Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Joining

I am not much of a joiner. I do join up with some of my therapy dog friends at the veteran’s home and the library. But we don’t play much. Apparently, that’s not what we’re there for…

This is what I'm here for...

This is what I’m there for…

I got some new toys and a new coat from Santa. They have now joined up with my old toys

img_4605

and my old coats and sweaters.

img_4574

And sometimes, I join Mom for dinner. That never ends the way I imagine it will.

img_4624

Wait. What?

Mom is more of a joiner than I am. Now that it’s a new year, she has joined StoryStorm,

storystorm_participant

The 12 Days of Christmas for Writers,

12-days-of-christmas

and Rate Your Story.

1

That means she will get 30 story ideas in 30 days, will watch videos every day for 12 days to be inspired and learn new things, and can send her stories to RYS for evaluation and critique.

She has also joined the GoodReads 2017 Reading Challenge, with plans to read 200 picture books this year.

2017-read

Maybe I will join her while she reads. There might be snacks….

*sigh*

*sigh*

 

Comments on: "Joining" (75)

  1. I have to catch up a few posts, so today I join you, Cupcake. It looks like a busy year for your mom again, and for you with all that catching and hoping some goodies fall down from above..MOL 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy and Healthy New Year. Make it the best year ever and Good Luck with the writings 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. It seems I am always waiting for floor food. Sometimes, I get lucky and that makes it worth the wait.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Love the photos and your thoughts. Living with the Humans will always give us surprises.Have a great, happy, productive 2017 with your family. Woof-woof from Benji.
    P.S am hoping myself to get to write some blogs myself this year – when I can see Mary is not doing them!!!

  3. Happy New Year Cupcake! You have been very lucky getting so many presents. What a good start to the year for your mum. It sounds like she’s ultra energetic and enthusiastic. Good luck with the writing!
    Monty and Chicken 🐾

    • Thanks, M and C. Mom is ultra-energetic, but she still can’t compete with me. She yells at me because I run everywhere. I think she’s jealous.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • She’s shouting her approval Cupcake, because she’s so impressed with your speed. Run as fast as you can as close to her as you can get – especially when she’s working. She’ll love it.
        Monty 🐾

  4. Gosh Cupcake…..you and your Mom are going to be busy – well, you’ll be busy WATCHING Mom while she’s busy anyway. I hope this is a great year for both of you!

    Love, Angel Sammy

    • You totally get me, Angel S. Watching Mom is what I do best. She always does better work when I an there staring at her. She needs my support.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. ‘Snacks’! My middle name!! I wish you luck with that. Those sweaters are amazing. I especially like the pink bow. You are going to look snazzy in 2017! And mom is going to be busy. Good luck to her too. This could be the year, huh? I can feel it! ❤

    • Thanks, G. Mom and I feel it, too! This will be the best year ever – filled with successes, excitement, and lots and lots of snacks.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Katie Isabella said:

    Happy New Year Cupcake and for pete sake, let there be snacks! Goodness gracious! Was does it take to get extra snacks, right? Sheesh! Hey, a new coat? New toys? I didn’t get a coat but I dd get toys. Life is good. I wanted to say I am proud of your mom about the blue ribbon she won for your story and I love that she is going for the Good Reads challenge. My mom belongs to Good Reads. Not the same, no. She made me mention that. You know how she is. Sigh. XXXOOO

    • Ha! Your mom cracks us up, KI. Goodreads is Goodreads. Mom uses it to keep track of all the picture books she reads and once in a while she remembers to add a grown up book when she finishes it. Your mom probably just adds in books that she reads. Same thing, really…. xoxo

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Golden hugs from Brodie.Love ya Cupcake!! Happy New Year!!

  8. Wow! Thirty stories in thirty days? That’s a lot of imagination! Good luck!

    • Thanks, C. She doesn’t actually have to write the stories, just get ideas for them. After Storystorm is finished she has all year to use the ideas to write stories.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Cupcake, sounds like you may have a lot of time on your own…perhaps you can guilt someone into giving you extra treats to make up for it!

  10. I’m not a joiner either, Cupcake. But Boomer is!! Happy New Year!

    Linda

    • Thanks, L. Back at ya! I had a feeling Boomer was a joiner. That’s why he’s always hopping onto the tractor with you.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Love you in the New Year’s hat Cupcake. So cute.

    2017 proves to be another challenging year for your mom and you.

    Have fun. We will.

    Shoko and Kali

    • Thanks, S and K. Challenges are fun for us. I will be right there, helping – and by helping, I mean staring – while Mom works.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Cupcake you look fab in your party hat. I am more like you in joining. Maybe when I retire and don’t get my fill of people from work…

  13. Big canine congrats to your mom! Joining is good, Cupcake…and more often than not there are all kinds of rewards for it. Best of luck to you both that they are just what you both want. 😉

  14. fredrieka said:

    Wow your mom is busy hope she still has time to take you for walks.

    • Don’t worry about that, C. Walking with me is one of the ways Mom gets her ideas. The walk is not optional!

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Congrats to the Mom on her blue ribbon for her story. And your new coat is sure nice looking. Good for the Mom for joining so many good things. You all have a wonderful day.

    • Thanks, M. I am also happy with my new coat. It keeps me from shivering too much when Mom walks around with me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Hey beautiful – Happy ‘late’ New Years Day to you. I like to join too. And your new coat is almost as beautiful as YOU. XOXO – Bacon

  17. Archie says have a great 2017. He loves the pictures too.

  18. It sounds like your mom is going to be busy! She will need your help to make sure she finds time for relaxation.

    • You’re right, C. Mom needs me to walk her, relax with her, and help her work by staring at her. I got this…

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Your Mom is going to be very busy with her stories. I am not a joiner, Cupcake. I am a bit shy. I guess no bacon when you join your Mom for dinner? That is a very cute red coat you have on in the picture!

    • Thanks, Pix! My red coat is reversible, so it’s also a gray coat with red trim. Just sayin’. i’s like magic. Mom never makes bacon at my house. She just eats it when she’s out. And she NEVER brings me any. Good thing I’m not sensitive.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Katie Isabella said:

    Know what Cupcake? Mommy hauled out the iPhone while walking with newly met Daisy Beagle and her Mommy yesterday. She showed you and your mom off to Daisy’s mom and spoke of both of you all’s accomplishments. Daisy’s mom is an only just retired teacher by the way. She enjoyed seeing my pretty furs in my last bloggie so she whupped right over to show her YOU! I don’t think Daisy has any pretty clothes to wear and too, she isn’t a proud therapy dog as you are. That impressed Daisy’s mom as it does my mom. Just sayin’. She also showed off Louis Dog. Mom thought that maybe Daisy would also like a blog.

    • Definitely let us know if Daisy gets a blog, KI. We will be her first followers. She doesn’t really need clothes. Her gorgeous pink harness was fancy enough. Your mom is the best at bragging on me and whatnot. She is the president of my fan club. I love her. You have taught her well….

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. If you can’t eat ’em, join ’em. I think that’s how it goes…

  22. Hang on in there cupcake your Mom is bound to drop some crumbs soon, wishing you & your Mom the very best the new year has to offer xx

  23. I’m glad your Mom joined all of those writing groups, Cupcake. That means we’ll see her in cyberspace & she’ll be with you at home reading books, writing books, and working on her craft. Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year, P. I love when Mom is in my house and also in cyberspace. She needs me to stare at her when she is working, so she really should stay close to home…

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. If I started a club for non-joiners, would you join? 😉

  25. Woo! Happy New Year! 😀

  26. Happy New Year! It sounds as if Mom has things planned out for a successful year. You should definitely read along with her. ♥

  27. Happy New Year Cupcake! Hopefully, I will stop by and visit more this year. I also need to get out more and meet some people. I think I have become too much of a loner who is just hanging out with my family these days. 🙂 Mind you, that is a goal, not a New Year’s resolution…I don’t do those anymore.

    • Thanks, P. Happy New Year! You have plenty of company not making resolutions. Lots of people have quit them. Not Mom, though. She has a list of full-on 2017 resolutions in her phone. Your goal is good, though. Getting out and mixing it up is always a fun idea.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. oh dear Cupcake. Your Mom seems to be signed up for a ton of “to do” things. I certainly hope she keeps your walks and snacks on that “to do” list and right at the top! I bet you rocked your new coat!!

    • Thanks, S and Mom L. I have definitely been rocking the new coat. Don’t worry, I will NOT let Mom forget to take me for a walk and shower me with goodies. That would be a BAD way to start off a new year!

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay i am not mutch of a joiner eether i am mor of a run awayer!!! but joining for dinner sownds like it mite be up my alley!!! my dada has a majik flat thing wot shows buks too i wunder how they kram all that payper in their!!! ok bye

    • I’ve never wondered how all the stories got inside Mom’s Kindle, D the V. Now my mind is blown. Plus, I want to taste that thing to see if it tastes like paper. Paper is delicious!

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. So when does your mom sleep?? But greta plans and I look forward to see it all happen in 2017!! Your a good friend to your mom Cupcake, xo Johanna

    • Thanks, J. I not only help Mom get all of her plans done, but I also help her sleep. Sometimes she says, “Get your bony legs offa me.” and “Move over!” That means I am being helpful and I am fitting perfectly in her bed.

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. Sounds like your Mom has joined all kinds of good things Cupcake. Bet you are a big help to her. Good for you to join her for dinner and maybe some day you will get part of it. Have a great week.

  32. Wow! That’s a lot of things to accomplish! Good luck!

    Monty, Harlow, and Ramble

    • Thanks, M, H, and R. I hope Mom didn’t bite off more than she can chew. I have done that before – literally – and it wasn’t pretty.

      Love and licks,
      C

  33. I’m not a real big joiner either. My mom and I are both more keep to ourselves folks but we have fun together. Hope your mom enjoys her new activities.

  34. Katie Isabella said:

    Hope all is going well for your mom, Cupcake…

  35. Mom sure is a joiner. Hope that she lets you join along when she reads and writes all that stuff she is planning on this year.

Leave a Reply

