Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Not What It Seems

In the three months we’ve lived in our new apartment, Mom and I have seen lots of deer,

a million birds, a ton of chipmunks, a spider, a bee,

*not the actual bee*

and three dead snakes.

*actual snake corpse*

Once I was in the dog park and there was a little brown dog in there with me. I wanted to play with him, but he kept ignoring me. When I sniffed him, he smelled like laundry detergent. Mom said, “Get it!” and “Fetch it!” and “Ugh. Why do I bother?”

What’s up with this guy?

This week, we ALMOST saw another dead snake, but then when we got closer, it was a shoelace.

Things are not always what they seem!

Recently, Mom got a critique of one of her stories.

The main suggestion was to “try putting some humor in.” GAH! She already thought there WAS humor in there!

Surprise! To her, it seemed funny, but it wasn’t what it seemed. Oh well. At least she knows what to work on.

First she will head to the library to read some of the books suggested to see the kind of humor she SHOULD have had in her story. Hopefully, she will be able to add in or switch out some of the events with the right humor that really IS what it seems.

Plus if we see another dead snake, I plan to roll on it and smear his guts all over my furs and smear my furs all over his guts. If I’m quick enough I may be able to pull it off this time. …unless it’s another shoelace.

*actual shoelace* Bummer…

 

 

 

Comments on: "Not What It Seems" (56)

  1. I hear ya… much more worse than snakes are strings, shoe laces or branches what look like snakes… and apart from the yikes-moment we have the embarrassing moment too… maybe it is the same with stories, that they are fixed on a string or shoe lace and some readers can not see the funny or thrilling things we saw it in it while writing?

    • I agree with you, P. I was excited to see another snake, and disappointed that it was a shoelace. I guess that’s how Mom felt when her “funny” story was determined to be short on the funny. I’m hopeful about finding another flattened snake, so she’s probably hopeful about revising her story too…

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Not enough humor??? Not the right kind of humor??? I find that hard to believe….And Charley thinks you are incredible brave, Cupcake, to go so near to anything snake related cause she is is every scared. She would like to join you though in that shopping card in the pet store…xoxox Johanna

    • Thanks, J. Charley is smart to steer clear of snakes. I am only interested in the dead ones. If I even saw a live one, Mom would probably have to carry me home.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    ooohhhh snakes, yikes! You are very brave Cupcake, we don’t even like big worms here at our house…well My Margret doesn’t anyway so I guess that means we don’t too?
    Tell your mom to hang in there, we don’t understand a lot about writing but it seems that your mom should be able to write her own way, what she likes, I mean it’s her book right? I guess people are trying to help but…well just tell her to not give up. ~nose nudges Belle Pup

    • Thanks, B. Mom never gives up, but it’s always good to hear encouragement. Plus, just for the record, she is VERY afraid of earthworms, so these dead snakes are not making her happy. Sometimes, she says the word, “Keep away from it!”

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Maybe the person who read it didn’t have the ‘right’ sense of humour!

    I hate it when the bipeds make things smell of laundry detergent.

    I think you need to cultivate a you-threw-it-you-fetch-it look of disdain when asked to fetch, Cupcake.

    • I know that look, C. I use it often because Mom throws stuff a lot for me to “fetch.” She’s a mental case. I agree with you about the detergent-smell. It’s the OPPOSITE of dog-smell.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Ewww, hope you don’t actually run into another dead snake! Alive or dead, we avoid them!

  6. Cupcake, what you write is so humorous! The two orange pups rolled on the floor laughing (Sadie also had a wish-I-could-join-Cupcake-and-the-snake look in her eye). Maybe you can share some of your humor with Mom. Now that would be funny!

    • Good idea, P. Thanks. Mom does need my help often. I guess this is just one more time I need to lend a paw.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. You have to very quick, Cupcake! If you see the snake start rolling even as you are walking…doing it FAST! So by the time you are on the snake your Mom won’t realize it. Then really smear it around….FAST! I’m sure your Mom will be trying to get you off the snake, but you will have beat your Mom to the RUB!!! Boomer

    • Thanks for the advice, B. You are an expert on rolling in naughty stuff, so I am sure you know what you’re doing in that department. Speed is definitely an important component.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. C…I really like how your mom went from talking about snakes into rating a story….a perfect blend for changing subjects…KUDOS! Where did you guys move to…way out in the bush? MOL

    Shoko and Kali

    • Ha! Thanks, S and K. Our new community is definitely a little less city than our old neighborhood, but we’re not quite in the bush yet! Yikes!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Yuckity Yuck Yuck on snake guts…….although I imagine it’s kind of fun rolling around in them (tee hee). Mom and I never get close enough to a possible snake to know if it’s dead, alive or a shoelace though. Mom goes ballistic over snakes. I bet your Mom’s story had some great humor in it – my Mom says humor comes in all flavors and what’s funny to one might not be to another. If your Mom thinks she’s put humor in – I’m SURE she has!!!

    Love, Teddy

    • Thanks, T. Humans are all a little funny about snakes. Not ha-ha funny, but strange funny. You are a little on the itty bitty side to take on a snake, but if you like playing with ribbons, you might enjoy the shoelace…

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Wow, real live deer in front of the apartments. And even though you are hoping for eau de snake, you would soon smell like eau de shampoo!

    • Oh! *gulp* I never thought about that, A. I surely don’t want to do anything that would bring on a B-A-T-H…

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Wow, three months already!
    Chuckled over the snake being a shoelace.
    Genevieve, just remember that humor is subjective, and just maybe whomever critiqued your writing doesn’t have a sense of humor. Have you thought about self-publishing?
    Keep writing!

    • Thanks, T. Mom is afraid of all the work of self-publishing. She only likes to write stories and let other people do all the hard work.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Things are NOT always as they seem, fer sher. 😉 But you can’t always get what you want, what you see is not always what you get, perception is reality, and what goes around comes around. HUH?!?! What?!?!?! Anyway, lesson here, don’t stress cause there’s always tomorrow. But if not, well… 😖

    • Thanks, G. All of what you said is confusing, but 100% true. Especially the part about tomorrow. Tomorrow, Mom is heading to the library and/or the bookstore to see what’s what about funny.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. The Fairy is wondering if your mum would be able to read her story to a child or two, to see if they find it funny. Apparently they are easy to get hold of as most schools have lots of spare children knocking about. With regards to the snakes, my advice would be to start a collection. I’m sure your mum wouldn’t mind if you kept them in the bedroom. 🐍🐍🐍
    Monty and Chicken 🐾

    • You kids have the best ideas, M and C. Mom knows tons of kids that she can read to. And a snake collection in the bedroom sounds like just the thing! It’s exactly what we need around here.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. Cupcake, I know we dogs like stuff lime dead snake guts, but you know what will happen. It’s a four letter word….BATH. Choose you battles pal! Xxxx the recently bathed Fiona

    • Good advice, F. I’m sorry you had to have a bath. I’m hoping to avoid that as much as possible, any way possible, for as long as possible…if possible.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. I suppose a dead snake is better than a live snake!

  16. You have quite the menagerie there, Cupcake. All your new friends look fun, except that dull little puppy and those snakes. Yikes! I used to see live snakes at my old house all the time. I wish I could have found a dead one. I do love rolling in stinky dead things. Now, about your mom’s critique. She should just sit down and have a long talk with you, Cupcake. You’re a humorous girl. You can give her all the help she needs . . . and then maybe she’ll let you roll in a dead snake. 😉

    • That sounds like the perfect trade-off, Miss HL. Thanks for the suggestions. I help Mom and she “helps” me. As long as there isn’t a post-snake-rolling bath involved, I am on board!

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. What strange feedback. We think your mom is quite clever and humorous enough. Our guess is a cat reviewed her story. We think they are rather humorless.
    Your fur-iends,
    Sam & Elsa 🐾

    • Thanks, S and E. Cats! Ugh! I didn’t think of that. I bet they did the add-humor critique. This explains a lot – especially since the story was about a dog!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. chesterspaniel said:

    Wow! There is a lot of wildlife where you live! At the nursing home where ghostwriter works, sometimes the deer eat the flowers, raid the bird feeders, and peek in the windows at night. In winter, they walk along the plowed sidewalks like they own the place!

    • Ha! I would love to see deer peeking in windows, C. That would be something!! Our deer were eating grass, but they didn’t taste the flowers. Neither did I, come to think of it. Hmmmm…

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Poor little guy! If I were a doggie and smelled like laundry detergent, I’d play dead, too. Glad to hear that you are such a warm-hearted fellow, Cupcake! 🙂

    • Thanks, C. I shook that little brown doggie till he smelled more like slobber than detergent. Problem solved.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. We see some deer in your yard. Bet that is fun.Sounds like you have lots of animals to keep your eye on Cupcake. You all have a great week end.

    • Thanks, M. Those deer were as big as horses! I didn’t bark at them because Mom said to be a good girl.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Thank goodness we don’t have any/many snakes around here. You’re brave Cupcake! Archie would jump and run the other direction like me. Congrats Mom on the #1 Rate Your Story.

    • Thanks, P. Mom thinks Archie is smart to make a run for it when he sees a snake. I like to investigate while Mom says the word, “Gross.” and “NO! Get away from it!”

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay bummer abowt not beeing aybel to roll in the stinky snayk on akkownt of it wuz a shoolayse!!! hay maybe it kaym off a stinky shoo and then yoo cud stil roll in it ennyway??? ok bye

    • Great idea, D! Next time we pass that shoelace, I will take a tumble on top of it and let you know exactly where it came from.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Oh beautiful – those shoelaces scare me when they look like snakes – really they do. You must protect me. I think I need to be held. Snorts and rolls with piggy laughter ❤ XOXO – Bacon

    • Of course I will protect you, B. You are safe with me. Wait. What? I’m afraid of just about EVERYTHING. Maybe YOU should protect ME!! Or somebody should protect both of us!

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Humor is largely based upon the reader. When I write a post that I think if funny, often times I surprised by seriousness of the comments. Maybe those folks reading mom’s book don’t have the same sense of humor.

    What’s up with all the wildlife you are seeing? Do you live in the country?

    • We agree, J. Humor is in the eye of the beholder, or something like that. We don’t live in the country at all. Just at the top of a hill in the city. It is much more countrified than our other house, though.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Christine said:

    Snakes are toys to Fred and Wilma first they bark at them then Fred picks it up and flings it. Maybe they are the dead snakes you find. We have deer in our yard all the time Fred and Wilma are not allowed to chase them only look at them. They always look back wondering if Fred and Wilma would chase them.

  26. That is awesome! I’m glad you like your new apartment on Wild Life Avenue! 😀 Congrats to your Mom on her story too! 🙂

  27. What is killing the snakes? Do we want to know?

  28. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, I am a little peeved at the group that never has anything positive to say re: your Mom’s good efforts. . If this blog is any indication of your mom’s sense of humor, then whomever is reviewing her stories has oatmeal for brains. Furthermore, a commenter above said your mom should write for herself and be true to her own sense of propriety , humor, fact or fable. So there, Tell that Group to stick THAT in their pipe and smoke it! 💗

  29. OMC you have real wildlife in your neighbourhood, Cupcake…never a dull moment out there, huh 😀 Thank Cat not all the snakes are snakes, they are so unpredictable, that they scare me, but I can live with a shoelace 😀 Now, what’s that all about with the no-humor-part…what kind of grumpy has read your mom’s story? He must have had a bad day…. for sure! Pawkisses for a Happy Caturday 🙂 ❤

  30. Snake rolling…not something humans find terribly humorous!

Leave a Reply

