Living with a children's author isn't as easy as it looks!

Difficult

Going to the vet is difficult. Once we’re in, Mom won’t let me leave, no matter how terrified I look…

vetscared

or how hard I stare out the door.

vetdoor

Hiding under the high metal table doesn’t help.

vethiding

So it’s shots, blood stealing, poking, squeezing, feeling, listening, looking, and checking. Whew! Of course there are some cuddles and kisses and treats along the way, too.

For Mom, finishing a story is difficult. Not the actual finishing – once she imagines and writes herself to that point, the ending just happens. But then it gets tough because it’s time to get a new idea to start a new story.

lightbulb

Mom starts to wonder if she’ll ever get another idea as long as she lives. What if nothing starts cooking in her head? Ever. GAH! Thank goodness she has her idea list in her phone. After she worries for a little while, she does some poking, squeezing, feeling, listening, looking, and checking. Whew! Of course there are some cuddles and kisses and treats along the way, too.

cuddle

Eventually, she picks a few things from the list, mish-moshes them together, mind-writes for a while, and she’s back on her way imagining and writing her way towards the next ending!

writing2

Wait! What? Does this mean I have to go back to the vet AGAIN?

bedhiding

Comments on: "Difficult" (68)

  1. Shame Cupcake, hope the vet gave you a treat?
    Love Mom’s hairstyle, be sure to tell her!
    xxx

  2. Aw, you are a brave cupcake! I’m sure mommy will never run out of ideas for writing ❤

  3. Whee aren’t big fan of that scary pokey proddy vet place either!

    Well done for being brave

    xxxx

  4. You were very brave, Cupcake!
    At least I don’t have to get up on that metal table! He folds it away for my visit!

  5. Well done for being brave! The fact you didn’t leg it out of the door is very commendable.
    The Pigs xx

  6. So brave!! I showed your blog to my dog, Zoe. She is so afraid of the vet, we rarely go (she works herself into a frenzy!) She can learn a lot from you. 🙂

  7. No worries Cupcake! Getting ideas and going to the vet really aren’t connected……of course treats are involved with both things BUT no poking and prodding or bloods…..honest!

    Love and Hugs, Sammy

  8. fredrieka said:

    I hate it also, but the vet gives hugs and treats so that is good. Still I am nervous and usually momwithoutpaws lets me leave places when I am nervous .. she said the vets is good for me.

    • My vet also gives lots of treats and hugs and says I’m so cute and so perfect. If only we could leave it at that, and not have all that other crazy stuff.

      Love and licks,
      C

  9. I agree, hiding under the table at the vet is not helpful…. this mean guy said: ok, he is jammed there now and bam! the needle landed in my butt. unfair! my mom sometimes feels the same… what when all ideas run away and not one come back when you try to write, what if all ideas who were good yesterday are not good enough today? … I will try to help her and try to attract some ideas … do you know a treat no idea can resist?

    • GAH! OMG, E. They will trap you under the table and have their way with you! That’s sneaky and underhanded. I think Mom’s ideas will come to her for Cheerios… Like I do.

      Love and licks,
      C

  10. Poor Cupcake! Vet visits aren’t fun. But I wonder if your mom can use your experience for a story idea.

  11. Hope you got loads of cuddles and treats for being so brave

  12. well done for being so brave Cupcake,xx Speedy

  13. Sweet Cupcake, the vet can be a very scary place…We are glad you are back home cuddling in your bed…Hoping you get a good night’s rest and extra treats!!!! 🙂 Especially extra inspiration for your mom!!!! Hugs

  14. Sometimes repeat performances are necessary. It’s for the good of the dogfriend. Take one for the team, Cupcake. Show ’em how it’s done. :-)❤️

  15. I was just there also, Cupcake. It’s miserable, sort of. Although I do like meeting all the other animals.

    Boomer

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/?s=The+Adventures+of+Fuzzy+and+Boomer&submit=Search
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • Thanks, B. I was the only one there when I went – except for the dog and cat who live there, but I wasn’t even allowed to play with them. Thank goodness there were a lot of humans there to make a fuss about me.

      Love and licks,
      C

  16. Mish moshing sounds like a good thing.

  17. Good job Cupcake! Hope you got a good report at the vet. Your Mom shouldn’t worry, she writes fun books. Love your Mom’s hair!
    Marty’s Mom

    • Thanks, Marty’s Mom. My report was good, so it turns out I don’t have to go back for a long time. Mom says thanks for the hair compliment. She thinks we both have the same amount of hair – except mine is all over the house and hers stays on her head.

      Love and licks,
      C

  18. I think your mom will never run out of ideas, Cupcake, it will grow on forever, as long as she is thinking of it…you know like love grows when you practice 😉 I don’t think you have to worry that mum brings you to the vet again…at least not for now…you gave him all he needed, so now he has to make the best of it and leave you alone 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Weekend and one Extra on your cute little nose 🙂 ❤

  19. First picture.. you do look a bit startled to be where you are! But it seems you did really well. I don’t think your Mom will run out of ideas. Enjoy your Saturday Cupcake!!

    • Thanks, Pix. “Startled” is a good way to explain it. Mom calls those my “scared ears”. They make me streamlined, in case I need to make a run for it. I think you’re right about the ideas. She’s about to start cooking up a new one already.

      Love and licks,
      C

  20. I hope you survive your next visit to the vet! 😀

  21. I think your mom will never run out of ideas because she has YOU! The only thing is that you should be also handled as a Muse – can you imagine Calliope with a needle in her bum?

    • You’re right, K. I’m pretty sure I’m not being treated with the dignity I deserve. Now Mom is even threatening to take me to get my nails cut this week. GAH! I’m doomed.

      Love and licks,
      C

  22. Oh buddy – I so feel you! I had a recent trip and of course Houdini here just finished up his series of baby shots. Shakes piggy head – all of that poking and probing and putting things where they shouldn’t. It’s a mad place. Really it is. Hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

  23. mollieandalfie said:

    I hate the vets Cupcake. We are back and have missed you xxoxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  24. Cupcake–Linus here. Can I tell you a little secret? Vets aren’t so bad after going to them almost 15 years. Mind you the first 14 were rough. I feel your pain!

    • You would know better than anybody, L. I guess I’ll get used to that place eventually. I do like the treats and cuddles they give, so that’s a start…

      Love and licks,
      C

  25. Oh my, how cute are you? I spotted your little smile over at Clowie’s and had to pop in. The V.E.T. (we only spell it here) is the pits according to Blossum and Petals, my two kitties. They meow their lungs out all the way there and back. Thank goodness it’s only once a year 😀 You’re little pink basket is rather adorable too.

  26. Mom is very smart, in many ways. Lists are always a good place to check to get ideas.

  27. Eeek the vet is never fun is it? We bet your mom never runs out of ideas, she is the most talented and creative person!

  28. I have said it before but you are adorable! So much so that I wish we were neighbors and you could teach me woofie stuffs and I could teach you kitty stuffs! Thank you for the good wishes about my v-e-t visit. Mom will check my box in a minute and see if anything happened. xxoo

  29. I so don’t like the vet either. You are not alone cupcake!
    xoxo Simba

  30. You should go to my vet. I always get lots of loves and treats there. So it’s fun – most of the time.

  31. snoopys@snoopysdogblog said:

    Hey Cupcake,

    You poor thing!! I don’t like going to the vet either, I’m sure it is hard for your Mom to finish her stories, but I bet it’s nothing like going to the vet! 🙂

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • You are right, S. Sitting at the computer talking out loud, is WAAAAY easier than having all my bits and pieces touched and my blood stolen! Mom doesn’t know how good she’s got it.

      Love and licks,
      C

  32. […] Mom mind-writes, she starts in the middle of a story. An idea pops into her brain, and she goes gangbusters from […]

Leave a Reply

