Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Two Sides

face2

My face is two different colors. Three actually, but down by my nose there’s a brown side and a white side.

face

They’re as different as different can be, right down to the whiskers. White on the white side…

white

…and black on the brown side.

black2

 

Mom’s writing has two different sides lately, too. Poetry and prose. She worked and worked on a story and kept getting stuck. She worked on other things, came back to the story, and got stuck again. And again.

debris-clipart-science_mudslides

Today, she decided to take that stuck story idea and make it into a poem. As different as can be, but she’s not stuck anymore.

hike6

Let’s go!

Sometimes in hiking, there’s a special mark saying that the path splits.

turn

We’re careful to choose the right path. Usually it’s pretty easy to tell.

No...

No…

Yes...

Clear sailing…

For Mom, the correct path seems to be the poem for now. Clear sailing.

sailing

 

 

Comments on: "Two Sides" (64)

  1. We love how your whiskers compliment the colour of your furs – mom says the right accessory can make any outfit ‘pop’, we think you’ve nailed it!
    Wally & Sammy

  2. Very cute 🙂

  3. Cupcake both sides to your face are perfect to me,and a poem sounds like a great idea too,xx Speedy

  4. that was a super way to explain two sides… and like the two sides of your nose, we can see different things… a story and a poem… or both…and at the end the idea is still the same, you just say it with using another side :o)

    • You got it, E. When there are 2 sides, it’s just a matter of checking out one and then checking out the other.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. You have such a pretty face!! ^_^

    xxxx

  6. Cupcake I think you have beautiful coloring on your face and all your other parts too! My Mom says when she used to write she often would STOP and write a poem or two because it would clear her mind and jumpstart her on the book again…….she says “writers write” – sometimes it doesn’t matter WHAT – it’s just doing it PERIOD!

    Hugs, Sammy

  7. Oh Cupcake, I think you are one of the prettiest dogs I know!!! And hurray for mom to unstuck herself! We look forward to the poem. And Charley and I agree…hiking is ALWAYS good for mind, body, spirit and stuck writers. xo Johanna and Charley

    • You’re so right about the hiking, J and C. It unsticks Mom and gives me lots of new things to smell and see.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. It’s good to try different things with an idea when it won’t quite work.
    You look good from both sides, Cupcake!

  9. Isn’t it fun to have unique coloring? Because I am considered to be a “mottled” Sable Sheltie, my face is different colors too. Barks and licks and love, Dakota http://www.dakotasden.net

    • Colorful doggies are the best, right, D.? Mom says I’m more mixed up than mottled. Whatever!

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Our dog, Brownie, is the same colors! Of course now her muzzle is mostly gray since she is 13. I love Cupcake’s face, especially the eyes!!!!

  11. Are we sure you weren’t sunbathing and it’s just that one side is tan? Try laying white side up and see what happens.

    • Gah! Wrong way street napping! Of course. I will flip myself over as soon as the sun comes out again. Thanks, W.

      Love and licks,
      C

  12. Frankie and Ernie said:

    We never noticed that about down your nose before…. THAT is Cool Cupcake.

  13. YAY! For Mom…it’s hard to be stuck! But good to get to going again!

    ♪♫❤♪♫❤

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    https://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/sherlock-boomer

  14. Sounds like your Mom stood on her head and saw the story from a different perspective. Yay, Mom!

  15. I love your different colors and how they just are all happy where they are and make your coat so interesting. I also love your big brown eyes!

  16. Enjoy your happy sailing. 🙂

  17. Both sides of your whiskers are adorable! 🙂

  18. Cupcake, both sides of your face are smoochable and your whiskers are gorgeous in any color 🙂 Well done, mom, finding the right way to tell your story 🙂

    • Thanks, S. Smoochable and gorgeous are two of my favorite words of the week. I’m also glad Mom unstuck herself. She was getting boring….

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. Oh I love snouts. I never realised how super cute yours was Cupcake! x

    • Thanks, MJ. Snouts are an odd thing to love. You do have a couple of beauties at your house, though, so I get it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. THAT is very cool about your whiskers. I don’t think I ever noticed.

    Sometimes we don’t realize the path we need to be on, because we focus too much on the path we are on. Mom is smart to allow her path to lead her. 🙂

    • Thanks, J. I like how you think about the path. Letting it lead us is a great way to find an adventure.

      Love and licks,
      C

  21. Great way to get unstuck. Love your whiskers.

  22. Your mom is rather clever Cupcake. She has shown us that there is more than one way of doing anything. A smart way to show us that we have choices. See ya on the flip side Cupcake.

    (((Shoko)))

  23. Cupcake, you remind us of our kitty whose name is Split since her colors are split right down middle of her face. WE like your two different colors on your face. Good for the Mom to get that poem done. You all have a super day.

    • Thanks, M. Split sounds cute. My colors are almost split right down the middle, but not quite. Mom says I’m a little off kilter…. In many ways…

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Great analogy, C! 😀

  25. Your mom was right doing a poem, Cupcake, we have to focus our mind on something else, when we get stucked. Sometimes is making choises just that simple 😀
    You are such a special dog, mother nature has blessed you richly with… everything 🙂
    Thank you for coming to my Pawty. It made my birthday just a little bit more special ❤ Extra Pawkisses for the weekend 😀 ❤

    • Thanks, Little B. I do feel blessed. Maybe today, I’ll be blessed with some tidbits dropping on the floor for me! xo

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Well done to Mum Cupcake for taking a different side! and yes you have two distinct sides..delish like our neenish tarts…chocolate one side vanilla the other..both different but just as exciting..loves Fozziemum xxx

    • Thanks, FM. That neenish food sound perfect (like me). I’ll take the vanilla side!

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Hahahaah well Cupcake i think you may call them black and white cookies? not sure ..but of course you can take the vanilla :0loves Fozziemum xxx

  27. Katie Isabella said:

    Cupcake…you are unique and that is one of the best life happenings ever! AND you sure make mom’s and my day better when we get to see you have been by.

    • Thanks, KI. I love being considered a “happening.” Whoo-hoo. Hope your mom is feeling better and letting you sleep in peace.

      Love and licks,
      C

  28. Speaking of ‘clear’. My head must be not so much for missing this among the hundreds of useless emails I had in my inbox. One good apple among all those rotten ones. No wonder I missed it. I need a few markers myself. Markers. Flags. Reminders. Nudges. Glasses. Oh. That’s right. I ALREADY WEAR THOSE! Dagnabit !
    Cute whiskers. 😉

    • Thanks, G. I was afraid you had deleted me! I’m so happy you called me a good apple. Sometimes Mom says I’m a naughty meatball. I’d rather be a good apple!

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. Awwww, Cupcake, your muzzle is just delicate!!! With such a muse, your mom’s poems should be intricate, too!

  30. Aww you have such as weet face and love fozziemum’s description.
    good luck to your mummy on her poetry writing

Leave a Reply

