Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Twist

Supposedly there are only seven (or nine) basic story plots in the whole wide world. That means that the millions and millions of books that are written are just different twists on those plots. Mom has been twisting away on three different stories these past couple of weeks. She’s working to make them different and fun and unusual and original and able to stand out in the crowd.

It’s kind of like taking a street nap. I mean – a nap is a nap is a nap. It’s always a challenge to put a new twist on my favorite outdoor activity.

street3Sometimes I sit for a while before totally hitting the deck.

street6Sometimes, I lie on the sidewalk instead of the street. It’s made of the same surface material, so it feels just as good. Plus, no cars can interrupt my nap, and Mom doesn’t have to drag me into the gutter every five minutes to keep me from getting run over.

street10This was a nap I took as soon as I got out of Mom’s car. When I popped out, I felt that warm asphalt and just couldn’t help myself.

street8I especially like a street nap when the ground is extra filthy. Dumpster residue, oil stains, and gravel are some of my favorites. And I make sure to press my allergy spot into the dirt. Mom keeps the spot clean and dry and sanitized and tries very hard not to let it get infected. That’s why I have to take matters into my own paws and drag it through the dirt now and then. I’m pretty sure clean is overrated.

There is always another spin, a better way, a new approach, and a fresh twist – whether it’s for a tired story or a classic street nap. Mom says, “This is super cute!” and “I have a GREAT idea for the ending!” and “Where is the peroxide??”

cone and doggie

….and, “Get in the tub.”

bath

 

Comments on: "Twist" (90)

  1. Bella loves to lay down on any heated surface too … although being a mostly black dog she gets super hot super fast {which doesn’t faze her in the least}. Keep your mumma on her toes … that’s your job 🙂 x

  2. Asphalt is a great place to lay down cupcake!

  3. hannahandlucy said:

    We hope the bath is feeling cool for you to snooze in Cupcake.

    • Thanks, H and L. I am kind of tense in the tub. Especially when Mom puts conditioner on my furs and I have to stand there for 5 whole minutes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. Benji asks “do you roll on your back? I do – my play mat, grass, concrete, so many different places. One day I rolled in Swan poo. Mary was cross then.”

    • Yes, B! I do flip over and squiggle around. It feels SOOOO good! Swan poo would be amazing, but I have never tried any.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Oh Cupcake…nobody can make a street nap look as inviting, comfy and glamorous as you do! I do think that your allergy spot ought to be clean though so why not lie on the OTHER side???? I’m sure your Mom will come up with just the right angle and twist to make her stories stand out….just like you stand out in a crowd (or on the asphalt!).

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. Mom is twisting things every day. Hopefully, she’ll settle on the right combination. She always wonders why I don’t nap on my good side. I guess I’m just stubborn that way….

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. I like your technique Cupcake. Pretending to nap whilst secretly keeping your eye on the whole area. Very professional. The cone shaped listening device is a stroke of genius. I might employ these methods myself.
    Monty 🐾

  7. fredrieka said:

    Rolling in the dirt now covered with earth taking the nap is not a mishap.
    Or
    Rolling in dirt blanketed with earth taking a nap in the sun. Your right this is fun

  8. I know that fresh twists… it suddenly jumps in our head and makes a story special… but sometimes it fits not really with the story we wrote … then we have to wiggle and to twist around the whole story that it fits together again… probably it was a writer who invented that dance with the same name :o) … oh and I’m with you… clean is overrated… absolutely :O)

    • Thanks, E. I’m not sure if Chubby Checker was a writer…. Maybe. But you’re right. Sometimes enough twisting makes a brand new story! It’s like magic! Let’s never get clean – ever again!

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Oh Cupcake..you are a true street artist..why does your Mum not get this 😉 bless your heart…try twisting Mum’s arm into letting you soak up all that street creativity 😉 loves Fozziemum xxx

    • Thanks, FM. Sometimes Mom uses patience and stands there with me “like a jackass” while I work on my tan. When a car comes, she says the word, “This is embarrassing!”

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Hahaha Cupcake that’s not too bad..sometimes i use the word ‘Zip your pie hole’…guess we all have twisty words 🙂 xxc

  10. I can twist myself into a nap just reading about you napping! Zzzzzzz ❤️

    • Yes, G! That’s the effect I have on humans. I’m so cozy and cuddly, I put people to sleep!

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. Frankie and Ernie said:

    WE agree… that Clean thingy is WAY overrated.

  12. Happy snoozing Cupcake. 🙂

  13. Brodie here. Cupcake you have the corner on naps…and I thought I was good at that. Enjoy seeing what you are up to. Happy day!

  14. Colliesofthemeadow said:

    Humans never get it do they? Warm spots to lie down and dirt, wonderful dirt, if something doesnt kill you it only makes you stronger? Why dont they understand that? -The Collies

    • Good question, Collies. Humans are always, “Clean clean clean and get up off the ground. A car is coming!” Ugh. They’re obsessed!

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Well if you think that asphalt is comfy, that is all that matters. Your Mom Cupcake must work hard to make twists and turns on all subjects but it must be fun to try. You all have a great day.

    • Thanks, M. Mom always calls her writing “working hard,” but I am not so sure. It seems pretty simple to me. Once I fell asleep on her iPad and typed QQQQQ with my ear. Nuthin’ to it!

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. I’m a heat seeking pup also, Cupcake! We are so a like! Boomer

    Linda

  17. Cupcake, if I’ve told you once, I’ve told you at least twice, Do. Not. Lay. In. The. Street. It’s a good way to get squished to pieces. You have a sidewalk? Ugh! Lay there! Personally, I like rolling in the grass on a sunny day. Cool underneath and hot on top. 🙂 oww, it still hurts to smile.

    • I hope your smile is feeling better today, L. I do hit the deck on the sidewalk sometimes, but the street is so much more…. dangerous. Plus it drives Mom crazy! I live for that!

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Dumpster residue is the best, Cupcake. My sister and I like to lick it as we go by, but now we just might consider a little siesta. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thank YOU for the inspiration, Miss HL. I never though to taste that dumpster juice. It smells delicious, so…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. You are a silly little girl Cupcake! We have never hear of a dog who likes to take street naps like you!
    luvs
    Marty and the Gang

    • Thanks, M and the gang. Whenever you feel chilly, hit the street. You’ll see what I mean. Wait…. Are you allowed outside?

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Cupcake, two thoughts…there are only so many notes in music, and look at all the great pieces that get written! Plus, we have geese on our street right now with their babies, and my Mama, won’t let me roll in OR eat their pooo! She is such a meanie…..listen, I think you should Lee your hurt place clean too…Sammy has a great idea. Just lay on you other side…you can get just as dirty AND keep your hurt place clean. Xxxxx Skyler

    • Thanks, S and S. I appreciate the suggestion about flipping over. That never occurred to me. But it sounds like it just might work! I agree that your mom is being mean. SO IS MINE! Our geese leave candies for me in the grass every day. Mom calls it the word disgusting and won’t let me eat any. Ugh.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Hoomans never seem to understand out artistry and quirks. The hooman didn’t think much of Noah’s hairdressing skills last week

    Do they not appreciate art!

    xxxx

    • That is the problem with humans. They do not understand art. Or quirks. Or fun hairstyles. Or filth.

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. I can safely say Mr. N has never tried to nap in the street. Wouldn’t you prefer a nice grassy patch?

    • I do sit in the grass sometimes. But nothing beats that warm asphalt in the middle of an intersection.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Oh Cupcake, you are a funny girl! It is good to keep the ick out of your allergy spot. No germs allowed there for sure.

    • Thanks, Pix. I don’t usually look at street dirt as germs. Germs seem so ….icky. Dirt is so ….fun.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Your street nap looks so relaxing Cupcake! 💕

  25. I love all of your twists and turns beautiful ❤ XOXO – Bacon
    P.S. I sent you an instant messenger message from my mom's facebook page.. check it out if you get a chance 🙂

  26. Sampson can’t stand like he used to, so he’s been taking street naps and yesterday he took a driveway nap. 🙂 Is it because the asphalt is SO warm from the sun? I don’t get it.

    • I enjoy driveway and parking lot naps almost as much as busy intersection naps, J. For me, it is all about the heat. I originally lived on the streets of Georgia for the first few years of my life. Mom thinks I am trying to recapture the warmth. Sampson might just be tired from his walk!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • I think Sampson IS tired from his walk. I’d worry if I had to walk with you Cupcake, busy intersection naps? Brr it makes me shiver just thinking about it.

  27. Loved the pictures of the nap. Pets do have a mind of their own.

    • So true, P. When Mom says the word, “No. No! NO!!” and “Keep walking.” I still flop down on the ground and catch some street time.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Oh man. Worst twist EVER!

  29. That’s interesting about the story plots. Good luck to you and your mom, for your respective interests! 🙂

  30. You and Sofie definitely are writing the same ending.

  31. I’m so jealous, Cupcake. I’d sell my soul to the devil to be able to sleep anywhere! 😉
    P.S. Sorry about the bath ‘twist.’ In Sam’s mind, there’s nothing ‘twisty’ about it, that’s just a rotten trick.

    • Thanks, M. I am a master sleeper. Sam is dead right about the bath twist. Baths are never fun.

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. Katie Isabella said:

    Boy, Cupcake, you and my mom’s dog Jack (she had as a girl and she raised him from just being weaned till she married and went far away) would have gotten along great. Mom and her family lived within a quarter mile of a farm with cows. Need I go into the titillating details about the pasture and rolling?

  33. Katie Isabella said:

    My mom said that her then husband said, back for the first few years they were married that he always knew what books to get her from the library if she was’t going with him for some reason…anything with a woman’s name on it is what he said. Maybe that type of novel is one of the 9 plot types…

    • Oh yeah, KI! I think I would like being around cows. They seem fun and delicious. I think your mom’s then-husband was a smart cookie… And so were the writers of those chick-books. Lucky chicks….

      Love and licks,
      C

  34. Ahhhh to be a dog! Let the napping commence! 🙂

  35. As Heraclitus, the great Greek philosopher said, “The sun is new each day”. Maybe, the asphalt is new each day, too. At least, if it’s warm.

    • It does feel new and different each time K. That Hera… Herta… Heraclip…. That guy – He knows what he’s talking about!

      Love and licks,
      C

  36. I like to lie on the streets too, Cupcake and roll around to absorb all the dirt..and warmths too, but I am lucky to have my own raspberry to clean myself, so no bad twist on my furrs 😀 Take care of your wound..well, I know you mommy does! Pawkisses for a Blessed Whit Monday 🙂 ❤

  37. Well you sure make street naps look inviting! But for me, nothing that results in a bath is worth doing… 😉

    • You’re right, D. I did not see that coming. Who knew that dumpster sauce was so gross. It seemed very inviting….

      Love and licks,
      C

  38. An unfortunate twist to the tale indeed Cupcake. 😆

    I would do street naps as well if I was allowed to. It is always nice and warm. 😀

    • Thanks, S. It gets a little warmer each day. I fine the oil spots are the warmest places to rest. But no licking allowed.

      Love and licks,
      C

  39. After a long absence i browsed around happily!! And than ending with this delightful post,bliss! Cupcake, you even look adorable in the cone of shame!!! xoxox Johanna

    • Thanks, J. I’m so happy to bring a smile. I am wearing the cone less and less. Only when Mom has to leave me for a while. Apparently, I am a sneaky little weasel with scratching. I don’t know how she knows this because she doesn’t trust me enough to see what I will do on my own…

      Love and licks,
      C

  40. Cupcake, you are very skilled at finding nice warm asphalt. But I suspect you get a lot of grease marks and so of course, a bath. purrs, Savvy

    • Thanks, S. Sometimes Mom calls me the word of, “Filthy.” I’m pretty sure that means cute…

      Love and licks,
      C

  41. Katie Isabella said:

    CC…I agree that they must all live in my belly. Cause Momma sure fell in love with each of us awfully quickly. And I with her. Has to be a reason. xoxo

  42. Oh Cupcake you’re as dirty as we like to get!! Everything is so much more fun when we are dirty as can be.

    Story plots are pretty standard and one could look them up on the internet. It’s the twists that make the story interesting. We love our stories and story time.

    Your friend,

    Shoko

  43. Gah! Dumpster dirt and gravel…yuk ! No wonder mom has you in the tub. What’s your favourite bubble bath smell? I like yang yang and Jasmine. The parking lot asphalt gets super hot on a warm day, you must be made of tuff stuff. Mom’s so funny ❤

Leave a Reply

