Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Characters

Writers pretend a lot. Mom deals with pretend characters every time she sits at the computer. Characters can be tough to pin down. Just when Mom thinks she knows them, they take off in directions she didn’t expect. They can go caveman,

cavedog

nurturer,

nurse

superhero,

costume

evil,

devil

or sweet.

fairy

I can also go off in unexpected directions. I can go lazy,

belly-up-streetnap

friendly,

cupcake-and-gracie

relaxed,

bench-relaxing

happy,

happyface

confused,

blanket-mixup

or annoyed.

Why?

Why?

Mom keeps me on a leash everywhere we go, so I won’t go off and get lost. She does her best to keep me under control. Even though I am unpredictable, she does a better job with me than she does with her story characters.

weeds

Comments on: "Characters" (68)

  1. Oh I agree… to hold that characters on a leash and to control them is a hard piece of work… they sometimes refuse to sit to stay or to bark the way we want… and they sometimes develop a life of it’s own and intead to make the character to a part of our story the story is a part of the character… butt that’s not always bad… Mr. King became famous with characters who ran off leash .O)

  2. Cupcake YOU are a character! A special one…..love all your outfits and love you! My Mom doesn’t write anymore as you know but when she did, she always let her characters create themselves and they would go off in unexpected directions which made them way more interesting than if Mom had “controlled” them! Kinda like me! HAHAHA HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

    Love, Sammy

  3. It’s exciting when characters are unpredictable and not what they seem. It keeps the people guessing. Take that picture of you laying on your back in the road, for example. It might look like you are lazy, but I know this is the ‘thinking’ position and you are in fact, carrying out some vital research. Keep up the good work both of you!
    Monty 🐾

    • Thanks, M. YES! That’s why I flop down in the street every time the sun is out. I’m researching! Brilliant. Why didn’t I think of that…? And Mom calls it a street nap. Duh.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. You are such a cutie and wonderful model!

  5. fredrieka said:

    Characters can be creepy then suddenly turn sweet. You never know who will go BOO!!

  6. You are a great character! Happy Halloween!

  7. That’s the best part about a story, you never know where the characters might take you!

  8. hannahandlucy said:

    You always make us smile Cupcake and we hope you will enjoy your day.

  9. So happy to learn that Cupcake doesn’t get lost & sure hope you find everything you want in your characters. Happy Halloween!

  10. The only ones we want to get away from us are our characters – certainly not our four-legged friends!

  11. You have So many costumes! Which one are you wearing tonight?

  12. Cupcake, I love your outfits… and you are very lovable too!

  13. Wow, sweet Cupcake you can portray a lot of characters with all those outfits. We are glad you and your mom walk leashed, gotta keep you both safe…right? Hugs and nose kisses. Chancy, Pooh and Mumsy

  14. Cupcake, you are quite the character. We love seeing all your pictures with you all dressed up as different characters. Bet that is fun sometimes.

  15. I LOVE your rain coat! I’m asking Mom for one! It would keep off the rain and the WEEDS!

    Boomer
    Linda

  16. Lexi used to go off leash a lot but hated wearing costumes. Just the opposite. Hey, maybe there is a story in opposites!

    • There’s definitely a story in opposites, A. Lexi probably had too much dignity to wear costumes. I have no dignity, so…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Ash, no matter what character you are always so sweet to me!! Xo Johanna

    • Thanks, J. Mom also said I was the sweetest devil she ever saw. When she smiled at me, I kissed her teeth. I’m tricky that way…

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Frankie and Ernie said:

    You can be ANYTHINGY Cupcake!! Happy Howl O Ween to you.

  19. My ghostwriter knows what you mean about characters. They have a life of their own and you can’t always tell what they;ll do next! They become a part of your life for as long as you’re writing the story.

    • They do, C! Those crazy types can get inside Mom’s head. That’s fine with me because it makes me seems normal…

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. You have it all in you, Cupcake and we love each pawt of you. A characteristic girlie πŸ™‚ Pawkisses for a Blessed All Saints Day πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thanks, Little B. I think All Saints Day is a fun holiday. Even though Mom says I am NOT a saint…. I know saints are looking out for me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. You certainly do have a lot of character, dog friend or should I say characters. You must be a big help to mom when she needs ideas. And I must say you look stunning in every one of these pictures evil or otherwise. 🐢❀️

    • Thanks, G. I am a huge help to Mom, especially when she is writing a dog story. Or a human story with a character who thinks like me. Or a turkey story. Wait. What?

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. Three Pups and a Couple of Kitties said:

    Your mom is right, characters have a mind of their own and can’t be corralled to easily if at all. Love your costumes and wish you’d tell my girls that costumes can be fun to wear! Any time we try hats, tiaras, or neck kerchiefs Belle gets rid of hers then takes them off of her sisters.

    • Thanks, pups and kitties. I love getting dressed up because it usually means something fun is about to happen. I think Belle is brilliant. and very thorough to help her sisters as well…

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake you are the first bloggie I visited this early meowning and it is a smile maker! I love the illustrations with you of characterizations. I can well imagine characters taking unexpected turns on your mommy, racing off in an unexpected direction or worse still skidding to a stop on a story journey, when you were all unaware thinking the story path was clear as a bell as you trotted eagerly forward. XXOO

    • Thanks, KI. That happens, sometimes. Some characters don’t cooperate at all. Mom dumps them and makes new characters. Once in a while, she checks back in with the stubborn ones to see if they want to play with her. I ALWAYS want to play with her, so she never has to dump me!

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Such great costumes for the holiday. You should be a dog model, Cupcake!

  25. I like the comparison of characters to cupcakes behaviour…very well done. We can all relate.

    Shoko

  26. Keeping track of multiple characters is hard work, Cupcake. There’s loads of wrangling to keep track of so you should probably cut mom some slack; she’s just practicing on you for when she has to leash up her characters. πŸ˜‰

    • I think you’re right, M. I am Mom’s practice character. That’s probably why sometimes she puts me on my leash IN THE HOUSE.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Cupcake, you’re adorable. Your attitude pose made me laugh. Love your outfits too. πŸ‘

  28. We love all of your characters beautiful! XOXO – Bacon

  29. I love these dogs!

  30. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay how funny dada sez that a lot of the time wun of his minor karakters ends up tayking over the buk or the storry or wotever he is wurking on!!! and then he menshund my frend the feeld mowse!!! i am not shoor why he wood refer to my frend the feeld mowse as wun of his karakters tho its like he thinks my adventchers ar fikshunal or sumthing!!! ok bye

    • It’s true, D the V. Characters have a mind of their own. Big ones can melt away and little ones can take over. I’m hoping I can take over a story someday. Also the whole house….

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. […] five words come from one of the stories Mom is working on these days. Sadly, the story has no doggies in it. Just humans. And of course a cyclops. So, yeah… There’s […]

Leave a Reply

