Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Countdown Wednesday

2015

It’s that wonderful (terrifying) time when we look back on what’s been accomplished in the year past and set some new goals for the future. Today, we are counting down about resolutions.

Mom made a ton of resolutions last year. Some were successful, some went bust. ‘Nuff said about those clunkers.

bomb

Mom’s 2015 Resolutions

 3. Read 200 more picture books and rate them on Goodreads.

IMG_0200IMG_0199

2. Revise and submit 12 manuscripts that she’s written recently.

computer kid (2)

1. Draw and color 100 pictures – hopefully some will be pictures of me!

Mom did NOT draw this one....

Mom did NOT draw this one….

IMG_5796

She drew this one… Ugh.

My 2015 Resolutions

3. Develop a relationship with my toybox. In 5 years, I have never taken a toy out of my toybox (That’s been Mom’s job.). But last week, I decided to see what this toybox thing was all about. Guess what! It really is filled with TOYS!

toys1

2. Meditate. Sometimes when I’m walking with Mom, she tries to make me walk into areas that scare me. I usually turn to stone and refuse to move. Sometimes she picks me up and carries me. This year, I will turn that paralyzing fear into a meditation. I will hear babbling brooks, the wind in the trees, and the sound of birds – not the words, “Come on.” or “Let’s go.” or “Heel.” or “Keep moving.” or “COME ON!” Meditation is good for my soul.

Ooohhhmmmm.....

Ooohhhmmmm…..

1. Grow taller. Being tiny has its advantages when it comes to hiding. But when it comes to stealing food, it’s a problem. I can’t reach the table, the counters, or the garbage pail.

IMG_0203

I can only hope somebody forgets to push in their chair or doesn’t notice I am a few inches away from the gingerbread house on the coffee table.

gingerbread house

Comments on: "Countdown Wednesday" (79)

  1. And to you too Cupcake!
    Charlie’s old friend sadly passed (he was 15 plus) and now he brings his mattress into the kitchen all by himself. We are looking into getting him another friend that is also very busy. 🙂

  2. charnellpeters said:

    I like your goals! I’m definitely going to try reading more children’s literature next year as well!

  3. Hi Cupcake! Good goals for the new year but I hope you don’t grow bigger – I love that you’re tiny…..I say if you need to be bigger for some projects (like garbage pail raiding) that you get yourself a stool. Stay small…..you’re much more huggable like that!!!!!!!

    Hugs, Sammy

  4. Oh goals are fun sometimes especially if you have a goal to play with every toy in your toy box every day woof that would be fun

    • That would be awesome, F. I think it would take all of 2015 for me to play with all those toys, though. But it sure would be fun.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  5. Dear Cupcake & Mommy,
    You have some awesome goals setup for the New Year, way to go in getting them written down already! Phew! That is an accomplishment in itself! Start digging in that toy box Cupcake, you’ll be surprised what you find at the bottom. (some days our Mommy empties our two toy boxes out all over the floor and we have a blast playing!) Happy New Year to you and we look forward to your new adventures! Woof, Nikita and Bella

    • Thanks, N and B. Happy New Year! Your mom has the right idea dumping the toybox. There’s a lot of fun stuff at the bottom – including a mechanical ball with a weasel attached.

      Love and licks and weaselball,
      Cupcake

  6. Cupcake I am with you on the meditation!

  7. Cupcake those are some excellent goals. So glad you’ve discovered your toy box too, what fun! Your mom inspires us, good for her for her determination.

    • Thanks, C. I’m happy we’re inspiring you to make some goals and try really hard to keep them. Good luck.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  8. Good luck, dogfriend. My resolution is to have more resolve. That about covers it!
    Happy New Year, precious. 🐶😍🎉🎊🎈🕛

  9. Cupcake, if you figure out how to grow taller please let me know!!!! Also, I like the picture your mom drew of you. You’re lucky! My mom has never drawn a picture of me :\ Oh, I got a toy basket this year and I LOVE IT! It’s so much fun to root around for a toy. Happy New Year to you and your mom! ~ Noodle

  10. Happy new year, Cupcake! Hoping you get loves of new toys in 2015!

  11. vastlycurious.com said:

    Your opening photo is priceless! Love this blog format! Happy New Year to you both! Woof!

  12. Cupcake I like the picture your mom made with her own paws, it’s modern and fresh. I agree with you, sometimes it is good to be a big guy… but sometimes it is not the real Mc Coy, when an agility tunnel sticks on your butt like glued or if you can’t sit comfy on a chair because of your long legs… we should build a team, together we could be “the perfect dog” :o)

    • I would LOVE to be a team with you, E. I would run through the agility tunnel and pop it off your butt. Unless it’s dark in there. Then you’re on your own. I’m afraid of dark.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  13. Awesome my cute little friend. I gotta get my resolutions ready for the new year as well. Can you believe it’s going to be 2015 in just a couple of days? It is really sneaking up on us! XOXO – Bacon

  14. Please report tips on growing taller, I’ve been yearning to dunk a basketball.

    • I’ll keep you posted in case I start to sprout up, W. Then maybe we’ll see you on TV, in case sports accidentally come on for a minute.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  15. Cupcake, please stay the way you are and let the ginger bread house grow…and the garbage can shrink 😀 Lovely drawings, I can see the resemblance. Pawkisses 🙂 ❤

  16. I think developing a relationship with your toy box sounds like the greatest resolution ever. I have an excellent relationship with my toy box . . . I love taking my toys out and scattering them everywhere, and I’ve trained my mommy to put them back!

  17. Cupcake, you and your mom both have great resolutions for the new year. I would be happy just to accomplish one. Stay small and use aids to get where you want. Everyone likes small…you never hear of peeps giving a bit of bacon to a large growling dog…eh? Stay as sweet as you are.

    Big cuddles,

    (((Shoko)))

    • Thanks, S. You’re right, come to think of it. I guess I’d rather be small than large and growling… I don’t like growling.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  18. Whew! You two are really ambitious!! I’m with you on the meditation. More naps and more meditating. And more french fries. And more tennis balls. I’d be happy to help you with your toybox! 🙂

    • Thanks, R. And more bacon. And more cuddles. And more walks. And more rides in the car….

      Love and licks and more street naps,
      Cupcake

  19. HI Cupcake,

    You are as cute as ever. Give your mom a hug for me.

  20. Those are all great resolutions!

    Monty and Harlow

  21. Great resolutions for Cupcake and his mom!

  22. Mary McClellan said:

    Woof, woof! It’s Binky! I’ve been pretty busy with the holidays. Now I’m ready to stretch out and enjoy some of my goodies, like antlers. Anything involving toys has got to be a good thing, so you’re off to a good start for the new year. Yea for your Mom working on her 12 manuscripts!! Good luck!!

    • Thanks, B. I’ve never had an antler, but it sounds like you enjoy them a lot! Some of my other friends do, too. I don’t chew things, so I mostly play with stuffed animals.

      Love and licks,
      Cupcake

  23. Hope you had a lovely christmas and a fab new year!

  24. Great goals, guys! 😀

  25. Wishing you the best with your goals, Cupcake and Mom of Cupcake!!!

  26. You’re already so fun now Cupcake, imagine the fun you’d have if you were taller? How would you manage? 😉

    I think I’ll resolve to just be the best I can be, that’s a good one, no?

    • Thanks, J. Once you do your best, there’s nothing else to do, so that’s a great goal. I want to be like Sampson and Delilah – be tall enough to eat things out of the kitchen sink! Awesome.

      Love and licks,
      C

  27. We sure wish you such a Happy and Healthy New Year. Those sounds like some wonderful resolutions. Take good care.

  28. Katie Isabella said:

    Ya know, I don’t know how many times I can say this without you running and hiding when you see my name come up in comments but that face of yours just makes my mom’s day she said. As soon as she and I come to see you, it’s all over but the compliments when we see that dear face. We had no idea you were so tiny, by the way. xxoo

    • I never get tired of friends saying I’m cute! Bring it on, KI, and thank you. I weigh 22 pounds. Mom never even had a dog this tiny, so she almost didn’t take me home. Turns out I’m the perfect size for her! Whew!

      Love and licks,
      C

  29. I LOVE both series of your resolutions, especially the drawings-thingy by your mom (I hope we will see many of them!!!) and the meditation-thingy by you, Cupcake. Does it mean that you got a doggy-ipod in order to be able to listen to relaxing sounds and even music in challenging situations?

    • Thanks, K. My tiny head is too little for headphones, so I will hear the sounds inside my mind when I meditate. Mom uses calm.com on her iPhone when she meditates.

      Love and licks,
      C

  30. Happy New Year,xx Speedy

  31. Mom’s drawing made me giggle, but really, it sort of does look like you 😀 Your goals sound completely doable and good on you for writing (having mom) them down. I haven’t written mine down but have a couple of idea’s rattling around and avoiding sweets should be on the list somewhere. Happy New Year to you and mom! Hugs from Boomdee

    • Never put “avoiding sweets” on a list, B. It’s a bad idea. If I had that on my list, then no more sharing Mom’s coffee (with 3 spoons of sugar) and no more pieces of cookie! GAH! That would make me too sad. Once Mom tried to stop sugar. She was CRABBY!

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. Good luck getting taller! I hear there’s a surgery for that but it sounds painful.

    • Thanks, N. I don’t do well with painful. Maybe I’ll just wait till things fall on the floor and then eat them…..

      Love and licks,
      C

  33. Come hang out with me and I’ll help you reach all those hard to reach food places. It can be a challenge, but it’s definitely worth it. You just have to make sure no one sees you. Then you blame the cats.

  34. Happy New Year to both of you! Pawesome resolutions! Good luck! Bisous, Bailey

  35. You and mom have some great goals Cupcake. Love the beautiful photos. 😀
    Wishing you both a wonderful 2015. ♥

  36. As always we love your posts and pictures. Cupcake you are one adorable little dog. I look at those eyes and see the say look and expression and soul that I get from my lil Hallie. We hope you have a wonderful and happy and prosperous New Year. 🙂

  37. […] the time of year when everyhuman thinks about resolutions. They want to climb higher, do better, get healthier, and be happier. They swear they’re […]

Leave a Reply

