Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Mix a little foolishness with your prudence. It’s good to be silly at the right moment.

~Horace~

Mom likes to laugh. Mostly, she laughs at me. But she also laughs when she reads picture books.

bookpileoct

She says, “GAH! That was hilarious!” and “Some storiesย are just SO funny.” and “It’s a bike rack. How can you possibly be afraid of a bike rack??”

bikerack

Making humor in her books is part of Mom’s job. It’s important to make her readers laugh, while not looking like she’s trying too hard. …even though she’s really trying very, VERY hard. Mom says, “That’s what I call a smile.”

nail trim

and “I love a dog in a shopping cart.”

cart

and “It’s always a delicate balance.”

Don't I know it!

Don’t I know it!

Some books that made Mom smile lately are: Gaston, Pardon Me, Monster Chefs, Shoe Dog, I Hatched, Zombie in Love, How to Babysit a Grandpa, Little Santa, and about a million others.

She also gets a giggle from me in my Halloween witch costume.

hatwitch headupwitch

And my tutu.

greentutu

Did you laugh today?

Comments on: "Inspirational Quote of the Week" (55)

  1. It’s always good to laugh, Cupcake!
    I have to say – I haven’t seen many witches that look as cute as you do!

  2. Coming to your blog always puts a smile on my face!!

  3. Whee love smiling and you always put a smile on our faces.

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

    ps. That Bike rack looked pretty suspicious to us as well!

  4. Cupcake I love that BIG SMILE on your face at the groomer’s! Well done girl! I also think your witch costume AND your tutu are BEYOND CUTE….but then again when you’re adorable you always look cute and YOU ought to know all about that!!!!

    Love, Sammy

  5. bike racks are scary, they wait for doggies to jam their ears or their tails, I’m sure. maybe you can wear your witch costume on your next walk and you could put a spell on the bike rack?

    • Great idea, E. I would love to put a spell on that bike rack. I’ll make it turn into a frog. I’ve never really seen a frog…. except my stuffed toy.

      Love and licks,
      C

  6. Our job, Cupcake, seems to be to make folks laugh and smile. You do that job quite well!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Yes, I’m smiling. I can’t believe how patient you are with all of your cute outfits — you’re ready for Halloween. I’d never get something on Archie because he’s never worn any dog clothing. He doesn’t like the scarf the groomer puts around his neck. And, he doesn’t like bike racks. Too large an looming.

    • Thanks, P. I know how Archie feels. I used to eat my clothes when I first came here. Then I realized that when Mom dresses me up, something fun is about to happen. So now I’m OK with it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  8. You both do a great job.
    You always make me laugh, I love wit and you both master it.
    But I gotta say, the tutu pic made me laugh a lot.
    xx

  9. I laughed! The orange hair is the best! It made me giggle!

  10. Let’s face it! You’re just one funny dog! โค๏ธ

  11. hahaha….Cupcake you are beautiful in your costumes. I especially like the second pictures….mom laughed cause she said, you looked totally relaxed like you were saying, “What are you lookin’ at? Haven’t you ever seen a girl dressed up before?”

    (((Shoko)))

  12. You are so adorable Cupcake!

  13. I live with Delilah who is similar to Cupcake….just bigger. Of course I laughed today. ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Love your smile Cupcake and as always mom takes the most awesome shots of you! You look so adorable in your costumes. ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. I always have a giggle with you Cupcake,xx Speedy

  16. You are the Grand Master of making people smile and laugh, Cupcake. And you do it with a totally effortless, natural grace! Your smile is especially infectious!

  17. I sure smiled at you in that last picture for sure, sitting up in your gorjuss tutu!!

  18. This post just made my day. Well said, C! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  19. The green tutu is awesome! Humor is one of the hardest parts of writing for me!

  20. We make Mom laugh and smile every day Cupcake! YOU look adorable in your witch costume and your tutu!
    Marty

  21. Cupcake, you and your mom JUST made us laugh, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Love those costumes.

  22. Do you play the piano? You looked adorable all dressed up Cupcake. Thanks for entertaining us this morning. ~ATCAD

    • Thanks for visiting, A. Mom used to play the piano. I play it all the time though….mostly by accident when I’m looking for treats or trying to get Mom’s glasses and bring them on the couch and hatch them like an egg.

      Love and licks,
      C

  23. Cupcake my girl friend, you are the delight to my every night! If only we could meet one day…paw hugs, Nana

    • Thanks, S.! Delight is my favorite thing to be. I’m a little afraid of cats, but I’m pretty sure you’re not hiding under a car trying to kill me, so I think you’re OK.

      Love and licks,
      C

  24. Oh my dear sweet friend – these are great! I can’t wait for the big day myself. Little Houdini is dressing up as a bumblebee – he’s just perfect for that. I’m going as Kermit and mommy is dressing up like Miss Piggy. Daddy is chaperoning. What a trooper! XOXO – Bacon

  25. Now I have to laugh you mighty overcuteness Cupcake ๐Ÿ˜€ Pawkisses ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Thank you for the last picture. Roflmto

Leave a Reply

