Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Old and New

Mom bought me something new.

IMG_6109

It’s an IQ toy that helps me be smart. I learned all my old IQ toys…

…so now I am studying my new one. It has blocks, a spinning layer, and TREATS hidden inside. Sometimes new things are better than old things.

Sometimes they’re not! My old snowman used to look like this.

Awesome snowman!

Awesome snowman!

Then he looked like this.

Less awesome snowman.

Less awesome snowman.

And now he looks like this.

Wait. What?

Worst. Snowman. Ever.

The new snowman has no rock buttons (that looked like cookies), no stick arms with twig hands, and no carrot nose. He’s barely a snowman at all.

These days, Mom is working on some old stories…

Old.

Old.

.. and some new stories.

New!

New!

She writes her new story for a while, then she yanks out an old story and punches it. I mean punches it up. She adds in some new things, takes out some old things, and moves some things around.

Tornado_2

That’s called punching. ….Up. It makes old things new and new things old – till they get punched up too.

Mom says, “What was I thinking?” and “This sounds SO much better.” and “GAH! Toy squirrels are everywhere!”

IMG_6170

 

Comments on: "Old and New" (74)

  1. Cupcake you are a clever girl indeed! and watching you fling those cubes to the side made me laugh! almost like throwing the peas to the side to get to the meat 🙂 mum indeed does the right thing by punching it up..and that can be applied to all sorts of endeavours…sometimes new things…make a lightbulb moment that connects to old things..and then creatie an exciting new stuff happens! I know I do his with cooking 🙂 loves Fozziemum..pee ess I have a few dollars..how about one of those kisses! xxx

  2. Hey, those toys are great and you are very clever indeed to find the treats like that. Wonder what Mom will put in mine … probably carrot sticks and green beans – I’m on a diet *sighs*

  3. New is fun, shiny, and exciting! But sometimes you find all kinds of hidden gems in the old that you didn’t realize were there before. Who knows what kind of gems are in your old toys, Cupcake?! Although, if there are any, they might be a bit stale by now… 🙂 Have a happy, treat-filled day! 🙂

  4. fredrieka said:

    I need one of those I am so very bored this winter

  5. Poor old snowman…….well, the fact he’s “not what he used to be” means the weather is changing and we’re all for that right Cupcake? We love your new “smart” toy….you’ll learn that fast too you smarty pants!

    Hugs, Sammy

  6. Cupcake, looks like your IQ is very high. You took care of those toys in short time. The snowman has a new coat. Happy Monday to all of you.

  7. You are smarter than the average dog! But all these new toys will destroy your wasteline! Wait! Have I been playing with new toys?!?! 😫
    Have fun, smarty. ❤️❤️❤️

  8. Those are some great toys Cupcake! Hopefully you don’t punch them up like your mom does with her words 🙂 Sometimes working with the old comes up with something new and exciting!

    • You’re right C. Old and new have a fun dynamic. When I was first learning my new toy, I did try to pick it up and shake the goodies out. It didn’t work, plus Mom said the word that I was naughty.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. Smart Cookie, Cupcake!! Charley loved her puzzles too but she gained so much weight from it…we passed them on to next dog that needed a challenge;0) Give mom a big cuddle form us and wish her good luck with punching ups!

    • I like what you did there, Mrs. W. Cookie – Cupcake I get it.It’s all about what’s inside the IQ toy. I want Mom to put some hunks of freeze dried chicken in there. Or some human graham crackers. But she only puts ONE Cheerio in each pocket.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. oh boy… you got the squirrel toy…. get that guys! and make some squirrel confetti! you are a good housewife, it’s great how careful your brought that lids away.

    • Thanks, E. I wish I was being neat with the lids, but I actually forget there’s a treat underneath by the time I get each one off. Sometimes I lie down and start eating the lid by accident.

      Love and licks,
      C

  11. That squirrel toy is too cute for words and it looks like you think it is fun! Poor snowman.. 😦 Surprises for Cupcake.. 🙂 I love it when surprises come in the mail!

  12. I keep seeing more and more IQ toys for dogs — things to stimulate their brains. Cupcake seems to like them. Haven’t purchase any, but I know that Archie creates his own games liking nosing his ball all around the floors like he playing soccer, before he brings it to me to throw.

  13. Eko and Penny would be glad to help show what it looks like when toy squirrels are really everywhere. Glad your pals are in better shape.

    • Squirrels everywhere and squirrels ripped to shreds everywhere are two different things. I am very picky about which toys I decide to rip to shreds. So far, the squirrels have not been chosen.

      Love and licks,
      C

  14. Wowzer loving your new interactive toy !!!! Beloved ordered me something similar only yesterday, way to go ❤ love Oscar xx

  15. Cupcake, your mom is so creative. I love your kissing booth. 🙂

  16. OMD, those IQ puzzles are pawsome! Mom desperately wants to get us one but we can’t find them here and with the exchange rate being what it is she says there is no chance of her buying one online. Talk about deprived!!
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks, W and S. Your mom can make an IQ toy. All she needs to do is put treats into a cupcake pan, then put tennis balls or other toys on top of the treats in each compartment. That kind is lots of fun, too! Plus it’s free!

      Love and licks,
      C

  17. Gah! hahaha, I love when you say that 😀

    Hey, what a good way to do treats. The other day Mr B and I gnawed thru a bag of Swedish Berries in no time at all. Someone should design a challenging people treat server.
    I like how you ‘carefully’ placed your blocks elsewhere on the second treat challenge video too, hehe
    You’re right, those rock buttons did look like cookies. Why does everything remind us of food? You and I aren’t too much different when it comes to enjoying goodies Cupcake xo B

    • Ha! Thanks, B. For human treat distribution, ….um…. I think that’s what the bag is for! I’m pretty sure you’re supposed to open it, take a few candies, and then close it till tomorrow. Seems silly now that I’ve said it. Personally, I’d eat the candies and then eat the bag. We are a lot alike! Did you eat the bag?

      Love and licks,
      C

      • LOL, I managed to put the bag in the recycle bin but truth? I do lap that orange cheese dust from every digit after enjoying some Cheesies……please don’t judge me, LOL. We are snack-a-holics some nights :/

  18. Sometimes letting something sit for a bit, then coming back to it, helps get those juices flowing again. You’ve got a smart mom, Cupcake.

    • Letting stories sit for a while is a rule around here. Sometimes it make Mom say, “I LOVE this.” and sometimes, “Who wrote this trash?”

      Love and licks,
      C

  19. You look like you’re having lots of fun with those toys, Cupcake! My bipeds say I’m too rough with toys like that.
    You look really cute in the kissing booth, I’m sure you’ll make lots of money.

    • Thanks, C. Being “rough” is a good strategy, actually. The most difficult part of my IQ toys is caused by my buck teeth. I’ve learned to use a combination of bunny teeth, side teeth, and nails to make it happen.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Sigh… those things just taught our pups to cheat. She’s cute playing with them.

    Monty and Harlow

  21. You are such a clever girl, Cupcake. The videos were pawsome. We love to see you in action. I could see that you were very patient, while throwing the cubes away 😀 I think the snowman needs a freezer 😀 Pawkisses 🙂 ❤

  22. What a smart girl you are Cupcake. I bet TKS could do that cuz she is motivated by all things FOOD!

  23. peeEss luvluvluv your kissing booth

  24. The winter’s been way too long Cupcake! Good idea…to learn something new. I am slowing getting used to new things but I wouldn’t rush it.(((Shoko)))

    • Thanks, S. Mom says learning something new keeps me from getting lazy ….and chubby. I’m on board with this, since outside makes me shiver.

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. mollieandalfie said:

    Oh what fun Cupcake, new toys and snow. Humom bought me a treat toy and I chewed it up Bawahhwhahwha xxoxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  26. I would like a new toy….. especially one with cookies inside!

  27. Lots of fun with your wonderful dog my friend 🙂

  28. Cupcake we want to high paw you dear friend and Michelle sends BIG hugs and kisses to say thank you for your support. A bit nervous about the marathon as next Sunday xxx

  29. You broke that old theory that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks! You go Cupcake! Not saying you are that old now!!!!!

    • Thanks, A. I am 8 years old, but I act and look like a puppy. Mom still teaches me new things. She says it’s because I got a late start in learning on account of living on the street and in a shelter for 3 years. So even though I’m 8 in human years, I’m only 5 in years of being loved.

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. You are a clever girl Cupcake!! I am so impressed with you and those IQ toys. 😊

  31. Loving the snow around the nose look.x

  32. This is so cute. It’s so wonderful when you can act like the fly on the wall and share your findings. l have to say, you do have great toys.

Leave a Reply

