Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Making changes is something writers have to do – whether they like it or not.

Mom is one of those writers who does NOT like it. But she does it. Sometimes, she gets a story scored by Rate Your Story, sometimes, her online critique group suggests the changes, and sometimes, she gets a flat out rejection and knows changes have to be made.

She reads and rereads her story. She asks questions like, “Will illustrations enhance the story?” and “Is the sequence of the plot events logical?” and “Do the obstacles increase through the story to a critical level that seems hopeless?” and “Are you licking your tail bandage?” Changes are made based on the answers to those questions. Mostly the answers are,  “Yes. Yes. No. And Who? Me?.”

Obstacles have been an issue for Mom. She is aware of it and is working on doing better. Licking my tail bandage has been an issue for me. I am aware of it, and when my bandage is off, I will stop – not right away, but as soon as I taste what’s left of my post-surgery tail.

What just happened…?

Story changes and bandage changes are not the only changes around here. Next week, we will move to a new apartment. Mom and I have visited the new place,

brought some of our things there,

got some new things delivered,

and we have played there a lot.

Our illustrations are just iPhone photos,

the sequence of the moving steps seems logical,

and we are sure there will be no obstacles, and nothing critical or hopeless.

I’m hopeful I’ll spend a lot of time right here…

Thanks, Socrates. We are focused on “building the new.” New story improvements, new tail sizes, and a new home.

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (59)

  1. That fellow Socrates gave good advice about change cuz sometimes it’s hard to get our paws around new things. I like the look of your new digs and looks like some nice new stuffs have been delivered. Red is definitely your color. Happy Easter and happy moving. Lady Caroline

    • Thanks, Lady C. I’m totally on board with the new place. That floor is begging for some of my furs to shed down onto it. I can’t wait.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. oh I love your new place… that is one of that good changes what happen rarely… mostly changes contain a lot of annoying stuff…and you often have to remove something… and then efurrything is incomplete… like the toybox without the shredded toys or a story what suddenly looks uneven somehow after removing words or sentences…

    • Thanks, P. Mom has had MANY stories that she changed and changed and then she got lost in all the changes and said, “This thing stinks!” Ya just never know…

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Good luck with your move and hope all goes smoothly.Looks a great place and is that a grass in your new garden? Is the tail getting easier? Benji hopes you don’t have to wear the collar for much longer. x x x

    • Thanks, M. The tail is definitely feeling better. I can wag it really hard when I get excited. I was sad to hear the doctor say to keep my bandage on for 2 more weeks. That seems like a long time.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    Hi Cupcake!
    Getting used to new changes or as we say in our house the new normal can be a challenge. I know you and your mom are up for it even though there is a lot happening at one time right now.
    I know you want to explore your healing itchy tail but licking it is only going to make it worse, at least that’s what My Margret tells me when I have a hot spot.
    We hope your move goes good, your mom figures out her story changes, and your tail heals fast. ~nose nudges Belle Pup

    • Thanks, B. I am pretty sure I will love the new normal. Mom, too. Once we are settled in, she will have time to work on writing and I will stop running from room to room wondering if anybody is trying to kill me. Good times….

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. That is quite a big change in a small dog’s life. We hope you have a great time in your new home!

    • Thanks, collies. I’m sure Mom and I will have fun, plus we’ll visit the private dog park. Me+NoLeash=Fun

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. So excited for your Mom and you to move into your new home! It looks wonderful! And the dog park… woooEeee! You are already loving that! Your Mom is so right about changes and obstacles. We have to make changes whether we like it or not and we have to face obstacles… not easy at all. The quote… so very good! Good Morning!

    • Thanks, Pix! That quote is a great way to live life and to keep moving forward without looking back. That sounds like a plan!

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Your new place looks beautiful, Cupcake!!!! I’m eager to see it with all of your furniture and toys and things arranged! This is GOOD change!

  8. We hope the changes aren’t too stressful, Cupcake! Just stick by Mom’s side when the moving folks arrive & you’ll be all cozy in your new apartment before you know it.

    • Great advice, PT. I’m pretty sure the moving guys will be fixing to kill me. Mom will keep me on my leash and I will stay close to her. Maybe I will even try to trip her a few times.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. We could all use some changes, especially since the weather is warming up and it’s time to get out of the winter routines. I’ve been working on not barking at every sound I hear now that the windows are opened.

    It looks like a nice place you’re moving into. Good luck.

    I hope your tail feels better soon.

    • Thanks, C. Not barking out the window every 5 minutes is a tough nut to crack. Good luck with that. Good luck to your family, too. They are on their own if you are not allowed to warn them of dangers like people minding their own business, the mailman doing his job, leaves falling from trees, neighborhood cats hiding under cars, and rocks that you never noticed before…

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Katie Isabella said:

    I can’t wait for you and Mom to get all moved in/. Then she will have time to concentrate on her stories and hey, cone of shame usually comes with licking wounds. Not fair is it!?
    Love and smoochies

    • Thanks, KI. Love and smoochies are exactly what I need. My cone is just part of my life now. I got a few good licks on my bandage and Mom said I was naughty. Now she is cone-obsessed. It is not my favorite outfit, FYI.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Cupcake, I have to say I think your tail bandages are very spring-like, pretty colors. If you have to wear a bandage, you really make it look good!

  12. Awesome beautiful. You have so much wisdom. Your blog posting really supports my mom today in getting back to walking and her old self pre-accident days. Thanks so much for that. Sending ya’ll bunches of hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks, B. Glad I could help. I’m happy your mom knows that even though it feels like she will never feel better, she WILL. Her body is healing itself hour by hour. Soon she will hit the bricks at her lunch hour and be on the road to recovery. Road. Get it? See what I did there?

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Snorts with piggy laughter. Not only are you beautiful, you have a brilliant mind my sweet Cupcake. Love it. Now for some reason, I need to watch the movie Wizard of Oz. XOXO – Bacon

  13. I am so not into change. At least not at first. But as mom always reminds me, don’t worry about August in April, live in the moment, look for the silver lining, and don’t lick my tail. Wait! What?!?!
    Have fun in your new digs. 🐾❤🐶🏢

    • GAH! She tells you the tail thing, too?? She’s obsessed! I swear! That other stuff is good, though. Embracing the now is a great way to live. I call it – Living Like a Dog. We doggies forget the past and have no idea what the future even is. That’s probably why I still hesitate in the doorway even though the door is fixing to slam on my tail. Lucky I have Mom to look out for me. And call me the name Idiot.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. I’m so glad your tail is doing better, Cupcake! I(SHUDDER) hurt just thinking of your tail. Boomer

  15. Great quote. Sounds like you are building upon the new. Love that new couch. Congratulations on the new apartment.

    • Thanks, P. Mom and I are building like crazy to make our new house feel like home. It’ll feel even better when all our old, familiar stuff is in their new spots in our new place.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Frankie and Ernie said:

    Hope your Tail is doing BETTER.
    OMD that is a beautiful new place you are gonna have.. it looks PAWfect fur some Major ZOOMIES…

    • Thanks, F and E. That floor is definitely zoomie-worthy. There’s not one single scratch on it…. YET.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Good luck with the move! And I hope you soon get used to your new tail when the bandage comes off.

    • Thanks, C. We’ll need all the luck we can get. Moving gives us a lot of things to think about. I hope my new tail looks cute when the bandages finally come off.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Lots of “new” things Cupcake! That new tail will be just fine once you can get that bandage off……and the new house? Gonna be wonderful for you and your Mom. Your Mom is always looking for ways to make her wonderful stories even better and THAT’s something that isn’t NEW but it’s important. YOU are important too little friend – and we hope that you and your Mom love your new home and everything else just falls into place like it SHOULD!

    Hugs and love, Angel Sam and Teddy too

    • Thanks, Angel S and Little T. We like the way “falling into place” sounds. It makes it seem so easy. Mom and I are prepared to embrace the confusion of moving day and roll with it. Mom is used to rolling with her story characters, so I think she’ll do OK. I am planning to stay on my leash, so I think I’ll do OK, too.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Healing purrs that the tail mends soon. 2 weeks seems like a long time but we have our paws crossed the time in the Cone of Courage speeds by. We are also crossing our paws that your move goes smoothly and that you love your new home.

    • Thanks, Scouts! Time has no meaning to me, but Mom says the word, “This will be the longest 2 weeks of my life.” All I know is when the cone goes on, the cookies come out. That works for me!

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Sorry about the tail bandage, but many congratulations on your new home ~ new begins are always a little scary both for you & your Mom but I just know the 2 of you will rock it, new stories will no doubt flourish with all the positive vibes xx

    • Thanks, Mrs. P. I am hoping to rock the move. Mom is planning to go along to get along, so we should come out of it all with a great new experience and a great new place. Paws crossed.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Very nice place indeed. Dad is thinking of writing and we will suppurrt him. Let that tail heal and you will be checking that tail out in no time

    • Sounds like a plan, T. When your dad is writing he will need your suppurrt. I help Mom by staring at her while she works. She says it’s creepy. That’s good… Right..?

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. So sorry that your tail got hurt Cupcake. 😦 You still look very pretty. Like the looks of your new place! You and Mom should enjoy it! Love the videos of you beautiful!
    Luvs
    Marty

  23. You really do have a lot at changes. I hope you enjoy your new home.

  24. That new appartment looks amazing!!! Good luck with the move and all those changes. Here we have changes too! After 4 years without a job, I finally have job again at the library!! It’s lovely but very busy. Charley thought it was much better before but discovered to have more undisturbed nap times is not too bad either. And of course, as soon as I am home again we go for even longer walks! Hope to see more of your beautiful new home soon. Xo Johanna and Charley

    • Thanks, J and C. You are PERFECT for working at the library, J. What a fun job. Books, kids, stories, readers…. it’s like Read to a Pet Night all day long! Fun. Leave it to Charley to find the silver lining.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  25. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay yore noo playse luks verry nice!!! i am shoor yoo wil enjoy it their!!! i hope yore poor tail is feeling better!!! hay my dada sez that wunse an aydjent told him he mayd things too eezy for his karakters and that he needed to chayse his karakters up a tree and then throw roks at them i think that sownds like sumthing i wood do to skwirrels!!! wel eksept for the rok throwing part!!! ok bye

    • Thanks, D the V. Your dada got good advice. It is always tough for Mom to add struggles for her little character friends. She needs to do more chasing and rock throwing. And I need to figure out how to reach the garbage pail and the counter.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Cupcake – We are so excited for you and your Mom. Change is Now! Change is wonderful. Change is what will keep you going forever. At least that is what Mom tell us. Your new place looks cool and we look forward to watching your adventures unfold. Best of luck. – Your friends at DogDaz Zoo

    • Thanks for the good wishes, DogDaz friends. So far, Mom and I are loving our new place. And moving is hardly any work at all….. for me….

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. It’s getting very exciting now! You will both love your new home, I’m sure. You’ll have loads of new places to explore and your mum will be able to do loads more great writing. When you move house in England, it’s required by law that any dogs in the household get loads and loads of extra treats. Hope it’s the same over there??
    Monty and Chicken 🐾❤🐾

    • W-w-w-what?? Oh yeah, M and C. I will cross my paws that that treat law is valid, here, too. Now this move has got my attention! Thanks for the heads up!

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. You’re going to do just fine Cupcake, you have a very wise Mom! I can’t wait for your new adventures.

  29. Change isn’t easy, Cupcake. I do hope you and your mom transition nicely into your new home. 👍

Leave a Reply

