Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

Today’s 5 words come from the story Mom is revising right now. Soon, these words might not even be in the story anymore. Who knows? She might revise them right out!

61. Dinner – I eat Morning Dinner and Nighttime Dinner. I like them both equally. Plus I like treats, crumbs, floorfood, sharing table food with Mom, and stealing food from bags, purses, and pockets. Also, if I could figure out how to open the garbage pail, I would never be hungry again.

14. Furniture – All our furniture is settled and arranged in our new apartment. I am allowed on the furniture.

Sometimes, Mom calls me the name of “Filthy” and “NutJob” and “Seriously? More Drool on the Couch?”

479. Crinkle – In the old days of writing with pencil and paper, Mom would wrinkle and crinkle and tear up the papers with mistakes on them. They all got tossed in the trash. Computer writing is different. It’s quieter, simpler, and neater. Find, Replace, Cut, and Delete make no sound at all. Neither does the Recycle Bin. They’re loud as a 747 in Mom’s head, though.

8. Fixing – Fixing first drafts is serious business for a writer. Mom’s first drafts are usually way too long, way too rambling, with way too many pointless passages, and never enough conflict or rising action. My most useful rising actions are begging,

giving a high five, and dancing.

5. Reward – There are many types of rewards. When I do my therapy work at the Veteran’s Home, the old soldiers always say thank you to Mom and me for coming to visit them.

Who’s next?

(Sometimes, they also say I’m pretty.)

I know…. Right…?

Mom says thank you to THEM because seeing them smile and hearing THEIR stories is our best reward.

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (49)

  1. I sometimes wish the ole times back… imagine the satisfaction to grab the page you don’t like and to form it to a grenade and to fire it through the room… ooooh the relief ;o) I think after such a kind of “work out” the air is cleaned and all thoughts and ideas are fresh and new like the nature after a thunderstorm… I mean we can kick the laptop though the room too but that is a very eggs-pensive pleasure ;o)

    • Kicking the laptop is not allowed, P. You’re right – too expensive. Mom doesn’t even like it when I drool on the laptop or lick it. Ditto her tablet and her Kindle ad her shoes and ….well, everything. No drooling or licking! Does she realize I’m a dog???

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Cupcake, I bet you could figure out how to open that trashcan if you put your mind to it – you’re one smart cookie – oops I mean CUPCAKE! I have five words for you……(1) adorable, (2) clever, (3) happy, (4) cuddly, (5) precious…….those words are JUST FOR YOU from me! I’m glad you’re allowed on the furniture – so am I – isn’t it great?!

    Love and Hugs, Teddy

    • I LOVE your words, T. They are big favorites of mine. The trashcan continues to defy me. If I peek in when Mom has it open, she says I will learn a lesson when my nose gets stuck. I actually think that would be awesome!

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. You do look cute when you’re begging! I’m surprised anyone can resist!

  4. I really enjoyed Five Word Friday! We sometimes do breakfast for dinner… I love bacon, eggs, and grits with cream gravy for dinner. The videeoh was fun! It is always FUN to watch you in action or even doing a street nap. You have fast feets! I am happy you are allowed on the furniture because couch naps are a wonderful thing.

    • Couch naps are GREAT, Pix. I enjoy them almost as much as street naps. Almost. Furniture is very bouncy and I like to take full advantage of that. Mom says that’s why we can’t have nice things.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. So here’s the problem. Because there’s no more crinkle, the garbage pail lid is not up as much as in the ‘olden days’. Hence, less access to that plethora of ‘dinner’. Also, I hear say that they sometimes refer to you as ‘handsome’! 😳 Either way, you’re a looker. Sonny sends a high five for five word Friday, even though today is Thursday. ✋🏼 😳🐶❤️

    • Today is Wednesday… right? So true about the garbage pail lid! Nice to see you!

    • Days of the week continue to confuse me – and I am thrilled to see I’m not the only one. You are right, G. The trashcan barely ever opens at all at writing time. I’m pretty sure Mom won’t throw away her laptop or tablet, so unless paper makes a comeback, I’m doomed to climbing on top of the garbage pail and wondering what went wrong. Plus I’m pretty sure there’s pizza in there.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. I love your Five Word Friday beautiful!! And your home looks like you’ve been there forever – so lovely. XOXO – Bacon

  7. I hope Mom doesn’t cut the word “floorfood,” Cupcake. The TwoOrangePups like floorfood, too. Don’t tell them, but sometimes I leave food on the floor just for them.

    Thanks for spreading some Wednesday-morning cheer!

    • Intentional FloorFood!!?? You may be the best mom ever! Lucky Pups. Once Mom accidentally dropped an egg on the floor, and suddenly, my life went from, “STOP LICKING THE FLOOR, WEIRDO.” to “Come here, Cupcake. Look what I have for you….” I cleaned it up like a good doggie. It’s the least I can do.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. I LOVE YOUR CROWN!!!! Boomer

    • Thanks, B. That crown was from when I was Queen of National Dog Day. Plus I wear it with my tutu sometimes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. chesterspaniel said:

    It sounded like you’ve got tap dance shoes on in that video. Oh, and I like all the kinds of food you mentioned too!

    • Thanks, C. Even though Mom trims my nails obsessively, our wood floor still makes tap dancing sounds when I run. I’m more a ballerina than a tap dancer, but I may decide to branch out sometime….

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Hi Cupcake. Our Lexi would have agreed that word #61 is the most important word, especially with every description you gave of it, and do not ever, ever delete it. By the way, every trash can we own has a lid, except for the few that are under counters with doors. 🙂

    • Lexi was a chowhound like me! #getinmybelly It’s the lid that stops my trash eating progress, A. Lids. Who ever invented those things, anyway!?

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. I know you’re supposed to use the computer these days, but I still write all my first drafts on paper… in spite of the inevitable crinkle when I have to start over 🙂 I hope your therapy folk say you’re pretty every time they see you because how could they not? Good luck with that garbage can, Cupcake! 🙂

    • Thanks, S. Paper garbage is a nice change of pace in the trashcan. In case the paper touches a piece of cheese or a watermelon skin or some whipped cream, It magically becomes FOOD! Yay! TrashFood!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, those soldiers know a pretty girl dog when they see one and boy, you are. I bet you enjoy going to meet them and look forward to it.

    Funny, my mom has some different names for me as well. One is a long one. “You know better than that!” But there are plenty of shorter ones too. XXX

    • Ha! YouKnowBetterThanThat is a fun nickname, KI. Plus mostly, the answer is, “NO! I do NOT know better than that!’ Nicknames are wicked fun! Mom and I definitely DO enjoy visiting the old soldiers at the VA. If we go after lunch, sometimes their hands taste like burgers!

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. That’s awesome C! Glad you are allowed to furniture hop at the new apartment! 🙂

  14. Two dinners? Choppy is jealous!

  15. Oh, sweet Cupcake. Are you sure your last name isn’t Hoover? You’re just so stinkin’ adorable-it’s no wonder the veterans fall in love with you just like the rest of us. Digital treats and ear scratches for you precious girl.

  16. You do realize that dinner in the morning is called breakfast? 😀 I think you guys are great for what you do for the veterans.

  17. I would like to look through the garbage….just to see, mind you not to eat everything in sight. What do they through away? Why? Couldn’t we all enjoy a big bowl of old jam with mold on it. MOL

    Shoko

    • Oh yeah, S. Moldy jam sounds like just the thing! Plus pizza edges, potato peels, used napkins, toast crusts, tissues, and paper plates with a little whipped cream leftovers. Trash rocks. I would love to “look at it” with you!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    Hi Cupcake!
    Your hopping abilities are awesome, I especially like the hop that goes straight into the laying down napping motion, easily a score of 10! ~nose nudges Bessie Pup

  19. Cupcake, you sure do have a good time and then get treats too. Such a good life that you have. Have a great week end.

  20. I love writing on my laptop but always have a notebook full of scribbled notes and ideas close at hand. Cupcake would make anyone happier with a visit!

  21. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay i like dinner and furnitcher and reward those ar all gud wurds!!! and krinkel is fun if it is the inside of a toy dooing it!!! i am not so fond of fixed tho sinse that is wot they did to me a long time ago wen i thawt i wuz going owt for noodels only ther wernt enny noodels if yoo no wot i meen!!! ok bye

  22. That video was P A W S O M E, Cupcake. You look so purroud while presenting your new, beautiful couch. Granny and Grandpaw just bought a new couch too and I’m allowed on it too. They didn’t bought the leather variety, because I put my claws in it and that’s not the problem, but to get them out, that’s the problem 😀 Still takes a few month for the delivery, in the meantime I am enjoying looking at you and your couch 😀 If you need a paw for the dustbin, just call me…we can have dinner together….MOL 😀 Pawkisses for a sunshiny day 🙂 ❤

    • Ha! Ha! You are funny, Little B. Mom covers the sofa with a dog-protective cover. It’s pretty easy for me to dig that cover off though, whenever I feel like it. Doggie covers are no match for me. That’s why they call it FURniture.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. i liKe carRots especiallY wheN moMmy dropS theM shE cAlls mE muffiNhead iS thaT somethiNg goOd

  24. Computers are convenient, but sometimes you just need the smell and touch of real paper. But you definitely are cute.

Leave a Reply

