Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Flapping in the Wind

Some kite flying kids had an early end to their fun spring day. Their kite got stuck in a tree.

kite

They threw stuff at it, but no luck. It just stayed up there, flapping in the wind. Of course they didn’t throw as much stuff at it as the kid in the book Stuck (one of Mom’s all-time favorites), but they gave it a shot.

kite2

I get stuck sometimes. Never in a tree – not yet, anyway. But stuck nonetheless.

In the back seat

seatbelt

Between pillows

pillow

Behind my blanket-bed

blanketbed

Below the dugout bench

dugout

On a wall

onthewall

Inside the sheets

starsheet

Or under the bed

underbed

Mom isn’t stuck with her writing, but she’s stuck in a rut of not submitting anything. Since, apparently, nothing gets published on the dining room table, she has a plan. She will submit 10 stories and/or poems in the month of July.

mailbox

Once things are “out there” then we will have some suspense and something to look forward to. Book 2? Maybe. Ebook 2? Possibly. Something fun is bound to happen.

mailbox with hearts

Meanwhile, I will look forward to ….cake

cake

and kisses.

kisshead

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Flapping in the Wind" (70)

  1. Cupcake i am glad Mum is not stuck..and i think maybe some of your stuck is actually pretty darn good..i could do stuck in the sheets…sounds like bliss 🙂 and now Mum has some elements of suspense as she waits on news form her submissions..stuck on you always Cupcake 🙂 loves Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. Stuck in the sheets IS a great place to be. Unfortunately, sooner or later, Mom always says, “OUT!” and then she makes the bed and I am banned for the rest of the day.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. If I have to get stuck anywhere I’ll take a cue from you and get stuck inside the sheets 🙂
    How exciting your Mom made the decision to get her work unstuck from the dining room table
    love Big Oscar

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Big O. I’ll keep my paws crossed that something of Mom’s ends up in the right place at the right time.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. I’ll bet your mom will get good news about the stuff she submits. You guys work really hard with your writing and therapy visits and readings and it will pay off. Lady Caroline
    P.s. I like getting stuck between the sheets– mom’s bed is my favorite place to hang out.

    • Thanks, Lady C. Good news is what we are hoping for. But ANY news is better than NO news…. And YES – bed time is the best.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. I think being stuck on cake isn’t so bad, Cupcake, it looks delicious and it is all yours…MOL 😀 Adorable pictures and Good Luck with upcoming surpurrice 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. Truth be told, after the photo shoot, Mom took the cake away and only gave me a little taste of the yellow cake inside. She ate the rest! Rude!

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Those are some great places to get stuck Cupcake. It made the Mom chuckle big time at you sitting with that whole cake. Wow that looks yummy, You all have a great week end.

    • Thanks, M. That cake was a real looker! Unfortunately, that’s pretty much all I got to do was look at it….

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. I feel sorry for the kite… sometimes our ideas hang in a tree like that poor kite… butt as long as the ideas and the kite are flapping in the wind there is still hope to set them free, right? I look forward to cake with you… but I’m afraid that idea got stuck after I heard loud howling from the bathroom… either it was my mamma who howled or the scale…

    • Ha! Thanks, E. It’s never a good sign when the scale starts howling. *gulp* It’s days since the kite got stuck and it’s still flapping. But you’ve got a point. Flapping is better than hanging there all lifeless….

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. fredrieka said:

    Cupcake I like some of the places you get stuck especially under the sheets it looks cozy. Your mama knows nothing ventured nothing gained. Go for it!

    • So true, F! It’s time to focus on venturing and getting stuff out there. Mom will focus on that and I will focus on snuggling under the sheets for as long as I can.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Now we will ALL have something to look forward to. Yahoo book 2!!! Let’s get this party started! Did you say cake?!?!?

    • Thanks, G. I said cake. Did you say party? Who loves a party better than me? Nobody – that’s who. It’s time for a Book2Party!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Cake! I think your Mom has a great plan!!!

  10. Your Mom is wonderful at getting you unstuck, Cupcake, and she has a brilliant plan to unstick her writing career, too.

  11. I need to put my stories somewhere also. But I don’t know where and I don’t really know how. Sigh!

    Good luck with yours!

    Linda

  12. Stuck is not the most fun – Choppy regularly has things get stuck underneath the couch. Thankfully, she has a couple humans around who are happy to help get those un-stuck!

    Also, Choppy would volunteer to help eat that cake. In case, you know, you’re stuck with eating all of it!

    • Ha! Sure C. If I were “stuck” eating the whole cake, you’d be a great help. But Mom ate it! I only got a few bites of the inside white part. Under the couch is a mysterious place. Things disappear and then reappear. It’s voodoo.

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. Mom is bound to have some success – she’s determined and good things happen when we’re determined! You look adorable in your “stuck” spots – but I think cake and kisses are MUCH better than being stuck!

    Love, Sammy

    • I agree, S. Cake and kisses are the best. Ditto cuddles and treats and rides in the car. There’s always plenty to be excited about. I never worry about Mom. She has no shortage of determination.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. What a cute post. I love you being stuck between sheets. You look so peaceful, Cupcake! Good for your mom! Glad she’s sending out manuscripts in July! Wishing her the best!

    • Thanks, P. We will need all the good wishes we can get. Plus I will probably be stuck 82 more times by then…

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Cupcake, love those pictures! And the children and their kite with how & where you get stuck could have legs! Mama’s friends who write say self publishing is the way to go

    • Thanks, S. That is a great solution – for a normal person. Apparently self-publishing is too much work for Mom. Plus it might cut into my playtime…. That would not be cool.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Hi Cupcake. I like your new patriotic scarf and your patriotic sheets. Stuck. Hmm. At least you don’t get stuck up in a tree like that kite and like I’ve heard happens to some cats. Hope you are having a good summer.

    • Thanks, L. I’m dying to get stuck in a tree. I’ve been very curious about what goes on up there. Squirrels seem to love it…. One of these days…

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake, you have charmed my mommy thoroughly! Look at her. Just up not 15 minutes ago and smiling big!!! YOpu have accomplished a LOT!

  18. It’s good that your mom has a plan, and even better that she has that fabulous cake and gives you kisses. Sometimes I get stuck under the bed and my humans have to give me treats to make me crawl out. I have those humans right where I want them. 😉

  19. hello cupcake its dennis the vizsla dog hay so that is the kite eeting tree wot i hav red abowt in the faymus heeroglyffik peanuts!!! i that it wood hav bigger teeth!!! kayk and kisses sownd gud but beeing rappd up in sheets is the best!!! ok bye

    • Hey D the V. If the tree has teeth, they are tiny ones, just big enough to eat paper kites. I hope… *gulp* I have always wanted to climb a tree, but now that you’ve mentioned the teeth, I’m changing my plans.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Cupcake you sure do get stuck in a lot of places. I haven’t been stuck up a tree either but Kali has when a dog chased her up a tree. Some dogs can be so rude! Not you though Cupcake…I know you would just be filled with kisses for us. yeah right, dream on Shoks!! MOL

    Shoko

    • You are right, of course, S. I would most likely kiss you. I don’t kiss the cats that hide under the cars in my neighborhood because I’ pretty sure they’re trying to kill me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. such cute photos. I love that Cupcake of yours.

  22. Stupid tree stealing the kids’ kite! Cupcake, those pictures of you are so adorable, especially the kissy picture. *Ear licks* Noodle

    • Thanks, N. It’s been days and days and the kite is STILL THERE! I sure hope Mom’s work doesn’t get stuck like that! Yikes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Big ‘ap-paws’ on your mom’s July goal. We’re sure something is bound to develop from her efforts. As for the cake, oh my heavens, that looks scrumptious! Love the lipstick head photo-too cute❣️

  24. I hope you make your goal. And Cupcake better share that cake!

    • Thanks, Mr. N. Sharing is caring. But all I ended up with was a taste of the white part in the middle. Yum.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Good luck submitting all your work. I’m sure you will be successful! And Cupcake – if you’re going to get stuck, inside the sheets is a great place to do it. Now, get stuck into that cake before Monty spots it!
    Love Tess, Monty and Chicken 🐾

    • Thanks, T, M, and C. I hope your positive thoughts come through for Mom’s work plan. Stuck in a cake is my dream come true.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Cupcake, you look even more adorable when you sleep in your starry sheet!! And I thought you could not look more adorable than you already do!! And good luck to mom, yes, there is something good and fun to happen for sure. More kisses from Charley and me xoxoxo Johanna

  27. You get stuck in very good places Cupcake. I wish I could get stuck like that. 😆

    Sounds like mom is very busy and I am glad to hear she is not stuck and as always I love to see the stunning shots mom took of you. You are such a gorgeous little darling. 😀

    Lots of kisses and hugs to both of you. ♥

    • Thanks, S. I didn’t realize I got stuck so much, but now that the photo proof is gathered, I guess I do. I hope Mom’s work soars instead of sticks.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • hahaha! You got stuck in such cute ways. I am sure Mom’s work will. She is a great writer and photographer. 😀 ♥ Hugs ♥

  28. You’ve got some really awesome things to look forward to Cupcake! I’ve got my fingers crossed that mom gets some great news!

  29. I don’t like being stuck at home Cupcake,good luck to your mum with her book,xx Speedy

    • Thanks, S. I can tell you don’t like staying home. That’s why you’re always hopping around with your harness and leash!

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. Being stuck is no fun but cake and kisses ROCK! I love your couch bed. The Bayou Boys need one. LOL!

  31. Crikey Cupcake … Sometimes it would be good to be a cat, aye? Then you could climb that tree and get the kite for the children. I’m glad you’re Mum’s not stuck. I like a lot of the places you got stuck. Especially between the sheets.

    • Thanks, C. You have no idea how many times I have wished I could climb a tree – for MANY reasons – most of them are named squirrels. Apparently, I am a cuddler. Not a climber.

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. Dear Cupcake, you could be stuck just about anywhere’s and it always turns out way cute. Mom sounds like a writing machine, maybe she’s actually a cyborg? Have you seen any weird twitching lately. Have a fun day getting un-stuck xo B

    • Oh yeah, Boomdee! Mom is always twitching. I’m going to check her back for batteries when she falls asleep….

      Love and licks,
      C

  33. Hi Cupcake. We are new to your blog. We enjoyed and look forward to your future posts.

  34. […] For Mom’s birthday writing time, she revised an old story about a birthday party gone wrong. She said that maybe my birthday will bring it some good luck. […]

Leave a Reply

