Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Five Word Friday

5

Today’s 5 words are about Little by Little.

5. My face – After visiting 4 different parks in a week,

double slide

I may have picked up some allergens which made me itchy. REALLY itchy. So itchy that I tried to scratch my face off.

face1

Little by little, it’s getting better.

face2face3

4. The vet – The vet gave me 2 shots and said Mom needed to keep the cone on my head so I could get better.

vet

*gulp*

Little by little I am allowed some cone-free time each day as long as Mom is home to watch me like a hawk.

cone sad

3. Beginning to End – Mom is working on a new story. It usually takes a week or two to get from the opening to the ending. She’s still way at the beginning, but tries to move it along some each day – little by little.

once upon

2. Visits – Little by little the springtime school visits are getting scheduled and done. Mom visited a super fun school last week for their Discovery Day. It was hard work and a longer day than she’s used to, but the kids and teachers made it a great time. I waited at home…

left alone

1. Bunny and Carrots – Mom is eating one of her chocolate Easter bunnies little by little. First the bunny went deaf,

earless bunny

Huh??

then he totally lost his head.

headless bunny

I am afraid to see what happens to the poor guy next.

bunny butt

GAH! Where’s his tail??

No chocolate bunnies allowed for me, but I got a toy bunny

bunny

and every day Mom puts some carrots into my kibbles. Little by little the carrots run out.

carrots please

Then we switch to green beans. Yum.

green beans

16. And also, spring is coming little by little. Some flowers started growing already!

chalk flowers

Wait. What?

 

Comments on: "Five Word Friday" (69)

  1. Oh Cupcake, I’m so sorry you got the itchies and have to be a cone-head – you are an adorable cone-head though….does that count? Little by little Spring is sneaking up on us too – no flowers yet but soon I’m sure. YAY!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. I don’t hate the cone as much as some doggies. It seems like I’m wearing an outfit, so I’m OK with it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. You make such a cute fairy Cupcake and I am so sorry to hear you had some itchings. Nasty stuff that. Now I’m itching as well. 😆 Luckily you have mom there to take care of you. Those cones are no fun but it does prevent the scratching and before you know it, it will be off for good. 😀

    That poor bunny. I would just sit and look at it as well as I don’t like chocolate much either Cupcake. My hubby loves chocolate and says it’s vegetables. Now can you imagine? LOL!

    Take care and feel better real soon and tell Spring to keep those itches away from you. ♥ Hugs ♥

    • GAH! Thanks, S. I love your hubby. If chocolate is really veggies, then there’s hope that I’ll get some in my kibbles. You’ve always got such great ideas.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • hahaha! Now you can go and tell mom about the veggie chocolates. 😆

        Thanks for the love and licks. ♥

  3. I hope little by little that allergy goes away and it never comes back to you…. if you ask me I first would eat the feet of that bunny to make sure it can’t run away :o) but headless is good too… so it can’t see the open door when it is on the run :O)

  4. fredrieka said:

    Cupcake your poor face has been through so much. Do what your Momwithoutpaws tells you. She knows best.

    • I did everything Mom and the doctor said. I even let Mom wipe me down with a warm cloth every time I come in from outside. I am feeling much better.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Gosh, sure hope those itchies get better soon. But it does look they are going away. That poor chocolate bunny is going away little by little. Bet it is tasty for the Mom.

    • There’s not much left of the bunny, M. and I am feeling MUCH better. I stayed without my cone all day yesterday and so far today, too!

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. That’s the way I work too. Little by little, we can get it done!

    • You know how it works, T. Just putting one foot in front of the other and one word in front of the other till it’s done!

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Little by little you are getting more adorable every day. 🐶❤️ I can’t eat chocolate either. I am on a carrot and string bean diet myself. Oprah would be proud of me. Wait! What?

    • GAH! Oprah will be proud of both of us, G. We are both eating our veggies and keeping our weight at a steady 22 pounds. Right? Wait. What??

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. Little by little spring will be here, your rash will improve, you’ll be back to your 100% adorable self, and Mum’s story will reach “the end”. As for the chocolate bunny – we think it’s a magical disappearing act.

  9. Ah, I see you are also on the green bean and carrot diet. Mine went so well that I lost 5 pounds and have now graduated to a gruel of chicken boobies and no-salt added green beans and carrots all put in the blender together as a kibble topping. Oh, and Mom says please try to avoid those steroid shots.What the docs don’t tell you until it’s too late is they can cause Cushings disease in dogs. That’s how my predecessor, Freda, got Cushings. *sigh* It’s always something.

    • Thanks, L. I didn’t get steroid shots, just an antihistamine and an antibiotic. But they worked and made me better. Mom worries a lot about my weight, so sometimes she gives me a green bean or a carrot slice for a treat or two.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Lexi is right-you don’t want to use steroids. Ask mom to put some Calendula on those spots, safer and effective. Feel better soon, Cupcake and get over the itchies. ღ

  11. Frankie and Ernie said:

    Awwwwww Cupcake, we are so sorry that you had the terrible itchy thingy. Glad that it is better NOW. WE love Carrots and Green Beans… Much better than chocolate bunnies.

    • I agree, F and E. Those veggies are yummy. Some other fruits and veggies (like cabbage and blueberries) are just good to chew and spit out on the rug.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. It’s not a cone, it’s a vase for a beautiful flower! Or maybe it’s just a silly cone…

  13. aaww beautiful – you always make me smile. I love you Cupcake. XOXO – Bacon

  14. OH! Gosh! We are so sorry Cupcake! But we are very glad you are getting better!

    Boomer and Linda

  15. hannahandlucy said:

    Here’s hoping your itches are easing Cupcake.
    Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx

    • Thanks, H and L. The itchy face is MUCH better now. Medicine is amazing. The cone – not so amazing, but effective.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Poorly Cupcake! I hopes you is all feeling better now. Your new play rabbit looks all goody and Monty did say you should all ” retain the cone for future use as it is a valuable piece of equipment.” Love Chicken 🐾

    • Thanks, C. Mom agrees with your theory about the cone. She is saving it in the closet “just in case” things turn ugly around here.

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. I don’t get to comment much on your posts, Cupcake, cuz Tommy keeps me really busy these days but I wanted to tell you that I love, love, LOVE all of your posts and eagerly wait to read each one!

    Happy Spring!

    • Thanks, D. I hope Tommy isn’t being naughty. We know how busy you are with new books and such, and we’re happy about that. It’s the best way to be busy.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. So sorry about your allergies…that looked very irritating, and those cones…well nuff said. When Mama gives Scottie shaped Walker’s shortbread cooks, she asks peeps not to eat the heads first. Our CPA reported that everyone in her office followed the request……

    • Thanks, S. I like your mom’s rule about the doggie shaped cookies. Eating the head forst is just plain rude.

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Hope you feel better soon.

  20. Sweet Cupcake i would chew your face off it’s so delicious..but that is cruel..so i will settle for sending virtual kisses to you..those allergies have been giving Doc here a nasty time for months on end..little by little he has gotten better..i am glad Mum is having fun at school and i hope soon your cone will be gone..loves Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. I am happy Doc is getting better. The vet told Mom to keep me out of the grass, which is a joke, I’m sure. But Mom is wiping off all the allergens with a warm cloth when I come back inside. I guess taking a street nap is safer than walking in the park. Who knew?

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Another great outfit! You make a really beautiful butterfly. Hope you soon will not be a cone head . Lady Caroline

  22. Oh, you poor girl! but with the watching eye of the hawk it will dispappear little by little, we are sure of it 😉 Now, tell me, how are the bunnies…still intact ? Thank you for your Easter wishes, while we were gulped down by the introooders. Hope you had a wonderful time as well:) Double Pawkiss:)❤

    • Thanks, Little B. The hawk helped me because I am cone free for the past day and a half. Mom’s chocolate bunny is just a tummy. My new stuffed bunny is still intact and is great for napping and cuddling.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. That little bit going on by your mouth looks itchy and sore. I sure hope you’re feeling better and can get back to scarfing food in the street and street naps.

    • Thanks, J. I am just about back to my old self and took a lovely street nap in front of the garages yesterday.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Oh no! What are you allergic to? I hope you get the cone off soon.

    • Thanks, Mr. N. The cone is off, now. The vet said to keep me out of the grass. I think she’s insane. I love the grass. Mom is keeping me close to home for now. Not too many new parks.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Katie Isabella said:

    Sweet Cupcake, I am so sorry that the allergies came and swooped down on you like the proverbial duck on a June Bug. Soon the collar can come off. Does you mom need to give you allergy medicine now? xoxo

    • Thanks, KI. Darn that proverbial duck! My itchiness is gone and I do not have to take any medicine. If I get itchy again, Mom can give me Zyrtec.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. No! Not the cone! We feel so bad for you!

    • Thanks, S and C. The cone is back in the closet now. I am feeling much better. I didn’t mind wearing it, actually. It was like wearing a new outfit, but slightly less cute.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. MOL…or not!! Allergies are the pits…Kali has some and so does mom.

    Shoko

  28. Little by little things get done! Like putting one foot in front of the other gets you where you want to go!

  29. Great countdown! 🙂

  30. Cupcake, you must be the cutest fairly I’ve ever seen! Im so glad you allergy is getting better.
    Hugs for you and mom🌺

  31. Allergies are no fun! I’ve had them too, those itchies are annoying! But I’m glad yours is getting better now. Spring always brings some allergy spots to my tummy and my family has to stop me from licking them. Everyone’s happy when they go away. 🙂

  32. […] socks. They’re mine. I wear one on my scratching-foot so I don’t hurt my face if my allergies kick up. Kick up… See what I did […]

  33. Heavens, I really do have a few Cupcakes stories to read. Look how cute you and the beautiful daffodils are. Your funny face at the bottom of the slide made me laugh too. I hope your itching chin has all healed up sweetness xo B

  34. Hope your allergies and itchy face is better Cupcake. Your bunny looks like a fun new stuffy

  35. I hope your allergies are all cleared up now, Cupcake, and that you don’t have to wear the cone anymore.

Leave a Reply

