Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Mom is working on 3 different stories that she’s not crazy about. She is certain that they WILL get better, just like Janet says they will, so she keeps going back and forth from one to the other and moving them forward. Paws crossed that they’ll get better real soon.

Packing for our move to the new apartment is also coming along. Mom is feeling on top of the whole thing and not frazzled at all.

Wait. What? Uh…. Mom? A little help here, please…

I’m on top of everything, too….in my own way.

Mom works on one story and when she gets stuck, she switches to another one till she gets stuck. Then she switches again and works on the third one for a while. Little by little, things are getting done.

Around here, Mom also goes from one thing to another. She empties a cabinet and then switches to the bookshelf and packs up some of that stuff. Then she switches again and packs up the stuff in a desk drawer. Little by little, things are getting done.

With my help, of course…

Mom mind-writes about her stories, too, so by the time she sits down to write, she knows a few ideas to help her get going.

I mind write in my special doggie way.

And when I wake up I have LOTS of ideas to help me get going.

I smell gum.

What?

I smell cookies.

I smell outside.

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (59)

  1. that is a good idea with the switching… and it is like we have a remote in your head and can switch whenever we want… and the one with the remote is the king… so your mom always rules over her stories and none of them can break out or can start a revolution or riot :O))) good luck with the move, we hope efurrything works like eggs-pected…

    • Thanks, P. Mom is ALWAYS in charge of the remote. The one in her head and the one on the couch. Except when I stick it under my belly and try to hatch it like an egg. #iamthecaptainnow

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Christine said:

    A little ADD is good for a story. It works well for me 😊I can’t imagine writing and packing it would make me Frazzled

  3. Hi Cupcake! Good luck with the move and hugs for the both of you (and I know Mom’s stories will turn out great!)! 💙 💙

  4. I like your way of mind writing. It’s relaxing. Gum? Cookies? Yay! You have all the important thoughts in your cute little head. Good luck with the move. Be careful not to lift anything to heavy. Wait! What? 💤💤💤

    • Thanks, G. I do have an uncanny way of keeping my priorities in order – nap, food, outside. Some of my favorite stuff. Work is NOT a favorite….

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    Hi Cupcake!
    The important thing is to keep moving forward. Sounds like that’s what Mom’s doing in both her writing and in packing.
    What a busy time this is for her. I’m glad you are on the job and helping her! I hope everything falls into place soon.
    Cuddles and hugs, Margret for the Pups and Kitties

    • Thanks, M and Pups and Kitties. Busy is the understatement of the century. She still makes time for me, though, so we can play and cuddle and take walks.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. It looks so nice and neat there with a move going on! Moving forward has been a big thing for me this month so reading about your Mom moving forward with both the move and her book writing makes me feel good… both for her and me! I do all my writing, reading, and thinking on the couch!!! Good Morning, Cupcake!

  7. Cupcake I bet you have all kinds of great ideas…..just like your Mom does. I’m sure all three of her stories will make it to the end and turn out just fine but my Mom says she DOES remember mind-writing does help to “get there” ! As for the move – I know you are excited about new spots to explore inside AND outside your new home….it’s always invigorating starting over (except when you’re writing of course!). Be careful your favorite toys make the move!

    Love, Angel Sam and Teddy

    • Thanks, T and Angel S. Great advice! I kept my eyes on the toy box and hidden toy bag. They are packed up nice and tidy along with my dresses – except for a few outfits that I need to wear to therapy work in the meantime and 4 toys that I play with every day.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. They say that a change is as good as a rest. You look cute in your box, Cupcake! Make sure you keep an eye on your toys because bipeds get strange ideas about throwing things away when they’re packing to move.

    • Thanks, C. Mom is a chronic thrower-outter, even when we’re NOT moving. Yikes. I have to stay alert or she might throw ME away!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Oh Cupcake, you are such an inspiration & we’re sure that Mum’s stories will keep improving & the move will go well too with you on top of everything!

    Stay warm & dry in the coming storms. BRRR! Is it really mid-March?

    • Thanks, P. Mom and I are staying warm. I am wearing my sweater and will soon be napping on the couch. #snowdaylikeaboss

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Switching is good. My mom does that too. It keeps things fresh – well she says that anyway. Moving is hard. Don’t let mom pack you okay – snorts! XOXO – Bacon

    • Ha! Thanks B. I am careful when Mom plays Get-in-the-Box with me. If she reaches for the tape to pack me away, I jump out! I’m afraid of the dark.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. That’s a great title for a book…I smell gum, I smell Cookies, I smell outside……

  12. Packing for a move can be the pits just like writing sometimes. You have to ‘eat that elephant one bite at a time’ and then voila! magic happens and all ends up right. Good luck on both fronts.

  13. A new place will be so exciting! New smells, to things to do….YAY! for you, Cupcake!!! Boomer

    • Thanks, B. It isn’t a farm, so I won’t be a farm doggie like you. But it is very close to some hiking trails. Fun!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • No matter where you roam….may you find lots of smells, cool things to study and maybe something wonderful to ROLL IN!!! Boomer

  14. Frankie and Ernie said:

    Moving CAN be quite an Adventure and Treat fur the Nose… as thingys get Packed and UN PACKED.

    • You guys should know. It wasn’t too long ago that you made the move. My nose will be working overtime!

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Cupcake, glad your mom isn’t frazzled with your upcoming move. All the best with your move and writing, Genevieve. 👍

  16. Hope the packing for the move goes well!

  17. What would mom be without??? Good luck with the move! Xo Johanna

  18. Love that quote. Moving forward truly is the key to everything. (Even though sometimes Mommy wishes my little sister, Tallulah, wouldn’t move forward quite so quickly on their walks.) I have faith in your mom that the three stories and the packing will be huge successes . . . with your help, of course.

    • Thanks, Miss HL. Tallulah has a lot of interesting things to see and taste and smell. Maybe she doesn’t need to go slower. Maybe your mom needs to go faster!!

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake with you as an inspiration and help and taking over the moving chore as well…she can’t help but forge on ahead! Xoxo and you are right. Donkey Sr. will have to retire before long. He has lost a lot of weight and his legs are very weakened now. He may go on and live with Smoke and Joe of they will let him.

  20. Good luck with the move! Great quote! 🙂

  21. Cupcake, it sure looks like you are being a big help to the moving deal. We bet the Mom’s stories will come out great. Keep up the good work Cupcake.

    • Thanks, M. I like playing with the boxes. Mom says, “You’re a big help!” I’m not sure she means it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay yoo ar dooing a gud job helping yore mama git reddy to moov!!! sumbuddy has to test owt the bokses and mayk shoor they ar sturdy and wotnot and also poynt owt wot wuns stil need to hav stuf put in them!!! ok bye

    • Thanks, D the V. I think you appreciate what I’m trying to do. I’m not sure about Mom. But I will continue to test the strength of the boxes. Tough job, but somebody’s got to do it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. It looks like you’re being immensely helpful! Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!

    • Thanks, S and C.

      My way of helping is not widely recognized. That’s because it’s new and revolutionary.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Cupcake you’re still as cute as ever. You are an inspiration to your mom and her story writing 💜 I thought only kitties sat in boxes 😉My HRH will be impressed with you! 💖

  25. Good luck with the move and the stories.

  26. I need to get my head back into my writing. My third book has been halfway written for a couple of years but life has been so hectic that I have really let it fall to the side. Sigh…

    • Don’t worry, MK. Your head will know when it’s time to get back in the game. Heads are like that. Sometimes they just need a break.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. What a good helper you are, Cupcake…in every way 😀 Now let me help you by crossing my paws too 😀 Don’t work to hard! Extra Pawkisses for a wonderful weekend 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

