Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Birthday

birthdaycake

Yesterday was Dr. Seuss’s birthday. He would’ve been 111 years old. That’s a lot of red fish and blue fish and a ton of hops on pops, and a million cats in a billion hats old.

catbook

Humans celebrate Dr. Seuss’s life by reading stories to little kids all over America on his birthday.

I can't read, but I'm celebrating my own way.

I can’t read, but I’m celebrating my own way.

Mom loves Dr. Seuss. And reading stories. And little kids. So she is on board with this. Yesterday, she left me alone while she read her ebook What If I Don’t? (MeeGenius, 2014) to some super cute kindergarten kids.

ebookcover with border

I was worried the whole time she was gone, because once when Mom visited a school, sheΒ was approached by a giant cat! In a giant hat!

GAH!

GAH!

Yesterday, she was only approached by one of her favorite teachers and giant bunch of kindergarten kids in giant hats.

IMG_6398

Whew!

Mom had fun reading and talking and laughing with the kids. They were great listeners and laughed at all the right times, gasped at all the right times, repeated some of the words from the story, and made funny faces whenever Mom asked them to.

funnyface

They also answered a bunch of questions and asked a few of their own. Mom’s favorite question was, “Once I drew a picture of King Kong on the Empire State Building.” which isn’t actually a question, but it was fun anyway.

I waited at home and was mostly a good girl……

Cat in the Hat

Cat in the Hat

Dog in the Hat

Dog in the Hat

Comments on: "Birthday" (63)

  1. That looks like a pawsome private pawty, Cupcake. I can see that you are a fan of Dr Seuss and that Dog in the Head really made me MOL MOL MOL πŸ˜€ Extra Pawkisses for the occasion πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thanks, Little B. I love making kitties MOL. Whenever there’s cake involved, I am on board 100%.

      Love and licks,
      C

  2. Did you eat that cake Cupcake? xxx

    • Yes please tell, did you? I’d be soooo jealous. Still on a diet here! You look so sweet, just like the cake!

    • Ha! I didn’t eat the cake (right away). Mom said the word “Leave it.” When she finished taking pictures, she scooped off some of the whipped cream for me to eat. It tasted as good as it looked!

      Love and licks,
      C

  3. Happy Birthday Dr Seuss! ^_^

    Mummy loves reading his books to the little hoomans, they’re so much fun!

    • They are super fun to read out loud, even though some of the words make Mom feel like she has 2 tongues. …I wish I had 2 tongues. Imaging the food-stealing possibilities.

      Love and licks,
      C

  4. that was a great way to celebrate the birthday of the dogtor….I’m not brave enough to draw king kong… I’m afraid the drawing could eat me at night :o) And the Dog in the hat is pawesome, bet the dr. would rewrite his story when he could see your photo :o)

    • Thanks, E. I AM kind of inspiring in my sunhat… I agree with you about KingKong. I have a gorilla toy that growls. Mom calls him Mr. Bananas, but I know who it is… So far, he hasn’t killed me, but it’s still early.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. “Mostly a good girl” ???? Wanna confess something to your Uncle Sammy??? Tee Hee Sounds like you and your Mom celebrated the good Doctor’s birthday in your own ways. I think you look pawsitively adorable in your hat !!

    Hugs, Sammy

    • Thanks, S. I can’t confess anything, because whatever went sideways was not my fault. Honest! I swear!

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. You make a fab dog in a hat! Think your mummy should write a story about you in a homage to Seuss πŸ™‚

  7. Sounds like a fun day – for mom, the cat teacher, and the kids. Your day sounds relaxing, although I’m getting the impression that you don’t see it that way. LOL Your hat looks stunning. Jeff didn’t see it quite that way. He’s on the phone right now with ‘you know who’. Run while you still have the chance!
    ❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️❀️

  8. that sounds a lovely way to celebrate – apart from you bein left behind, Cupcake! You look good in that hat!

    • Thanks, C. I still keep waiting for Mom to bring me along on an author visit. She’s got another one scheduled this month. Maybe…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Cake! Glad your Mom had a fun day yesterday. You were mostly a good girl?

  10. Your fur mom is a saint for reading to the kiddos. Hats off to her! And speaking of hats, whoa…yours is pretty darn fabulous! πŸ™‚

    • Gah! “Hat’s off” – I see what you did there! Since she used to be a teacher for a zillion years, Mom has read a billion stories to a million kids. It was her favorite part of being a teacher, bar none.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. 111 is a very Suessian age. And he would certainly love that photo of you with the cake.

  12. Cupcake, so happy to hear your mom was promoting and reading her book to all the kiddies. And your “dog hat” is perfect. πŸ™‚

  13. Love your very stylish hat, Cupcake. My sister in Grand Junction says I need a Sherlock Holmes hat.

    Boomer

    Linda β™ͺ♫❀
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    https://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/sherlock-boomer

    • Thanks, B. Your sister is right. Solving mysteries is like playing sports – It isn’t whether you win or lose, but how you look when you play the game. You definitely need a SherlockBoomer hat!

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. fredrieka said:

    The Seuss’s birthday
    was not grey
    it was sunny and spring
    like springing in his day
    not letting be grey
    on his day let’s spring away

  15. I think if you were wearing your hat you should have been allowed to go. It only seems fair.

    • Thanks, J. It was a perfect example of “all dressed up and nowhere to go.” Story of my life….

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. What a fun post. Sounds like a good day for your Mom. Has your mom read “You’re Only Old Once!” by Dr. Seuss. My husband’s birthday is this week and his daughter sent him the silly book for adults only.

    • Thanks, P. Mom is mad at you for saying she should read that book about being old. Personally, I also think she should pick it up and check it out….. πŸ™‚

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. AWESOME, C! πŸ˜€

  18. Love the hat and we sooooooooooooooooooooo LOVED Dr.Seuss! http://www.dakotasden.net

  19. Dog In The Hat – charming, Cupcake! πŸ™‚ I’ll just bet you were a good girl… about as good as that Cat and Sally and Me πŸ™‚ So did your mom read What If I Don’t off an iPad? Could the kids see okay? I am interested in this, as I have a digital book I’ve never shared… because I don’t have an iPad… πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, S. Yes, Mom read it off the iPad and the kids could see just fine. She asked a lot of questions about the pictures when she turned the pages, and they could see everything – even when the little girl was trying to hide. Of course, all 27 kids were sitting up close, so that helped. Just to be prepared, though Mom also brought along her PowerPoint of the book. She took screenshots of each spread and slapped them onto a PowerPoint to use on the SmartBoard, but guess what. The SmartBoard was dead!! RIP, buddy. Good to have a PlanB.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Looks like you and mom both has lots of fun Cupcake and as always you are totally adorable! I loved the photos mom took. The header is also one of my favourites. I wish I could get little shoes like that for Simba. Not for the snow but for the tiles. Now that he is getting old, his little legs are a bit stiff and he keeps slipping on the tiles. πŸ˜†

    • Thanks, S. Those boots would help Simba not to be slippery. They feel like thick rubber balloons… like punching balloons with no air in them.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Oh yes, I can see that. hahahahah! He would love not to slip and slide in the house. LOL!

  21. The Kids are really paying attention!!!!!

  22. β€œA Wasn’t just isn’t. He just isn’t present. But you… You ARE YOU! And, now isn’t that pleasant!”
    ― Dr. Seuss, Happy Birthday to You!

    what more can I say, Cupcake than this quote from Dr. Seuss…I was happy to hear you were mostly a good girl and I LOVE the photo of mom with all the children mesmerized by her. She must be a good storyteller!!! And my dear pretty Cupcake, stylish in every hat you are!!!
    A big cuddle for you from Charley and me!

    • Thanks, J and C. Mom does like a good story. Sometimes her “stories” are really lies and fibs about me! If it’s not flattering, don’t believe it!

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. That’s so great and we love your look. Cupcake, we wish your mom was closer so she could read to our girl’s kindergarten class!

    • Thanks, C. Coming to your girl’s kindergarten would’ve been a blast. Distance can be a bear, sometimes.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Oh Cupcake, I love how you celebrate birthdays! You always add such flare to whatever you do!

    • Thanks, V. I like having some flare in my world. I’m glad you noticed! You would know flare, if anybody would… πŸ™‚

      Love and licks,
      C

      • I think flare is my middle name! I am behind in my 2015 projects but I’ve got some great ideas for this year to do! I love all of your flare, especially your hats! They look so adorable on you!

  25. I love Dr. Seuss, and it is great to remember him in any way we can. Thanks.

  26. Katie Isabella said:

    I love that your mom did that! I am going to ask mom to call around and see if she can do something similar! xxoo to you both.

  27. You are so glamorous, Cupcake!!!!

  28. Wonderful party for Dr Seuss and Cupcake you are adorable in your hat

  29. Thanks, S. I’d like to say it keeps the sun out of my eyes, but I usually only wear it in the house…

    Love and licks,
    C

  30. I also adore Dr Seuss. He gave good common sense advice to young and old but in a cheery fun way. Now his cat is so tall and silly looking, who could think up anything so nutty? I guess that’s was good writers do.

    “Today you are you, that’s truer than true. There’s no one alive that’s youer than you”

    Dr Seuss would smile, twinkle a whisker or two, and make sure this was something you already knew πŸ˜€ (I Seuss’d that up a bit, LOL) xoxoxox B

Leave a Reply

