Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

five

Today’s 5 words are about A-Little-At-A-Time.

8. List – Mom is making a list of the things she will submit this month. She is determined to get 10 stories on the list, and then she will decide where to send them. So far the list has NINE titles! Day by day – story by story – a little at a time – almost there.

woman-making-list

17. WetFeet – I don’t like getting my feet wet. When Mom takes me out to check my pee-mail she says the word, “Why am I standing in the wet grass and you are not?” and “I am NOT the one out here to go potty.”

gutter walker

and “Get off the balance beam, Marylou.”

gutter walker 2

Eventually, I inch into the wet grass, little by little, and take care of business. I’m not happy about it.

26. Walking – Getting from the garage to the house can be slow-going. I stop to sniff. I smell the flowers.

smelling flowers

I check the bricks. I hit the pavement.

pavement2

I stare at the air. Eventually, we arrive. Mom says the word, “Why do I take you anywhere?”

84. One – Last week, Mom got her first ever #1 from Rate Your Story. On a scale of 1-10, #1 is the best! Mom has received the occasional #2 rating, but usually, her work is a #4. We’re excited that she clawed her way to a #1 – little by little.

#15. Begging – Every day, I work on Mom… From here…

begging right

And here…

begging left

And even here…

begging LRCan you tell I am begging for ice cream? I think it’s pretty clear. She mixed up a batch of my special yogurt/peanut butter/applesauce/MilkBone frozen treats. And apparently, I can only eat one a day. GAH!

ice cream treatThey’re so yummy, it’s tough to eat them a little at a time. I lick and lick…

icecream1

…and lick.

icecream3And then I lose my mind and gobble the whole thing down. The ice cream headache is worth it!

Yum. Ouch...

Yum. Ouch…

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (64)

  1. congrats to your n°1 mama!!!! I agree we always should take the time to smell the flowers :o) why you only can eat one ice cream treat per day?… you have 4 paws, so you should get 4 or more :o)

    • Thanks, E. FOUR ice creams a day! That’s brilliant! One for each paw. Mom worries that I will get F-A-T. She says my legs are too delicate and my head is too tiny to manage a fat body.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. I does sniff everything when I is out and Monty does complain that I is slow on the walks. But I can all eats faster than him! Your mum has done so well with her story getting a #1. Maybe she deserves to share your ice cream?
    Love Chicken 🐾

    • Thanks, C. Fast eating is an important skill. In case somebody is standing by to steal your foods. Slow walking is also an important skill. In case of missing some pee-mails.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. MOL MOL…frozen brains too, huh… Why am I not surpurrized that your mommy is a number 1 Story teller. We think all of her stories must get an A++, Cupcake, even if we only know your stories. We love the way you are standing right inside…I mean, next to her to encourage her fantasy, oh, and I almost forgot your balance..are you sure you are a doggie 😉 Pawkisses for a wonderful day and lots of icecream 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. A++ is Mom’s favorite grade! I do kind of balance like a kitty. Thanks for noticing… Except when I crash land. That happens sometimes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Good for you Mom getting a #1! That’s fabulous – I’m sure you inspired her when she wrote that story so she got a #1 – right??? As for getting wet feets on a walk – I don’t blame you for trying to avoid stepping on that grass but you HAVE to in order to do your business right? A little wet feet time leads to a lot of RELIEF (if you know what I mean!). Your begging technique is purrrfect – and your treats sound and look delicious! Have I told you lately that you’re adorable? Well you are!

    Love, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. Adorable is always a goal for me. Actually the story Mom earned a #1 for WAS a dog story. The dog’s name was Freckles, but he was a lot like me! Eventually, I do have to step into the grass – wet, snowy, whatever. I do it, but I don’t like it!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Poor kid…..well, I like wet grass myself but only if I myself CHOOSE to walk in it. You don’t always have a choice do you?!?!?! I bet you were the inspiration for your Mom’s “Freckles” character!!!!!!

        Love, Sammy

  5. You sure do have a #1 Mom, I love the photo of you on the balance beam LOL

  6. fredrieka said:

    be careful you might get brain freeze. I don’t like getting my feet wet either. Only one treat something is wrong with your mom.

    • So true, F. Mom is greedy with the ice cream treats. She says I have to watch my weight. I think she’s making that up! My weight is beautiful.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Cupcake, Love your begging moves. My dog Madeleine also has the “don’t you want to feed a dog like me” look that’s very effective.

    • Thanks, R. I am happy that you can understand Madeleine’s begging face. Mom pretends She doesn’t know what I want. She says the word, “What do you WANT from me?”

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Number 1!!!! Congratulations, mom must be so chuffed to bits. Charley does not like to get her paws wet or roll in mud and other nasty stuff! She used to have two friends who did on many shared walk…she would not even walk next to them and looked at them as if their names were Stinky and Smelly! Wishing you many ice creams, Cupcakes! xoxoxoxo

    • Thanks, J. Mom is “chuffed to bits” about her score – for sure. We didn’t think of it that way, but I like the sound of it! I am with Charley on the wet feet, but I do occasionally try to roll in gross things. I say “try” because Mom usually catches me before I get too far. Leashes… Ugh.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Congrats to your Mom on scoring a #1 at RYS, Cupcake. That’s so, so impressive! I’m happy, too, that you help her stop & smell the flowers. That’s so important to do on these sunshiny summer days.

    • Thanks, P. Mom is lucky to have me to teach her Zen things that only doggies know for sure. I do what I can…

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. #1 – Yeah!!!! Hot pavement may not be the best bed!

  11. Hahahaha! Oh Cupcake, you crack me up! [“Get off the balance beam, Marylou.”]
    Big time kudos to your mama for getting a #1. Way to go, mom! Sam is praying she fur-gets and miscounts the icy treats and you score a second (or third) treat soon. Especially when you’re on the balance beam because it’s extra hot outside. ღ

  12. I’m going to have Mom make me some! I NEED IT!! Boomer

    Linda

  13. Hooray for mom being #1. We’re not surprised though cuz she works really hard and that pays off ( at least that’s what mom tells me).. I love Popsicles and yogurt with blueberries in it. Your treat sounds brain freeze yummy. Lady Caroline

    • Thanks, Lady C. I LOVE blueberries. Maybe Mom will put some in my next batch of popsicles. That would keep them from trying to roll away from me! Brilliant!

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. My 75 pound brother Riley hates getting his paws wet, too. I don’t get it. And the ice cream treat thingy – yum! Ask your Mom if SHE would only eat one, huh, huh? Keep enjoying your summer, Cupcake.

    • Thanks, L. Mom has different rules for herself. She thinks it’s bad luck to eat an odd number of desserts. If she eats one, she has to eat two. And if she eats 3, she has to eat FOUR! She watches MY weight, not her weight!

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Congrats on getting a #1 on your rating. That is so great. That ice cream sure looks good. Looks like you are doing well Cupcake.

  16. Congratulations on the #1 rating. Hope you reach t0 titles. Cupcake, love the treats your Mom makes you. Isn’t there a lot of sugar? Don’t know if I’d have the patience. You have a great Mom. Archie doesn’t like to get his feet wet in the grass either – but he has no choice.

    • Thanks, P. Archie should try to use the balance beam to keep his paws dry. Mom uses plain yogurt so there isn’t too much sugar. She worries about my weight a lot and weighs me every week.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Frankie and Ernie said:

    CONGRATULATIONS to your Mom fur being #1…. butt we already KNEW she was…

    OMD we are DROOLING over that COOLING Treat…

  18. Here’s my 5 words: great job balancing the table!
    Congrats mom. Job well done. 5 more. 😍🐶

    • Thanks, G. Mom always likes a job well done. Actually, she thinks all her work is well done, but it’s nice when someone else thinks so, too.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Two words…Drama Queen! Seriously, can you Mom share the recipe for those treats…,gawd knows about all we have in our Frige is yoghurt….sigh. And, Mama says you have such a beautiful face! Xxxxx Your pal Skyler

    • Awww. Thanks, S. Once when I was doing therapy work at the VA, a patient told me my face looked like it was painted by an artist! Imagine? The ice cream treats are really simple. I am tiny, so Mom mixes up a small cup of plain yogurt, about a tablespoon of creamy peanut butter, and some fruit – applesauce, smashed banana, whatever. She stirs it up and puts it into ice cube trays. She adds a tiny mini-Milkbone to each one for a handle. If your mom wants them a little bigger, she can double the recipe and use 2 oz. bathroom cups instead of an ice cube tray and a regular sized Milkbone for the handle.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Great list Cupcake! 😀

  21. Congratulations to your Mom! I bet your walks make life more interesting for your Mom… maybe? I understand about you smelling the flowers, I like to do that too!

    • Thanks, Pix. I am SURE that Mom is constantly inspired by our walks. …even though when I hit the deck for a street nap she says the word, “Aaarrgh.” and “Ugh.” and calls me the word “Freak.” That means we’re having fun.

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. Way to go Mom! Congratulations!! It’s so rewarding when people like the story you’ve worked so hard on.

    • You know it, J. Best feeling ever! Now if only somebody would offer to publish Mom’s story…. It’ll go out this month for a shot.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay kongratchoolayshuns to yore mama on her number wun!!! it is gud to be number wun!!! hay i do not blaym yoo on the ice kreem no wun kan reezist that stuf!!! ok bye

  24. If you’re going to beg for something, ice cream seems like a good choice!

  25. pilch92 said:

    You are such a cutie, you deserve yummy treats. We want to thank you for letting us win Savannah’s giveaway, she told us you had won and said the runner-up could have it. We are very happy kitties!!!! Thank you.

  26. Congrats on the 1 rating. I hope you got extra ice cream for National Ice Cream Day!

    • I DID, Mr. N. I had human ice cream from McDonald’s on National Ice Cream Day. But only a few licks.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Congratulations to your mom on getting the top ranking! That ice cream looks delicious.

  28. Katie Isabella said:

    Ya know Cupcake, I oughtta tell my mom what your mom says…to check her legs to see if they are too delicate to support her, um….comfy body, and as for her head…oh! my WORD!

    • Ha! That would be naughty, KI. If your mom is anything like my mom, she will not take that very well. She thinks her body is perfect. No improvements needed. That’s why she has so much interest in my tiny body!

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. #1 !! How exciting!

Leave a Reply

