    • Thanks, N and B. If these treasures were at your house, your mom would probably make a craft out of them. Or build a car!!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • LOL, now that is funny! A car! I did find an empty jar of mayonnaise one day on my way walking to the bank and I wondered “who in the heck drives around the neighborhood with a jar of mayonnaise?” It was a strange find for sure!

  20. I think black bananas are a bit mushy but they still taste good, think you should have a nibble when your mummy isn’t looking 🙂

  21. It’s a very good thing spring is here to uncover all those hidden things!

  22. Beehive … What a find 🙂

  23. and the peeps think that snow will furrever cover up their senseless tossing aside of their trash…oh wait! Maybe it will…I think it is called global warming or something like that…glad you have some unfrozen ground to take a walk on Cupcake, paw hugs, Savvy peeEss so happy Mom’s story is sticking

  24. We only have snow in the “big” piles. (they are small now, but big when we were smothered in snow) 😉

  25. Cupcake, I’m glad your mom’s hidden stories are coming back. Keep encouraging her. 🙂

  26. […] Cupcake an awesome little dog who has great adventures! Whee love Cupcake so much and our Cupcake is so proud that she shares the same name! […]

  27. Wow! I didn’t know that snow could hold such treasures! I wish we got snow like that here. Maybe your Mom’s characters are now becoming old friends like your bee hive.

  28. look at all the “treasures” you found!!!!

  29. It is amazing what one can find under all that snow! Black bananas are the best!!! Isn’t it amazing how long humans take to write stories?

  30. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Your Mom sure is very good at persevering! I think she’ll find a great story when she gets to the end! 🙂

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  31. You’re so lucky to have things appearing from under the snow. We never got any snow this year.

  32. I think I have some snow clouds in my head. Whenever I put aside a piece of writing for a longer period of time, it becomes covered with a thick layer of snow. I gaze at it in astonishment as if I never saw it!

  33. Being clear on your ideas is definitely the most important thing when coming up with a story. Hopefully you’ll keep on the right track.

  34. So cute, cupcake!

  35. I was reading the comment about one of your followers who lets her story rest and comes back to it later. I have a really hard time with that. I create and then publish. I average 2-4 hours on one of my more “meaningful” pieces, but I am not sure if that is the norm..haha Creating is hard work. Sometimes I will sit on a story to see if I should develop it in a different direction. But it is rare. Linus gives me little time to do that..haha Alesia

    • Linus needs to take you out for a walk. Then you can let your stories rest. Mom doesn’t look at a finished story for a week at least – usually longer. In the meantime, don’t even THINK about it. Just go ahead and start something new. Try it!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • I will try to!! Linus does not walk with me any more. I took him into his doctor of 14 years and she said he has bad knees and hips…Poor fella. He stopped walking with me about 9 months ago.. He only wants to stay very close to me and not leave my side. I still do think your idea is very good. I have to try it and see what I think. : ) PS: Linus is crying for my attention and barking at me while I write this…What a chararacter!!!

  36. Spring is great for hidden things to be uncovered… or bring their faces into the light. I’m glad you are helping your mom Cupcake. Do you sit right under her chair when she writes so she stays in one place until she finally has to visit the little girl’s room? My Cooper does!

  37. Everything tastes better when its old and black colored… -The Collies

  38. […] Obstacles have been an issue for Mom. She is aware of it and is working on doing better. Licking my tail bandage has been an issue for me. I am aware of it, and when my bandage is off, I will stop – not right away, but as soon as I taste what’s left of my post-surgery tail. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.