Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

quote

Whenever Mom mind-writes, she starts in the middle of a story. An idea pops into her brain, and she goes gangbusters from there.

Sometimes I start in the middle of my toys…

IMG_5959

and fight my way out with the favored toy of the day.

IMG_5960

Mom says, “What a mess!” and “I guess it’ll be MY job to clean up.” and “I wish I had a delete key for naughty behavior.”

IMG_5961

Wait. What?

When Mom sits down to write (and ignore me), she starts at what she THINKS is the beginning. But that first sentence or paragraph or page doesn’t always make the cut as the REAL beginning when the story is finished.  Writers are like that. They can’t get too attached to their words because sometimes they get the delete key. Nuthin’ personal…

delete

I got the delete key from the laundry basket when I tried to go along for the ride to the laundromat last week.

I was in,

IMG_5937

I begged to stay,

IMG_5936

but I got tossed.

I wish there was a delete key for the mailman. He thinks I can’t hear him sneaking around the hallway. But I hear him out there plotting to kill me.

FullSizeRender2

One day, I will delete you, you lunatic!

delete

 

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (80)

  1. You are so stinkin’ cute Cupcake. I wish I could come to you and give you a big hug….

  2. Cupcake a delete button can be a freedom indeed…avast ye matey and gone! as for the mailma..I am sure he is not a murdulator..maybe he is just fighting his way out of the mailbag:) loves Fozziemum xxxxx

  3. That’s such a great quote. So true! x

  4. the delete button can be helpful…. wish I had one when I ate trash from the street what causes a thunderstorm in my tummy… and I agree we need one for the mailman… why that guy rings on the door that we think there is a fire in the house? why he can’t place that parcel on our door and disappears without making such scary noises?

    • You’re right, E. There MUST be a better way for that guy to get it done. I think they take lessons in being noisy and scary. Be careful with your Enter button, so you won’t have as many thunderstorms.

      Love and licks,
      C

  5. Oh Cupcake……too bad you didn’t get to go to the Laundromat BUT then again your Mom might have accidentally tossed you in with the undies and you might have had a rather violent bath! It’s best to stay home and guard the house against introoooders (and wayward mailmen!).

    Hugs, Sammy

    • That’s no joke about the laundromat, S. Once she washed her brand new Kindle Paperwhite in a load of clothes at the laundromat. RIP, Kindle. Apparently on laundry day, all bets are off.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. What a lovely post and what a very true quote! Cupcake…you are adorable in any photo but I loooove the one with you and the owl! xoxoxo from Charley too!

  7. Cupcake, is your mailman related to Jamison (the cat i live with)? He’s always plotting to kill me. How i wish i had a delete button for him!

  8. fredrieka said:

    Oh I seem momwithoutpaws typing away I know I need to be quiet because she says her wheels are turning and a little slow so she needs no distractions just inspiration

  9. Such a great quote! I think I’d use the delete key on the fuzz that floats down our hallway. Our poor vacuum can’t keep up.

    Monty and Harlow

  10. You seem to have the cleanest bunch of toys I’ve ever seen!! They must get to go to the laundrymat with your Mom.

  11. Pups delete toys. Writers delete words. Mailmen delete Cupcake…just kidding!

  12. Hee, hee…Sam absolutely adores our mail person (she happens to be a gal) until she reaches for the mail slot, then he thinks she’s Freddy Krueger or something. Every. single. time. Then when she calls his name and he turns into a slinky wiggling back and forth, vying for her attention. Goofball dog.

    • Sam has it right. When our mailman comes in to drink lemonade in the summer, I LOVE him. When he’s in the hallway, I know he’s a deranged maniac waiting for his chance….

      Love and licks,
      C

  13. I can’t imagine your Mom ever thinking you do anything naughty. You are just too cute. I bet your toys jump into your mouth just to carried away and play with you

  14. Cupcake, I hope you can learn how to delete the delete key. Thanks for making me smile. 🙂

  15. Very inspiring quote , I love cupcakes picture so adorable.

  16. Wouldn’t it be super to be able to delete something we don’t want to see anymore?

    (((Shoko)))

  17. How could anyone delete you from anywhere?! And I promise. The mailman won’t hurt you, cutie. ❤️

  18. I love that quote, Cupcake. And about your mom having to pick up all those toys . . . it’s her job. If you did it yourself, we might have to delete her. 😉

  19. We are thinking it may have been a good thing your mom deleted you from the laundry basket, just imagine what would’ve happened if she tossed you into the washing machine along with the laundry *GASP*
    Wally & Sammy

    • That’s a real worry, W and S. Just ask her old Kindle Paperwhite, which came out of the washer all drippity and dead. RIP, Kindle. You were not meant to live through the permanent press cycle.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. Such wonderful highlights Cupcake. You are cute as a little button!!! I just want to lick you. XOXO – Bacon

    • Thanks, B. I want to lick you, too. I’m thinking you might taste like…. Um…. Never mind.

      Love and licks,
      C

      • Snorts and rolls with laughter! Trust me – I taste *nothing* like bacon. Ask Hemi here. He tried tasting me one time. I think he spit out a fur ball afterwards. PLOL (piggy laughing out loud). XOXO – Bacon

  21. Love the great quote. Cupcake, you remind me of Archie. He goes to his toy box and takes his toys out and spreads them all around the room. Have to sneak them back over the day, so I don’t trip. But, he does entertain himself well.

  22. Thank you for such a rewarding quote, our dear Cupcake 🙂

  23. I love the way you describe things Cupcake and that stinks about the mailman, what if he is coming to bring you presents?

    • Thanks, J. Mom always tells me the mailman is bringing “something nice.” What good will it be if he kills me????

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Good Morning Cupcake! I LOVE the delete key and would have so many uses for it outside of typing on a keyboard.. 😀 I have a ton of vacation laundry(delete) you could nap on.. I am sure it has some good smells… the ocean, sand, and stinky seashells!

  25. Katie Isabella said:

    ya know Pal, I like how you think. Here and in your visit to see me. You take MY side and that’s what counts for me. Way to go Cupcake. And I am on your side too!

    • Thanks, KI. Your side is always the best side. We furries have to stick together or the humans will try to outsmart us.

      Love and licks,
      C

  26. Cupcake, I was just thinking what would happen when we change our mind…after the delete… I have to relax into this 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend 🙂 ❤

    • I know this one, Little B. After you delete, just look in the trash and fish it back out. Mom does it all the time.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. Hi there Cupcake, so sorry, you got tossed out of the laundry basket. That does look like a great place. You sure are one cutie parootie.

  28. Deleted? MOUSES! Peep #1 never writes ’bout me but I write ’bout her a lot. I would never delete her though. I mean, her crazy antics and shenanigans provide me with some of my best stuff!

    Purrs,
    Nissy

  29. That’s such a great quote. Whenever I write a book, I usually start at the end and try to find my way to the beginning 🙂

  30. You look so comfortable in the laundry, it was a bit mean to make you move!

  31. That laundry basket looked so comfy, Cupcake. Hope you have a lovely Sunday 😊

  32. Oh, Cupcake, you could also say “What a mess!” and “I guess it’ll be MY job to clean up.” and “I wish I had a delete key for naughty behavior.” whenever your mom neglects you and is wholly absorbed by the recalcitrant ideas in her head. What a relief that she has you so that you can walk her in such cases.

    • Thanks, K. You’re right. Mom couldn’t do anything without me here to distract her and exercise her now and then.

      Love and licks,
      C

  33. You look so cute with your toys cupcake

  34. You are adorable! You have some nice toys to play with!
    ~Ali Cat
    thelifeofalicat.blogspot.ca

  35. loved the quote!

  36. If mom had a delete key for naughty pet behaviour, she and you could retire to a wonderful hammock on a private beach because you’d hit the jackpot! I could see it all now. A pink hammock and a nice big fountain to drink fresh water from when ever you wanted.

    I can relate to your theme today. When I started blogging, I thought it’d be fun if my title was always in the last line of my post. It was like a little extra challenge. My Schtick so to speak. Well now I sometime write and entire post and see what turns up at the end, LOL So my beginning is always at the end. x Toddles cutie-pie Cupcake (and mom).

    • That’s a clever schtick, B. Mom likes a circular story – where the beginning is the end and the end is the beginning. Wait. What? I just gave myself a headache.

      Love and licks,
      C

  37. mollieandalfie said:

    Just popped by’z to wizh youz a belated Happy’z New Year. Wez back and
    wez got’z a competition’z going’z. so pop’z by.
    Big’z hug’z xxoxxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  38. Oh Cupcake, your Mom would never ‘delete’ you. But, alas, there is no ‘maybe later’ key. We understand about ‘deleting’ the postal person. We would like to do more than that to him! – Lulu Belle

Leave a Reply

