Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch?”

― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

I like lunch. I don’t officially eat lunch, but Mom does. And once in a while she shares it with me. I’m not allowed to beg, but sometimes (every single day), that rule accidentally gets broken and Mom says the word, “No human food” just before she gives me a tiny taste.

beg

I do not believe there is a huge difference between human food and dog food. Yummy and delicious is yummy and delicious, no matter what the container looks like.

purinapasta

Mom likes to use “short, easy words” just like Winnie the Pooh. And most of the time, that’s exactly what she uses when she writes stories AND when she talks to me. She says, “Sit” not “Ensconce yourself”

sit2

and “Down” not “Move towards a lower position”

down

and “Fetch” not “Pick up and deliver.” I understand these small words and they do the job well…. except when they don’t.

Huh??

Fetch? Huh??

In stories, it’s not about the size of the word. It’s more about what the word really says and whether the word needs help from another word to say what it needs to say. This is especially true with verbs, which I think are something like burps. Better to say, “Trudge” than “Walk slowly with head down” and better to say, “Chomp” than “Eat quickly and noisily” and better to say, “Whisper” than “Speak softly in hushed tones.”

So in an effort to keep things short and precise, I would like to say, “Gimme some!”

cupcakes

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (78)

  1. I totally agree with you, short words are great. they have the same effect (sometimes) like endless sentences and they safe time and effort for peeps&pets. …. what we can spend with ice cream… want some too :o)

  2. I absolutely LOVE that quote!

  3. Short and sweet. Great post, Cupcake!

  4. what about treats
    what about get the goat
    what about hugs
    wow you are so very right

  5. Ice cream – oh yeah!

  6. YES!!! You are so RIGHT!!!

    Fuzzy and Boomer
    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  7. Well done Cupcake! Short and concise…….in fact I think in that instance you could have just said GIMME and made your point!!!!

    Hugs, Sammy

  8. The look on your face with your paw on that box of Barilla? OMG! Priceless. Adorable. Hysterical! LOVE IT! Too many words? Ugh!

  9. Frankie and Ernie said:

    YESsssssssssssssss we like those SHORT and SWEET words… like NAP? PeePee?
    SNACK? BED?

  10. How about “Great Post!” instead of “That was an excellently executed summary of the benefits of using few carefully selected words rather than a lengthy conglomeration of phrases.” 😉

  11. I live conversations about food too, though I like eating it better lol

  12. That Winnie the Pooh is a genius. He knows what’s really important in life. As do you, I believe!

  13. ..and you don’t have to say anything, Cupcake, it’s all in the face…you little cutie pie 🙂 Pawkisses 🙂

  14. Some of my favourite quotes are AA Milne. Those cakes look too good! X

  15. I think you and your mom have the concept of “short and sweet” down perfectly, Cupcake 🙂 Scout and Jemma like the word “cookie” (which refers to any treat of any kind from the milk bones the UPS driver hands out to a side of beef if they could get it :))

    • Ha! I have a feeling a side of beef would be delicious. Jemma and Scout know that fewer words and more action (more meat) is the way to go! I’m on board with that.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. May I add NOW to that Cupcake? Hope you got some of that yummy whipped cream!
    Marty

  17. What about lunch? Sounds like a super suggestion to us! Looking good Cupcake, gorgeous as ever ❤
    The Pigs xx

  18. Ensconce yourself…OMD…that had us howling! If mom were to say that to us we’d think she was talking a different language or something.
    We are BIG fans of the Pooh Bear…he is very wise…and food orientated, like US!
    Wally & Sammy

  19. A brilliant quote

  20. Short juicy verbs are always best. Like your examples. Sounds like Mom (like me) is confusing you about eating people food. I know which Archie would pick. A friend makes home made dog bisquits that actually taste good and Archie loves them.

  21. That’s a great quote! Thanks for sharing it, Cupcake! I’m all for short and precise.

  22. Its all very confusing in the human world Cupcake,why can’t they just keep things simple?xx Speedy

  23. LovableLobo said:

    You’re talking my language, Cinnabon Cupcake!

  24. Great post! We use one-word commands here, as well. Well, with the exception of saying their name to get their attention. Otherwise, it ends up sounding like the teacher on the Peanuts cartoons to them! 🙂

    • Funny enough, EVERYTHING around here sounds like Charlie Brown’s teacher. I know Mom used to be a teacher…. Maybe she WAS Charlie Brown’s teacher!! That would explain a lot!

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. hahahahahah! Stunning post as usual! I agree with you there Cupcake. Short words are much better. I love the photo’s. You are so adorable and would make a great advertisement for those yummy treats. I won’t be able to resist your ‘begging’ for sure. Those anime-eyes! 😆

  26. Cupcake you said it best – and made us laugh! Love it! Wonderful post and great points I fully agree with 🙂

  27. I love the first picture of you standing up like a little human so cute!

  28. So cute. I am having a lot of problems with my wordpress. I am not sure if its the PC or the site. I also could not leave comments on my Ipad. UGH! Anyway–I love looking at your sweet Cupcake. Linus is living the life of a nursing home patient these days. He gets up a little, and struts his stuff for a few minutes here or there, but he is just getting to be more and more my old man…sign….HE is still with us and such a sweet heart. So I can not complain. He sends his woofs to Cupcake!

  29. Yes, short words are best. Treat. Mom. No. Opps!

  30. Not only do I love that face of yours, I also love this blog!!

  31. A good word is hug…here’s a huge hug for you Cupcake 😀 ❤

  32. Such beautiful, pleading eyes 🙂

  33. I want some of those too. They look yummy!

  34. Anyone who asks if I’d like lunch must be okay! I don’t usually get lunch either, Cupcake.

  35. You’re right Cupcake….the words should be to the point and short and sweet.

    (((Shoko)))

  36. nom, nom, nom, -the collies

  37. I love the paw on the box photo, it’s awesome.

  38. Wherever I go there’s always Pooh.

  39. Short and sweet is this post 🙂 xxxx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.