Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Finishing and Starting

Mom will be finishing her Picture Book Magic class this week. Next week, she’s starting PiBoIdMo!

PiBo badge 2015

Sheesh! She’s barely finishing one thing and she’s starting another!

I like finishing my dinner…

dinner done

and then starting to beg for other people’s dinner.

begging

And finishing a car ride…

car ride

and starting a street nap before Mom drags me into the house.

street sleeper

In the month of November, people like Mom in the PiBoIdMo challenge have to think of a new idea for a new picture book every day of the month. That’s 30 new ideas in 30 days.

calendar

I haven’t had 30 ideas since I was born! Mostly my ideas are all the same. Eat treats,

101 treats

take a nap,

nap

steal food,

thief

take a walk.

reservoir walk

Well, I’m finished with my latest car trip and ready to start Read to a Pet Night at theΒ library . Let’s do this!

do it

Comments on: "Finishing and Starting" (71)

  1. Oh I have enough ideas for the whole year… but I have some doubts if your mom can use my ideas for her books… but on the other hand I bet the kids would like my ideas hehehe

  2. You Halloween costume is just terrific Cupcake. Glad the Mom is finishing up the book. Sounds like a good one.And those were some good ideas too. You all have a great day.

  3. I Luvluvluv your costume. And you and TKS should teach each other your begging techniques

  4. Cupcake, you and Choppy seem to have a lot of the same ideas about life! They aren’t many, but they certainly make for a good life!

  5. If only finishing a book was as easy as finishing dinner!

  6. Now that is one super Halloween costume. You look terrific ! Lady Caroline

  7. Very cute, as always, Cupcake. We’ll see you on Tara’s blog next month for PiBoIdMo. May your ideas be plentiful. ❀

  8. Cupcake, you know the important things in life, and that’s what matters. Now, I have a very important question for you: Dogs who look a lot like you keep attacking me. Would you attack me if you saw me? (I have paws crossed the answer is no.)

    • OMGoodness, L. Of course I would not attack you. I would probably be afraid of you, because I am afraid of everything. I think the dogs that are bothering you are demented lunatics.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. kittiesblue said:

    Cupcake, you are an amazingly adorable butterfly. And all the other photos of you are equally adorable. XOCK, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

  10. 30 ideas in 30 days! Yikes! I don’t think I’ve had that many ideas either!!! Looking good in that purple/pinkish thing. (P. S. I see mine new ‘pocketbook’ πŸ‘€) πŸ‘πŸΌβ€οΈ

    • Thanks, G. I think that pocketbook makes a good backdrop for my tutu. And my smile. #lamephotography #noattentiontodetail

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. I bet your Mom does just great in the November challenge…….AND I think you have wonderful ideas myself – eating, street napping, visiting peeps who like visitors, reading at the library – you have a BUSY life full of GREAT ideas!

    Love, Sammy

  12. That’s a lot of ideas! Good luck to your mumma. Super cute photo of you smiling at the library. X

    • Thanks, MJ. I have lots to smile about. Mostly kids that come to read books to me. They’re delicious! #itastedeachoneofthem

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. HEY, CUPCAKE!!!! WOW! I have the same thoughts as you…we must be twins!! Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  14. Cupcake! Are you wearing a purple tutu? Purple is my favorite color! The picture book idea thing sounds intense! I am currently working on my first one about a sea turtle! πŸ™‚

    • What a cool idea, P. Turtles are awesome. Mom used to have a turtle named “Leave the turtle alone.” Strange name, right…? But that’s what she said every time I looked at him.

      Love and licks,
      C

  15. Great point C! πŸ˜€

  16. So smart of your Mom to finish the Making Picture Book Magic course and THEN start PiBoIdMo. I’m registered for both in November, hoping the turkey will cook itself & the house will magically stay clean. Two Orange Pups are wondering whatever possessed me and offering to lick up anything that spills. With help like that, it’s sure to be a super month!

    • Yikes, P. If you get distracted and overwhelmed by all your writing work, the Orange Pups will have more floor-food than they can handle. Tell them to call me! And good luck…

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. What a form fitting and flatter costume Cupcake. Speaking of flattering….what’s this laying in the street bit? You’re not a street dog and you don’t want to be a flattened Cupcake alias Pancake. MOL

    Shoko

    • Thanks, S. Funny you should mention pancakes. I ate one this morning. It was tiny, but it was all mine!!! I like street naps, but happily, Mom drags me into the gutter before I get flattened.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Pancakes look delish. We don’t have them often and dad makes them when we do have them. Good for your mom being so alert as to get you off of the main roadway. We all have something we like to do that isn’t the brightest. Me…I eat strange things…that’s my hang up.

  18. Aw cupcake you’re the best! Tell your mom congrats on finishing up the picture book class, and also tell her all her hard work means you deserve extra treats! I’m sure that works out somehow!

  19. fredrieka said:

    momwithoutpaws has ideas she has been writing in a flourish but she has never been published, you should be proud of your momwithoutpaws

    • Thanks, F. I am very proud of Mom. She is trying hard not to be a one-book-wonder. We both have hope for your momwithoutpaws. Right place/right time/right inspiration (That’s YOU!)

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Thanks she needs the encouragement another site she posts her short stories she has lots of readers and comments

  20. Hurray for mom to have finished the picture book class and hurray again for starting a fun new project!!! Hopefully she will win some nice prizes too….Charley can help, she has lots of ideas and it involves a lot of walking, eating, no baths and no nail clipping but lots of naps and cuddles. Hmm, Cupcake, I think you have a kindred spirit there! XO Johanna

    • Thanks, J. Charley IS my sweet buddy. We think a lot alike. No baths – for sure!!! Naps and cuddles – for DOUBLE sure!!

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. hannahandlucy said:

    We’ve shut our eyes so we can honestly say we didn’t see you steal any food Cupcake.

  22. Oh Cupcake – I’m loving that outfit sweetheart! XOXO – Bacon

  23. You are so dang cute in that butterfly costume! Love!!!! You do crack me up with your street naps. I believe I would like a car ride today!

  24. I hope the November challenge goes well for your mom. I expect you help her get ideas! Treats would probably help.

    • Thanks, C. Treats are ALWAYS helpful. Don’t kid yourself. Mom will score some treats while she works. Hopefully, so will I.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. I love your ideas, Cupcake. Those are the same ideas I would love to have, but then there is PiBoIdMo. Good Luck on your November challenge Bette. I’m sure you’ll do great.

  26. Oh, I have plenty of ideas I can lend you, Cupcake; unfortunately when I use them, I usually hear “NO”! But your ideas are excellent too! I like the idea of PiBoIdMo, it reminds me of NaNoWriMo that my mom and sister participate in! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, D. Your Mom and sister are WAAAAY more ambitious than Mom. They will write thousands of words. Mom will probably write a couple of hundred for PiBoIdMo. ….if she’s lucky.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Cupcake you are the prettiest butterfly we know! Your Mom is amazing! Love all of your ideas Cupcake!
    Luvs
    Marty

  28. Love your Halloween costume! I haven’t heard of PiBoldMo before. I did Nanowrimo one year.

  29. Awwww, you make such a cutie butterfly Cupcake. Mom definitely knows how to dress you up. πŸ˜€

    Hahahah! You sound like Russel. He also finishes his dinner and then comes up to everyone, even Simba, to see if there’s anything else for him.

    You and mom makes me laugh. ‘Starting a street nap before Mom drags me into the house.’ LOL!

    Eating treats sounds like a very good idea and they look so good. You also look so adorable in all the stunning photos mom took of you Cupcake. I just love seeing you and read about all the wonderful things that you and mom are up to. Thanks to both of you for making my day. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, S. I think Russel is smart. When begging for more food we doggies can leave no stone unturned. Plus putting on the desperate/pathetic face helps a lot.

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. 30 ideas IS a lot. I hope you are inspiring mom with ideas Cupcake. Maybe try standing on your head or if you can’t do that, stand on Mom’s head….;-)

    • I like your idea, J. You are a clear thinker. I usually taste Mom’s hair, but I have never tried standing on her head. Or sitting on her head. I hope she has her camera and her idea list handy when I try it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  31. That could have been my live too, sweet butterfly…especially the part of the eating and sleeping πŸ˜€ That picture of you in front of the fountain is beautiful πŸ™‚ Pawkisses πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thanks, Little B. I’ve heard that kitties are excellent sleepers, so I think you’d be GREAT at that! Someday, we should take a street nap together….

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. Katie Isabella said:

    I am going to whisper something to you…mom and I both will…*we love you*

Leave a Reply

