Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

calendarToday, Mom and I are counting down about finishing.

end

Things I Finish

3. Eating – I always finish my morning dinner and my evening dinner. Usually in about 45 seconds.

dinner

2. Playing – It’s easy to tell when I am finished playing. I stop tossing, biting, shaking, throwing, and catching my toys. Then IΒ flop down and give Mom the skunk-eye.

fave toys

1. School – I studied hard at obedience school when Mom first adopted me. I am a brilliant graduate of Hal Wheeler.

diploma

I also passed the CGC testing in order to become a therapy pet.

FullSizeRender

I know Mom is proud of me because she says I ‘have my moments’ and I’m ‘unpredictable.’ That’s good…. Right…?

stuck under the walker

“Under the walker…. next to the walker… Whatever… Same thing.”

Things Mom Finishes

3. Eating – I can always tell when Mom is finished eating. Usually there’s ice cream or cookies or cake.

rainbow cake

I know sharingΒ is caring. And I know Mom loves me. But she doesn’t always share.

"Hello."

“Hello.”

2. Working – When Mom “works,” she writes, revises, revises, revises, revises, and …revises. Sooner or later, she has to say, “I’m finished.” and “There’s nothing else I can do here.” and “What do you plan to do with that?”

flip flop

“Eat it? Hide it? Take it on the couch and hatch it like an egg? The possibilities are endless….”

1. School – Mom is finished with being a teacher.

teacher at desk

She retired from that work in 2007. Now she is finished with school visits – for the summer, anyway. We are also finished with library therapy dog visits for the summer. Read to a Pet Night will start up again in September.

reading dog

27. And yes, when enough is enough, I make it clear thatΒ I am finished walking….

potato dog

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (70)

  1. We three all know about not sharing!! Regularly, they do not share tasty treats with the three bestest maremmas in all the land.

    • I’m shocked to hear this, J. I mean, what with being the bestest and all – it’s the least they can do.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. I hear you… why they share just the uncool things with us like carrots or apples? And your name is Cupcake … so sharing of cakes is inclusive… always.

  3. Cupcake enjoy your well-earned summer. Hope you get some treats for all your hard work. By the way, we’re getting another dog. The third graders in my son’s class picked the puppy’s name and the winning name was Cupcake with the nickname, Cuppy the puppy. She’s currently 4 weeks old and we get to pick up the newest member of our family in 4 weeks.

    • I’m so excited about your new Cupcake, R. Congratulations! With a name like that, she can only be PERFECT!

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. fredrieka said:

    You should at least be able to share Cupcakes. It is your name, isn’t it? I think she is confused about that. You passed obedience but did she?

    • Thank you for your support, F. Mom is not the least bit obedient, as far as I can tell. She has a mind of her own. And she calls ME stubborn. Ha!

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Well i just know Mum is glad you finished all the good things except her dessert! ..btw Cupcake are you aware Mum apparently owns you πŸ˜‰ goodness me πŸ™‚ loves Fozziemum xx

  6. Lots of good finishes for both you and Mom Cupcake. Love when you are finished walking. You all have a great day.

    • Thanks, M. Mom calls me a baked potato when I cook in the sun like that. I don’t mind. I love potatoes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Cupcake it’s always fun to get a new post from you and your Mom! There’s always great photos of you AND updates on your Mom’s projects AND news about what’s going on in your life which I’m happy to hear. It’s good to take a break over the summer from all the “busy” – your “grass nap” looks a lot like your “street nap”………although I bet it’s cooler!

    Love, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. The grass nap IS cooler than the street nap. Luckily I am not picky about where I hit the deck. I love sunshine!

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake! I saw Boston Cream PIE! I think that’s what that was! Now you deserve some but without the chlorate on top. As someone else said succinctly, CupCAKE! Hello!

    My human brother is a teacher too. 8th grade. I love when you are finished walking. That is an unmistakable indication to your mom! Made MY mom laugh. But only in sympathy for YOU, of course.

    • Boston cream ANYTHING is Mom’s favorite. Cake, pie, cupCAKE, whatever. I am up for it. ….just not up high enough to reach it. Tiny legs – what a burden.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. I’m sorry I’m finished with this post. I wanted to keep reading about you finishing. I think that’s kind of an oxymoron.
    Who’s a moron?!?!? 😱

  10. You bit the head of the chew toy with this post, Cupcake. Our mom is writing, writing, writing right now. Yankee let’s her know when we’ve had enough though. He’ll bump her arm until she stops typing. Then she’ll get up & give us all belly rubs!.
    Tails wags,
    Ginger, Yankee, Drake, & Roxi

    • GAH, G, Y, D, and R. “Bit the head of the chew toy!” Oh yeah! You kids have a way with the words. Yankee is a smart problem solver. Sometimes Moms need a reminder about what’s important.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. It’s always to take breaks. Maybe it means more walks and attention for you Cupcake. Your mom is more disciplined with you in regards to making sure you eat healthy. I prefer to eat mid-day and in the evening, but I hold out for a few bites of chicken/meat — if I’m lucky. Right now I’m learning to get along with my big brother Matt’s new 4-month-old puppy. His name is Bo and everyone says he’s so cute. But, I think he’s a terror with sharp teeth and is all over me. I think he should have been named the Tasmanian Devil. – Archie

    • Thanks, A. It sounds like you’ve got your paws full trying to stay alive around Bo. Hopefully, he’ll learn some valuable lessons from you about being a good boy. Or at least not being a Tasmanian Devil!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. What a great feeling your Mom will have when she is finished…writing is hard work! Your communication skills sound excellent.

    • Thanks, S. I like to consider myself a good communicator. But very often, Mom says the word, “WHAT DO YOU WANT???”

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Of course you have your moments..that is your prerogative: you are a Jack Russell Terrier!! And a supersweet that is too xoxoxox

  14. You are pretty good and making yourself clear! Sometimes humans don’t catch on though…

    • I agree, collies. I think Mom is kind of thick-headed when I’m trying to tell her something.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. My mum was sorry when she finished this post, Cupcake. She was laughing aloud!

    I’m not surprised that you don’t get to share your mother’s cake, though. My mum doesn’t share chili with me. Sheesh!

    Your friend, Chili

    • That seems wrong on SO many levels, C. Chili sounds as delicious as cupcakes. Why are moms so selfish?

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Cupcake, your mom must be very organized to write a book and do all the duties she mentioned. Kali is trying to become a therapy cat but there is no program up here for cat therapists so mom is talking with St, John’s to start up a program here.

    You graduated too. Lucky guy but you’ve earned it. Did you have a ceremony with goodies?

    Shoko

    • There were no goodies at my graduation, S. But Mom was very proud of me for learning to be a (mostly) good girl. I hope your mom gets a program started up for Kali. A kitty in a carriage used to work at the VA with me. Her name was Cuddles. She brought lots of smiles to the old soldiers.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. You’ll never be finished being adorable, Cupcake. πŸ™‚

  18. Oh, Cupcake, that last picture totally cracked me up!

  19. This post cracked me up! I want your Mom’s dessert but I am not finished losing the weight I am suppose to unload! Thoroughly enjoyed the pictures today… and the words!

    • Thanks, Pix. Losing weight is a tough nut to crack. Sometimes, Mom puts me on treat restriction. It makes me sad. And hungry.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Cupcake, you are making far more headway than we are. Almost nothing is finished of all the projects mom has outlined, but it’s her fault cuz she starts something and next thing you know she’s out in the garden reading. She says that’s what summers are for. Love, Lady Caroline

    • Thanks, LC. Reading in the garden sounds nice. I’m pretty sure that IS what summer is for! There’s a lot to be said for starting lots of stuff. There’s a chance some of them will be finished soon!

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Sometimes you just have to put your whole body into it. A good laydown is always a needed relief! Boomer

    Linda

  22. Frankie and Ernie said:

    THEY never share the Really GOOD stuffs with US, do they?
    OMD Love your header pic.

    • Thanks, F and E. You’re right. When Mom drops a piece of broccoli on the floor, she’s all, “Come on Cupcake. This is for you…” Broccoli. Thanks a lot.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. We are always happy to finish our foodables. Mom eats desserts too and claims they are “bad” for dogs! WTD?!?

    • Ha! Right?? Everything good is “bad for dogs.” No fair. I think Moms just make that stuff up.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Hahahahahahah …..Hahahahahaha …finished walking BRILLIANT

  25. aaww beautiful – this is a lovely post. Of course, any post with you in it is beautiful πŸ™‚ ❀ XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks, B. Mom says it’s a good thing I look beautiful. It’s on account of my tiny brain.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Snorts – tiny brain heck. You are smart. You are beautiful. You are woman here you roar my sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

  26. Good morning ! I’m finished sleeping, eating raisin toast and I also finished one coffee (must be more of that). I loved all the photo’s included with your fantastic list. Especially you peaking over the table and eyeballing mom’s cake. Petals also does this at the Island counter, we make a little game of paw on/paw off the counter. πŸ˜€ Congratulations on those fancy diploma’s, very impressive xo B

    • Thanks, Boomdee. It sounds like Petals has good technique. I’m so tiny, I can barely reach the table to see. It makes begging all the more difficult. I do my best, though.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. I would think it would be appropriate for mom to share a cupcake with Cupcake. What’s her reasoning behind that? Is she greedy? πŸ™‚

    • You nailed it, J. It’s greed and selfishness. Mom would call it looking out for my well-being and health. But we know the real situation.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. You know we love reading your stories, Cupcake. And Cupcake’s Mom, won’t you please give the little guy at least A BITE of cake? It’s not really like cannibalism or anything.

    • Thanks, L. Truth be told, Mom DID give me a tiny taste of the white part of her Boston cream cake. It was SO tiny, I wasn’t even sure I ate it. She says she doesn’t want me to be a fat dog with a tiny head. What if she’s a fat mom with a tiny head….?

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake your comment to me got me and mommy really laughing!!! I dare not walk between mom and her desserts either! And she too doesn’t seem too worried about those delectables. That picture of your little face peeking over the table top was the most adorable ever!!! ❀️❀️❀️

    • Thanks, KI. I love that my little head barely able to stare at the goodies looks adorable. Sometimes, I think it might look….. um… desperate.

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay wow yoo finish yore breakfast and dinner just as fast as my brother tucker yoozed to!!! if he wer stil with us maybe the too of yoo cud hav an eeting kontest!!! it duznt matter hoo wins as long as evrybuddy gits to eet!!! ha ha ok bye

    • You crack me up, D. I think I’d have gotten along great with Tucker. He sounds like he was a good egg. And speaking of eggs – YES – eating is always the goal. My favorite goal ever.

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. School’s out for summer! Now you can finish all those naps you started. It sounds like you both work very hard so you deserve a rest.
    Love Tess, Monty and Chicken 🐾

    • Thanks, T, M, and C. Summer is a good resting time. Plus a good time to play. Plus a good time for road trips.

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. WOW! You have your own diplomas, Cupcake. You are such an intelligent doggie! To be honest, I think you own one more for fastest eater and most beautiful dressed lady πŸ™‚ Pawkisses for a relaxed day πŸ™‚ ❀

  33. I hope you enjoyed your nap on the grass, Cupcake.
    I don’t always finish my food, especially in the summer.

  34. Library dog therapy, how wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

