Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

image

Mom does writing just about every day – but only for one hour. After one hour, her brain is fried, so she spends the rest of the day dreaming, talking, and wishing about writing. Also, she does mind-writing, watching and listening for ideas, reading picture books, and generally living her life.

On certain days she sends a story to Rate Your Story,

RYS

reads books and drinks coffee at Barnes and Noble,

IMG_6302

and sometimes she submits stories to agents or publishers.

IMG_6944

There are some things I do just about every day, too. I watch Mom watch TV,

IMG_7175

This is fascinating…

 

snoopervise the hanging plants out front,

IMG_7155

take a walk – or a hike,

IMG_7101

and get my teeth brushed.

IMG_6815

Also, I do street napping,

or grass napping....

or grass napping….

therapy dog work at the library

IMG_7134

and VA,

FullSizeRender

and go to the park.

IMG_4888

On certain days, I celebrate,

IMG_6041

dress up,

IMG_6514

and sometimes, I get hiccups.

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (72)

  1. Good grief! That is quite the schedule you’ve got there Cupcake, no wonder you need to take street naps.
    Now about the hiccupping – DO NOT hold your breath…it doesn’t work.
    Wally & Sammy

  2. You lead a very busy life, Cupcake. It’s important to find time for napping, but I’m not convinced the street is the best place!

    • Mom isn’t really on board with my street naps, either, C. She’s better about my grass and dirt naps…

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. My goodness! You have a lot of stuff to take care of plus looking after your mom. But by the happy look on your mug at the park, I think everything is good. Lady Carolinr

    • Thanks, Lady C. I’m pretty good with my time management. And Mom tries to make time for the park a few times a week. That makes me smile!!

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. hmmmm think this time our humans win… they can organize their work much better than we dogs… we are always busy… it’s impossible to manage all our duties within one hour :o)

    • Mom has a one hour attention span on a good day. My attention span is 3 seconds – every day.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Cupcake, That’s quite a schedule! Did you have to do special training to become a therapy dog? I bet my dog would be very good at that (as long as there are no squirrels in the library).

    • Yes, R. I went to obedience school and then studied how to be a Canine Good Citizen. I also had to have my temperament tested. Mom thought it was a miracle that I passed. I knew I could do it all along…

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Your Mom is smart to write everyday & brush your teeth, too. Both very good habits! Teeth don’t get clean by just thinking or dreaming about them. Books don’t magically appear from thoughts or dreams either. We need hard work & good habits, together with inspiration from pups like you! Thank you, Cupcake!

    • Thanks, P! I like to think I’m inspiring and I’m glad you noticed. Sometimes Mom misses a day of writing, but she NEVER misses brushing my teeth. She says I look like I’m on a steady diet of Cheez Doodles. Rude!

      Love and licks,
      C

  7. Oh Cupcake you really are a busy girl…..so is your Mom and sometimes you’re busy TOGETHER which is nice. I always love seeing your photos – street naps, grass naps, your beautiful dresses, and LOVED your hiccup video….Mom giggles when I get hiccups too!!!! Your Mom does a great job of balancing her writing with a sweet puppy like you……

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. Gah! I didn’t even know that kitties got hiccups, too! I think our moms have bad manners to laugh at us when we’re confused and hiccuping away.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. fredrieka said:

    It is great to be a snooperviser, also great to take naps in the grass especially when there is sunshine. Oh today is reading to our elders day we sure have great things in common. High Paw

    • High Paw, F. Reading to elders sounds like super fun. I’m visiting the Veteran’s Home on Saturday and next week, little kids will read stories to me at the library. Super fun.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Every day an adventure, Dear little Cupcake!! Myohmy, you have quite a schedule. No wonder you get the hiccups…no time to eat properly? Charley says, chicken is the cure…but then again Charley thinks chicken is the cure for everything! xo Johanna

    • Thanks, J. Charley is right! She should’ve been a doctor! Chicken IS the perfect cure for everything. And should be eaten regularly for prevention….

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. You really do have a busy schedule, Cupcake. So, are you a therapy dog?? We really like the the therapy dogs.
    The hanging plants are very pretty.
    You all have a great day.

    • Yes, M. I am a certified therapy dog. I have no real skills, but I like to see people and let them touch me and cuddle with me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. My oh my you and Mum are super busy ALL the time Cupcake..as for the hicc-a-ja-mups as i call them..i think it was lovely how you stared Mum down expecting her to maybe cure them 🙂 maybe you can wish or dream them away 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

    • Thanks, FM. I usually do come to Mom with all my problems. She did NOTHING for my hicc-a-ja-mups, though. She just laughed and mocked me. Not cool.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Swinging and napping sound great, Cupcake… hiccups, not so much.
    Enjoy your Tuesday!

  13. hiccups – hilarious my sweet dear friend!! XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks, B. Do pigs ever get hiccups? Mom says I should try chewing my food. Crazy, right?

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Snorts – yeah I get them too. The first time – they scared me. Now I know I need to slow down eating. And it works cause I know my food is not going anywhere. XOXO – Bacon

  14. Nothing cracks me up more than puppy hiccups. Gets me every time.

  15. Katie Isabella said:

    Those hiccups! And you were so sweet about them Cupcake! And seeing you at the park in the swing…riches to mommy she said. Seeing you celebrating…the same and oh! the dress-ups! May as well make the therapy visits fancy dress so everyone can see what a sweet girl you are and how you feel seeing them is worth your dressing up. xxoox

    • Awwww… Thanks, KI. Usually when Mom dresses me up, I get excited because it means something fun is about to happen. Therapy visits are super fun.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. My oh my I’d need much more nap time if I had your schedule 😉

  17. You are busier than any bee I’ve come across! Sounds like life is good. Hiking, parks, VA, library, hiccups. Oh. Wait! Get a drink of water. QUICK!

    • Thanks, G. Water! That’s brilliant! I never thought of that to solve my hiccup situation. Plus I’m afraid of my water dish. Ugh. It’s always something…

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. Oh cupcake you are so cute with hiccups

  19. Love your scarf Cupcake. Sorry you had the hic-cups they aren’t any fun 😦 Hope you and your Mom are enjoying your walks and therapy dog work!
    luvs
    Marty

    • Thanks, M. Mom and I do enjoy going out to work and play. I hope those hiccups are gone for good.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. I like that your mother has a routine of things for you to do. I know how much Archie likes routines. Never saw a dog with hiccups. The doorbell just rang on TV, and wonder pup Archie is barking at his shadow. 🙂

    • Thanks, P. Archie is no dope. He knows that barking at doorbells of all kinds are part of his routine. He’s just doing his job.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. hannahandlucy said:

    We feel tired just reading what you do in a day Cupcake.
    Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx

  22. My but you are a busy, busy mom and sidekick Cupcake. I enjoyed watching you with the hiccups…sis gets that occasionally too.

    (((Shoko)))

  23. OMG, Cupcake, I had no idea that one can hiccup with such a grace! It’s just wonderful! I think it is so extraordinary that it could even chill your mom’s poor fried brain.

  24. You have a very good life Cupcake and a very wise mom. 🙂

  25. Oh Cupcake, your hiccups were adorable! 🙂

    • Thanks, kids. I didn’t look at the hiccups as “adorable” but now that you mention it…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. That’s a busy schedule, Cupcake, but you really make the most of it. You’re good in watching telemoms…and we’re good in watching hiccups…so adorable 😀 Extra Pawkisses for the weekend 🙂 ❤

  27. Cupcake, looks like quite the schedule! Choppy would enjoy joining you for most of those things, though she would have to draw the line at the brushing of teeth!

    • Uh-oh, Choppy! You need to brush your choppers (see what I did there?). Otherwise, your mom might say you look like you’re on a steady diet of CheezDoodles.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. You have a busy life, Cupcake! Don’t forget to nap.

  29. Thanks, Mr. N. Napping is one of my favorite activities (non-activities). I never let a napping opportunity get by me.

    Love and licks,
    C

  30. Thanks for sharing that awesome quote, Cupcake! And thanks for sharing your routine. The street nap seems well-deserved. Sending a tummy rub and a behind-the-ears scratch.

  31. Oh man, you get your teeth brushed every day! We do twice a week and think that’s torturous!!

  32. Cupcake looks so cute in the swing. Love the top quote!

  33. I am exhausted with all you do. – DogDaz

  34. […] am not much of a joiner. I do join up with some of my therapy dog friends at the veteran’s home and the library. But we don’t play much. Apparently, that’s not what we’re there […]

  35. […] Mom mind-writes about her stories, too, so by the time she sits down to write, she knows a few ideas to help her get going. […]

Leave a Reply

