Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

2016

This is where it all begins. Everything starts here, today.
-David Nicholls-

2016 is a bright new year filled with hope and promise. After I recovered from all the celebrations…

all asleep

…I prepped myself for my first steps into the 365 days ahead of me.

blanket baby

First some beauty sleep…

Actually 366 days, since it’s a leap year. Leaping is something I love to do. I’m such a tiny girl, leaping makes me feel big and powerful.

Mom is starting off the year right with a story revision that she’s been doing for a few weeks, now. Her writing group gave her tons of good suggestions for ways to make her story better.

lightbulb

She took things out, added things in, and moved things around. She used more words to show action, fewer words to make a punchier ending, and new words to say things in a more precise and fun way.

When Mom sent her story back to Rate Your Story, they gave it a score of 2…

RYS2

…AND gave her a couple more ideas for fixing it. A 2 is a big improvement from the 5 the story had the first time it was judged.

RYS scores

I’m pretty sure Mom would have done some leaping of her own, if she could. But that’s what she has me for, after all…

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (72)

  1. hannahandlucy said:

    Cupcake we don’t know what you’ve had to make you run about like that but our Mum says it must be something good.
    Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx

  2. Run like the wind Cupcake! You make me wish I could move like that….but alas, those years are gone. Anyway, here’s to a fab new year…….rest up and get your energy stored up so you can inspire your Mom to take BIG LEAPS with her writing in the new year!!

    Love, Sammy

    • I know what you mean, S, but there’s a lot to be said for peaceful napping, too. I do a lot of that, in between playing.

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. fredrieka said:

    I love running it would be fun to run with you

  4. Good going on that story. Keep leaping about, Cupcake, you’ve got a good start for this leap year. Lady Caroline

    • Thanks, LC. I have a lot of leaping left in me. I didn’t have a forever home for the first 3 years of my life. I am making up for lost playtime.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Oh, I just love the videos that mom uploaded Cupcake! You’re so much like Russell. He also loves toys that he can shake and they must also make sounds. I love how you fly. I think you must come and visit so you can teach Russell that trick as well. 😆

    I can see you were quite busy and I am glad you got some rest in between. Sounds like you and mom are going into 2016 with lots of energy and positivity. Just the way it should be.

    Thank mom for the gorgeous photos and post and take care.
    Love & Hugs from Simba and Russel. ♥

    • Thanks, S and S and R. Mom and I like having positive attitudes. We always expect the best and if anything less happens, we are just…. surprised…

      Love and licks,
      C

      • The best attitudes ever Little Binky and that is the only way to go. Yeah, I know those kind of surprises as well. LOL!

        Love & Hugs ♥

  6. It’s a leap year, so an extra day off – perfect for procrastinators!

  7. Love all the energy, Cupcake, and the reminder that we need to leap into this year! Cheers to leaping, revising, and writing, and especially to a 2 from RYS! That is such awesome news – worth several leaps for joy!

    • Thanks, P. Mom has had occasional 2s but this one was her favorite because she watched it change from a 5. GAH. I feel a leap coming on…

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. aaaww Happy New Years beautiful! XOXO – Bacon

  9. Frankie and Ernie said:

    You really are a EXCELLENT Leaper, Cupcake. We couldn’t believe our eyes.

    • As a couple of tiny guys, you must know the value of a flying leap. How else could I get anything done around here…?

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. LEAP YEAR! Oh wonderful! We shall leap about all year, Cupcake! Boomer
    Linda

  11. #10 made me laugh. It’s better than saying ‘you stink at this’ but not by much. Leaping lizards! You’re FAST!!!
    P. S. I think all of mom’s stories are #1’s. These people need to get on board!!!

    • Thanks, G. Mom and I wish everybody could be on board like you! Plus, I’m happy there are no lizards leaping around here. I’m pretty sure I’m afraid of lizards. But I’m not afraid of leaping!

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Congratulations to your mom! And about those leaping videos, Cupcake. Mommy’s afraid my little sister, Tallulah, might have seen them and gotten some ideas. Thanks a lot. 😉

  13. Here’s to a pawsome 2016, Cupcake!

  14. Oh so cute, Cupcake! Happy New Year to you and your mom!

  15. I think you’re ready for the leap year with all the leaping practice you’re getting. Happy New Year!

  16. Congratulations on getting such a great review of your story.

  17. Adorable!! Happy Happy New Year! DakotasDen

  18. Cupcake we love your videos of you zooming! You are a good deader too! That stuffie didn’t stand a chance! Tell your Mom concats on her story 🙂 Happy 2016!!!
    Luvs
    Marty and the Gang

    • Thanks, M and the Gang. I did give my stuffed horse a beating, but I didn’t dead him. He lives to play another day…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Congratulations to your mom, Cupcake, 2 is really outstanding! You are outstanding too and… energized..MOL..Somehow the video reminds me of me and my mousie 😀 Pawkisses for a dynamic week 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks Little B. I do feel energized when I play with toys. I would like to play with a mousie – not a real one, but a toy, like yours.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. You leap as well as a cat, Cupcake!

    • Thanks, C. I have never seen a cat leap, because in my neighborhood, they always hide under cars and try to kill me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Happy New Year Cupcake and if mom ever falls off task, maybe you can give her a good shake like you did with that toy. 😉

  22. Hi Cupcake….I know we’re slow but I blame mom. I love leaping too….it makes me feel so fast and like nobody can catch me. Your mom’s story sounds like it has really improved. Have a great week Cupcake and mom.

    Shoko

  23. Choppy envies that sort of leaping skill – the only one around here doing that is the cat!

  24. Happy new year cupcake!!

  25. Happy new year, my friend! Glad to see you and Mom are both off to a great start!

  26. Cupcake, first I am going to say hi and happy New Year here and tell your mom congratulations for that 2! And best best of fortune to get ready to send it on in! Now I am going back to watch you fly! xoxo

  27. OH what a HAPPY GIRL you are! Mommy has a huge smile on her face!!! Run and leap and leap some more sweet girl.

    • Awww… Thanks, KI. I do love to run and jump and bounce and fly and slide. Mom says our wood floors look like a mountain lion lives here. That’s good…. Right…?

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. You leap just great and what a lovely start to Mom’s new year

  29. Hi Cupcake. I think only a happy dog could zoom and leap like you. A few years ago I could leap straight up onto the dining room table from a standing position. You would have loved it. Tell your Mom if your blogs could be published as a book, they would be #1! She is already #1 with us.

    • Thanks, L. That would be my dream come true to jump onto the table. Once when I first came here to live, Mom left her chair sticking out so I got onto the table and TOOK HER MEDICINE! Then she had to call ASPCA poison control and induce vomiting. FYI – NOT FUN! But I always hope to get up there again sometime to steal pizza or cake.

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. Great post C! 😀 I think I would leap for a 2 too (or a tutu) ha ha ha
    Happy New Year!

  31. Congrats on getting a 2! Well done. Now you know where the bar is set and can move up to 1. Kudos. ღ

  32. Thanks for your kind comments about our beloved Stuart over at Bacon’s blog. We appreciate it so much. He was quite a guy.

  33. Drats Cupcake, I can’t see the movies. Just big black squares 😦 I must have the wrong browser or something. I bet you look very cute. Tell mom congratulations on going in the right direction with her story. Thats amazing. I think you’d need to have pretty thick skin to handle all the reviewing of your work. Even though it’s constructive, it would pinch a wee bit. xo

    • Thanks, Boomdee. Mom has a good attitude about rejection. It’s part of her job. And you’re right – I WAS very cute in the videos. Maybe you can see them on my youtube channel. Just search imbrite2 on youtube and you’ll see more of me than anybody could possibly want to see!

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  34. Congrats to the Mom. That is terrific that her story rated a 2. And Cupcake, you are one wild young lady. You do enjoy life to the fullest. Have a nice Sunday.

Leave a Reply

